We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.We had a few doubts about the location for this Premier Inn, the price was the deciding factor.They were unfounded as the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Old Street Tube (exit 1). London is easy to travel around by tube so a close station really helps save time if you only have a few days. We booked about 2 months in advance and the price was half if we'd left it closer to arrival. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only ate in the restaurant for dinner once. The meals were good value and plentiful. Didn't have breakfast. Our room was 1121 and had views south towards The Shard.It was clean as was the en-suite. Overall another good Premier Inn and we would probably use this hotel again if visiting London. I do need to mention that London is a 24 hour city and there is noise most of the time ,late revellers, sirens etc. Don't let this put you off staying here as I think most city centre hotels will have the same problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased to know that our hotel was the right choice for you and it was within the price that you were happy with. As you know, it is very easy to get around London with Old Street Tube Station being just moments away from our front door.

It is also nice to know that you have found your meal with us enjoyable, and that we met your expectation in our restaurant.

We’re happy that the room that you was given was perfect for you, and of a night time, the view from the window is spectacular as the whole of Old Street and the surrounding areas are lit up.

Many thanks again for taking the time to review your stay. See you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

But not, In and Out of The Eagle. In fact, we were in town for a Red Letter Day at Jamie's Fifteen, further down the City Road, towards Old Street. A long way from home, we didn't think that a journey all the way back again after what we hoped would be a very enjoyable evening, would add to the experience. So, we needed a hotel nearby.

This Premier Inn was certainly within 5 minutes walk of Fifteen; tick that box. It was also outside the Congestion Charging Zone and could be reached without having to enter it; tick that box. What I didn't expect was the charge for the night for the two of us, including breakfast. At around £175, this was most definitely not a budget experience! It seems that Premier Inns is only a budget chain when they can't get away with charging normal London prices, which they appear to do during weekdays, when demand from city workers is probably high.

This Premier Inn also has no parking facilities, which is highly surprising for a brand new hotel. I would have expected underground facilities for at least a decent number of vehicles. Perhaps they expect everyone to arrive by taxi or public transport? They don't even have a short stay lay-by at the entrance so you are forced to stop on double yellow to unload, hoping that you haven't picked the very moment the traffic warden turns up! Luckily I found a very reasonable secure parking less than 10 minutes walk away, on Crondall Street. At £17 for a two days, including over-night storage, this was remarkable! Recommended.

Shortly after we arrived the fire alarm bells started ringing; not the welcome we expected. My wife asked what was going on (I'd gone to park the car) and the room service lady shrugged and carried on working! Clearly, fire drill or not, this is not designed to fill one with confidence!

However, our room, on the third floor was in an excellent state; clean and well decorated, in the company colours. Although overlooking the street, there was little road noise filtering back into the room. There is air conditioning so there is actually no need to open the window. The room was well provided with furniture, and hanging space for our clothes. The bed was large and comfortable and provided with adequate bed-clothing. We enjoyed a good night's sleep. There is entertainment by way of a smallish but modern TV, offering the usual range of channels.

However, the bathroom, although spotlessly clean, suffered from a faulty water mixer for the bath and shower. When switched on it issued water, accompanied by a noise that sounded like an air-raid siren, and almost as loud! Showering was a deafening experience and encouraged brevity! It was reported but not fixed during our brief stay.

Breakfast was enjoyable and a good range of hot and cold dishes was on offer. The restaurant, on the ground floor, is large and we had no problem finding a vacant table.

So, what to make of the experience? Very expensive for what was supposed to be a budget hotel. Not especially good value for money then but, for the convenience for our reason for visiting London, we were prepared to put up with it this time. However, it is unlikely that we return in future at these prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Old St Premier Inn for a week when my usual hotel was fully booked, and I can't fault it:
Location was great, staff were helpful and friendly and the room was up to the usual Premier standard.
It's a big hotel and the lifts aren't very fast which can be frustrating if you're in a hurry, but that's a minor complaint.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

It’s amazing to know that your stay met your expectations of Premier Inn. We are pleased to know that the location was perfect and the staff made your stay enjoyable.

We are having some routine works done to our lifts at the moment which might have been the reason why the lifts were a little sleepy.

Thanks again for reviewing your stay with us. And hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean comfortable and quite convenient for most London attractions. The breakfasts were fine and reasonable value for money. About £140 for a double with breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful so no complaints. Bar was still open after midnight and serving porridge to foreign visitors! No frills value for money in London. Good view of London skyline from upper floors. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Higher for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

It’s a pleasure to know that your stay with us was a delight for you. We are happy that you found our Premier Breakfast enjoyable, and that we met your expectation in our restaurant. And also, that our staff were friendly and helped in any way that they could.

The views from the upper floors are amazing at whatever time to see them.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
See you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

well located, close to Old Street subway station. Friendly staff welcomes you with a smile. Small but clean and comfortable rooms. Good breakfast (from as early as 6:30 am). Hotel has rooms for handicapped people. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased to know that the hotel was conveniently situated for your stay with us. It’s also good to hear that the staff were friendly; the rooms were just as you would expect from a Premier Inn and that we met your expectations in the restaurant for the Premier Breakfast.
We do indeed have rooms that are Universally Accessible, some of these rooms have a walk in shower and others have a low bath.

Thank you once again for your review, and hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was booked into this hotel at short notice having been let down by the hotel I'd originally booked. The staff were welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable. I came back late from an appointment and although the bar was formally closed, the staff managed to rustle up a bowl of excellent soup and good bread. The breakfast was also good quality especially the coffee which although from a machine was first rate. The only small criticism I would offer was that when I came for breakfast, the waiter guided me to a dark corner with only a stool for seating and it felt like this was because I was because I was a person on my on. He did however respond promptly when I said I would prefer to sit elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

We are pleased to know that the hotel was to your liking and that the staff were friendly and the room was up to the amazing Premier Inn Standard. It’s brilliant to hear that the staff went out of their way to help you; this is the kind of thing that, here at Premier Inn London City (Old Street), we want to deliver, it’s the pleasantness and helpfulness of every Team Member, that makes the trip unforgettable.

It’s also good to know that the Premier Breakfast met your expectations in the restaurant for the Premier Breakfast.

Thanks once again for reviewing your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is well located (northern line tube) and pretty near to one of the main tube stations (king's cross). It's a functional hotel, clean, secure and has a pretty nice staff that always is there to attend your enquiries. Pleasant sleep, good breakfast and food in general. The only thing is that it doesn't offer amenities at the toilet, for the price you are paying it should have some.

Anyway, it's a good place to stay if you are looking for something central.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anacattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiOldstreet, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street).

It’s good to know that the hotel was conveniently located for you and your trip to London. We are pleased to hear that the staff at our hotel were friendly and that they helped you with the best interest in mind. And that we met your expectations in the restaurant for the Premier Breakfast.

We do have on sale a His/Hers’ Refresh Kits, which is available upon request at Reception. This includes all the bits someone might have forgotten, i.e. Toothbrush, Toothpaste, Comb, Shower Gel, Hair Gel and other bits.

Thanks again for your review, and see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Harvison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,077 in London
616 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#92 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing