We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse - Wimbledon
Ranked #1,983 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse in Wimbledon provides a unique combination of excellent quality Argentine cuts of beef from grass-fed cattle reared in the fertile lowlands of Las Pampas and cooked on an authentic parrilla (barbecue) paired with superb Argentine wines, traditional Argentine cuisine, quality ingredients and a vibrant atmosphere. The Chef carefully developed a unique style for blending farm-like cooking techniques and dish presentations with a delicate but simple cuisine. Food & Wines; not just for steak lovers, Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse offers a range of authentic dishes made using the best quality ingredients and with traditional Argentine methods, including Humita, a creamed sweetcorn dish wrapped in corn husks whilst cooking. Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse was established in June 2007 and today consists of 7 venues in and around London. The Steakhouses are located in Central and South-East London. They continue to pay special attention the unique characteristic of the product: the prime quality of the beef and also a great selection of Argentine wines to accompany it.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The steaks we had were nothing special and whilst the service was good, we found the food to be quite pricey for what we got.

Average.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    85
    38
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

when you hear Argentinian steak you have an expectation and the meat Is good quality but there are better places to eat steak.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M_A-B_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my daughters birthday meal - so disappointing”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

In our party of 7 the steaks weren't cooked as we had ordered and 3 of the steaks were not at all tender, vastly overpriced, had more enjoyable steaks at our local Harvester

On a positive note the waiting staff were very friendly and attentive

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak :-)”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely steak beautifully cooked served in a nice environment. Lots of tasty sides. I had lomo with blue cheese sauce and side of field mushrooms. Totally amazing paired with the house Malbec.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“45 min for a drink but bill given in 45 seconds!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A birthday meal out for me, never to be repeated. Keen to try a local restaurant for a change, we decided to give this newish establishment a go. Reviews on TA were mixed but thought we would take the plunge. Decided to cunningly avoid the starter being delivered at the same time as the main course by ordering drinks first, then tapas x 2, telling them that we would order steaks in a while as we were in no rush. Drinks still not served after 45 minutes, despite asking for them 3 times. Finally our vodka and tonics arrived at the same time as the starters and in the interim 4 different staff came over to hassle us into ordering our main course. The wine was also put on our crowded table before we had finished our aperitifs, so I had to move glasses and bottle onto the radiator shelf behind me! We got pressured into ordering our main meal half way through our starters, just to get them to leave us alone! and, as a previous poster says, the main courses arrived before we had swallowed the last of our (bolted) tapas and had not yet finished our vodka & tonics. The fillet steak was tender but completely and utterly tasteless and my husband's steak likewise. The sauce had skin on it, so clearly not plated up fresh, but either nuked or sitting around in a hot kitchen! We didn't bother with dessert and will not return. The restaurant was like sitting in a tin of sardines so they clearly put bums on seats over comfort and enjoyment. We noticed two other couples being chivvied off their table for the next "sitting", both looking very angry at being rushed. If you want this kind of speed, taste and service, might I suggest MacDonalds - it's cheaper!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghawdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse - Wimbledon also viewed

 

Been to Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse - Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing