We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As regular Premier Inn guests, we stayed for the first time in the recently-opened Old Street hotel in October. It's everything you would expect from a Premier Inn, except with added freshness - the carpets still smell new, and it's easy to tell that the rooms haven't had much wear. Considering a four-night stay was half the price of an equivalent stay at the Euston or Kings Cross Premier Inns, this place is an absolute bargain.

The restaurant is far better than supposedly flagship PIs like Euston, with friendlier staff and no queues at breakfast. There was some construction work going on outside our room on weekday mornings, but that's not the hotel's fault. This is also only a two-minute walk from the (admittedly slightly rough) Old Street tube station, so it's fairly convenient, but bear in mind that not all Northern Line trains pass through this station - check a tube map before booking to ensure the location suits your requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,613 of 2,740 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

On arrival Daniel immeadiately made us feel welcome and showed my young daughters how to check in. They got their own room keys which made their day. The room was already setup as a family room with the beds made. This is much better then Travelodge where I have had to make the kids beds and get extra pillows. Not here! Also the room had four mugs which really showed that they had thougt about the number of occupants.

After an excellant nights sleep (No noise whatsoever and this was a Friday night) the breakfsst was excellant. Choice of full english or continental. Again made to feel very special.

Check out was very personal. Asked if we had a good nights sleep and it felt genuinely sincere.

Will be my first choice for stays from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us some great feedback.
Your comments have been passed on to Daniel and the rest of the team, and I’m sure they will be very pleased.
We look forwards to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Premier Inn London City Old Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the second premier inn I've stayed at in London and in both cases the standard was higher than I expected from the brand.

This one is clean, with spacious rooms and very friendly staff. It's a fairly quiet location as well, so no street noise intrudes. There's very little to criticise, perhaps the towels were a bit threadbare, there was nowhere to put my toothbrush and no safe, but these are really nitpicking. Personally I don't like the fact that the windows are fixed shut, but that's just me. Breakfast was excellent and the dining room well laid out.

I don't think the location is great from the point of view of local amenities and attractions, but I suppose it depends why you are there. This area always feels a bit seedy to me.

I only marked it down from the top rating because it still seems expensive for the rather utilitarian furnishings, lack of a safe and location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

It’s an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to Premier Inn, and we are pleased that you found your stay here pleasant and the staff friendly.
Regarding the In Room Safe, as you know, we do not provide In Room Safes, but we do have a customer safe, which is available upon request and is in our Main Office. The reason why the windows do not open is because the area of Old Street is undergoing a development project and due to CO2 emissions from this project, we are unable to open the windows.
Also, the location of the hotel is just outside of the City Centre and we are in the middle of the Financial District as The Shard, The Gherkin and Canary Wharf are only a short Tube Ride away, but we do have direct transport links towards Waterloo, Oxford Circus and The Tower of London.

It’s good to know that the restaurant met your expectations and you enjoyed our Premier Breakfast.

Hopefully, we will see you again soon, and many thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Premier Inn on Old Street with my two sons in a family room, First class location - allowed us to get to and from the West End quickly. Staff were welcoming and helpful - which was refreshing for London. Room was large and warm - basic - but had everything needed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast - excellent value for money and kids are free, even ate at the hotel the first night after checking in in the evening and the food was great. Wifi available for a small fee - overall if I was looking for somewhere to stay again in Central London for a reasonable price Old Street Premier Inn would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Family room 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastmidlander247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you found the hotel and our location was perfect for your trip to London.

It’s good to know that our staff were helpful and were able to assist you in anyway. Also, we’re happy that the room was big enough for you and the Restaurant lived up to your expectations.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon, and thanks again for reviewing your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at beginning of October. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were allocated a room on 11th floor with a great view of the city. Room was very clean and it was good to have a kettle with tea, coffee, if you wanted a cuppa coming back in the evening after a long day's sightseeing! Location of hotel is excellent, only a few minutes walk to tube station and bus stops. Also only a few minutes walk away are Sainsburys and Co-Op supermarkets , Superdrug, Argos etc. We walked round the corner past Old Street tube station to get bus number 135 to Liverpool Street Station, 5 minutes away . From there we got the number 11 bus which goes past a lot of the main tourist attractions, e.g .St Paul's, Trafalgar Square , Big Ben, 10 Downing Street, all the way out to Chelsea. Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Higher floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedroni_304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased to know that you found our staff pleasant and helpful during your stay. We are also happy that the room that you were given was to your liking.
We are happy that the hotel had all the amenities that you required and that it was centrally located for you to be able to get to all the big tourist attractions.

Hopefully, we will see you again very soon.

Thank you once again for reviewing the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Hotel was excellent; friendly staff, good food, clean rooms and no noise at night - couldn't ask for more. Would stay here again in in London for business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are happy that the hotel had everything to offer for your business trip to London. We are also pleased that you found the staff, food and room up to the Premier Inn Standard that we are so well-known for.

Thanks once again for reviewing your stay, and hopefully we will see you again for your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booking a hotel with only a couple of days' notice for central London can be difficult and expensive - I could not find any availability with other hotels I would normally use when visiting on business, however this Premier Inn had availability and is less than a 10 minute walk (or quick bus trip) from the City. It is also very close to Old Street underground (Northern Line Bank branch). It still was not cheap booking relatively late notice.

I believe it is quite a new hotel, as two black cabbies did not know where it was. It is also located on a one-way system north of Old Street roundabout, so if you don't mind a minutes' walk and are arriving in a taxi, I suggest getting dropped off somewhere around there eg by the Starbucks, so you don't spend several more pounds going around the one-way system.

It was finished to the standard you would expect from Premier Inn, and the rooms I was given (I visited twice) were clean and comfortable. I ate in the restaurant a couple of times, which was reasonably priced and was given friendly, helpful service, not a given in London by any means!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased that the hotel had everything that you needed for your business trip in London.
And yes, we are still fairly new, this November we will be 2 years old, and we even though we are on a one way system we are still easy to find via foot.

We’re happy the room was up to the brilliant standard that we provide here at Old Street. It is also nice to know that you have found our food reasonably priced, and that we met your expectation in our restaurant.

Hope to see you again very soon, and thanks again for reviewing your stay.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,077 in London
623 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in London
#71 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $91 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing