We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast becoming one of our favourites”
Review of Rocca Di Papa

Rocca Di Papa
Ranked #2,394 of 22,822 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast becoming one of our favourites”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the second time we have been to Rocca and it was as good as ever. I remembered the delicious pasta pescatore we had last time and really fancied this again, even though there were plenty of other delicious sounding dishes tempting me. I didn't think we would need to book, it was a rainy bank-holiday monday, lunchtime, so I thought we'll just turn up and hope for the best. We were lucky to get a table, it was packed! The restaurant was buzzing, a nice mix of people, plenty of families with really well behaved children, couples, groups of friends.... a nice atmosphere. Even though it was really busy, the service couldn't have been better. Very quick, friendly and efficient. We got our starter of bruschetta within minutes and it didn't take long after to get our main meal. The pasta was probably home-made, very well cooked and al dente, the seafood (of which there was plenty) was fresh and so tasty....all I needed was a seaview to make me think I was in the mediterranean. Well, Dulwich on a rainy day is still very pleasant, all in all a very nice meal in a very nice restaurant. Can't wait to visit again and maybe try something different this time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NuCoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    120
    44
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We've been looking for a great local pizza for many years and we were really pleasantly surprised with Rocca. This pizza was fabulous and the sea bream very nice. The ambiance is great and perfect for a relaxed meal for two, groups or families. Understated style and great service. We'll definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad at all...”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went there last night after a few drinks in the pub next door. The waiters were very friendly straight from the off. The manager kept us fully up to date on our table as it was very busy. We were seated soon enough and although the kitchen looked manic, there was a good vibe throughout the eatery.

When a glass of wine tasted old, the manager, speaking French to my French mother-in-law, swapped it without question and replaced by a much bigger Chianti!
Then later when my partner asked about a salad she thought was meant to come with her fish, the waiter corrected her on the fact it was not but brought her a mixed green salad gratis. My girlfriend had red cheeks at her mistake but they were lovely.

The food was really quite good and reasonably priced, their beef shank ravioli was real tasty, well cooked and generous and their grilled chicken was succulent and well seasoned. No complaints from us on well made Italian cooked swiftly and correctly.

The dinner was finished with free drinks from the manager and we were all very happy.

Will be coming here again if thats the kind of meal/service they can produce on a very busy Saturday.

Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Digdogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely little Place”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hadn't booked and it was very busy as a Saturday night. Staff friendly and attentive. Food really nice, had a great time. Lovely location in Dulwich Village. Would definitely go again if in the area as we were visiting family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbranston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a friendly welcome (and reasonably priced)”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The manager always greets us and shakes hands. They maintain a lively family friendly atmosphere (often with lots of children). The food can be very reasonably priced if you only fancy a simple meal. The pizza is good too, with a big domed oven at the rear of the restaurant. You can sit outside with a view of Dulwich Village - but it was a bit too cold yesterday evening. Virtually always busy. We often go there. Nice after a walk in Dulwich park or visiting the gallery close by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocca Di Papa also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Di Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing