We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very handy for the sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #147 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very handy for the sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

this hotel is very handy for the sights of London, 3oo yards from the Northern line tube, this is only 2 stops from Kings Cross St Pancras.The hotel has a good internal restaurant called Thyme and the bar is open till 02.00. we had a drink following our visit to the west end to see a musical

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    805
    166
    35
    18
See reviews for
1,087
533
89
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in the Old Street Premier Inn for 3 nights in October then went to Edinburgh for 2 nights and returned to the Old Street Premier Inn for 3 more nights. We were extremely satisfied with our stay at the hotel. We arrived around 10am on the day of our check in and were quickly checked in and allowed to go to our room. The rooms were quite comfortable and had everything we needed including plenty of space. We were on the 12th floor for part of our stay and the 9th floor for the other part of our stay and there were no noise issues at all.

The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly. The staff did the best they could to help with directions. The staff also helped me by printing 2 for 1 vouchers for me and calling places to make reservations. The staff also stored some of our luggage while we were away in Edinburgh for 2 nights.

We visited the bar a couple of times at the hotel and the bar staff was great. We had dinner in the restaurant on our final night and it was very good.

The location of the hotel really is understated in some reviews. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from Old Street tube station, which is 2 stops away from Kings Cross. The neighborhood was just fine and there were several places to stop by and grab a bite for breakfast or a snack in the evening on the way back to the room.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know that will be visiting London. We paid roughly $90 US per night which compared to "more central" hotels was a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stltravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my ten year old granddaughter for three nights last week. The room on the tenth floor was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet with a view which included a distant view of Canary Wharf. The staff were always welcoming and willing to help with directions etc. It was also very close to Old Street tube station and therefore offered ease of exploring the City and West End. I would suggest that if staying for longer than two days the pre-purchase of an Oyster card would save you money although I only paid £7 a day for a travel card in zones 1 and 2 (under 11's are free). Breakfasts were good. Evening meals were of similar quality to the restaurants of Premier Inns local to me but the children's menu suited my very fussy granddaughter whereas finding a restaurant elsewhere to suit her palate would have been difficult..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired-08-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Why stay in a swanky central London hotel, with their exhorbitant rates, when you can have a very comfortable, clean and quiet room at this Premier Inn. We booked some way in advance so got a reasonable rate. We arrived around midday (before official check-in time), but the friendly, helpful staff still found us a quiet room on the 11th floor. The room was very nice throughout with a firm, comfortable bed. This hotel has 12 floors with 20 or so rooms per floor so breakfast time can be very busy. In the lifts there are signs indicating the busy and quiet periods for breakfast - take note. We always went down early and avoided any queuing. The hotel's location is uninspiring, but it doesn't matter as the bus / tube network will quickly get you to where you want to be. On our last day they kindly stored our luggage until later in the day.
Overall we highly recommend this hotel. Book early to get reasonable rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Skibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we met your expectations on your recent stay. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel is a good value, friendly place within a 5 minute walk of the nearest tube, (Old Street, use exit 1!) the staff were always helpful and friendly. No issues with noise and we were only on the 2nd floor, we didn't use the restaurant as we were in London with over 2000 restaurants to chose from! There are some interesting places within a 10 minute walk or hop on the tube!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catpowernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hills Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights during a family holiday from New Zealand. Usual great Premier Inn standard - excellent breakfasts, great service, friendly staff, handy to tube & train stations etc etc etc. We had our 11 & 12 year old sons and an extra bed was made up for them in the room. Was slightly cramped but very comfortable and not too bad considering we had 4 suitcases with us as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Always choose premier inn these days for business and pleasure but never stayed here before. Typical clean and comfortable premier inn room, also surprisingly quiet for central London. Ate in restaurant tonight and good quality "pub type" meal at a reasonable price.

London room rates but would definitely stay again. Watch out though because it isn't quite on old street!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Premier Inn London City Old Street. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on quality, competitive pricing, value for money and service.

I am happy that we met your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Many Thanks
Daniel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#90 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#98 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing