We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to claims” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lives up to claims”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Having stayed here for most of March I highly rate this place. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have pretty much all the basic things you need. The hotel is new and in a good condition whilst the staff are friendly and helpful. It is handy for the Northern Line via Old Street and there are plenty of pubs and eateries nearby.

Nothing fancy about the place but you do get a decent nights sleep. Pretty much like any other new build premier inn, although at London prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel.

Its great to hear such possitive feedback. Its also good to know that you have been consistantly happy with the service during your stays with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    792
    163
    34
    18
See reviews for
1,065
528
89
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The beds are very comfortable here ... They have a big thick duvet, unlike a thin sheet that you seem to get in most hotels.

Large menu ... Although basic, but tasty

No room service however

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Its great to hear that your stay with us was comfortable.

Unfortunately Premier Inn does not offer room service, however you are more than welcome to order at the bar and take food to your room if you wish.

Kind regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Service is excellent, all staff are well trained and keen! Dinners, well it's a Premier Inn so some choices are better than others but breakfast was good. Parking is very difficult; the NCP on Paul street is about 1/2 mile away and scary! go to the friendly chaps over the road from the hotel - Easy Car parks however it's 50yds into the congestion zone. No problems with noise but the windows are locked shut so no fresh air either. Overall very good though for central London.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Parking can be an issue in central London, but you are correct in saying that 'Easy Car Park' is our closest one. May I also advise you, and anyone else gaining information from this post that there is free roadside parking (weekends only) around the back of the hotel. Spaces are obviously unpredictable, but is always worth a try before going to a car park.

In regards to the windows, unfortunately we are not allowed to have them unlocked for health and safety reasons, and I hope that this didn't leave you too uncomfortable. We find that this issue is usually compensated by the self-adjusting air conditioning.

Once again thank you for leaving us feedback.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel (opened 22nd November 2011) in March 2012. Very clean, modern and service good. Breakfast good value. Two small issues - reception could not provide a twin room first time - seemed to be a glitch between the housekeping staff and the reception system, as the first room we were given was made up as a double. Was quickly resolved. Second - fan in bathroom was not up to standard of rest of fittings - a bit noisy (seemed to drip)even when switched off. Otherwise very good hotel with good space in room and comfortable beds. Two minutes from Old Street tube.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

All feedback is valuable in improving our service and hotel environment.

I am happy to hear that despite a couple of down points that you still enjoyed your stay with us.

We have been experiencing some problems with the bathroom extractors, and the volume of noise that they make, but I am pleased to confirm that we have since had people in to service them.

I would like to apologise for the lack of communication between reception and housekeeping on check in, correct available rooms should automatically be on our system, I will of course be monitoring this issue to make sure it is not an on going problem.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn , old street. We were there for 2 days and from the moment we checked in till we left the staff providing us with excellent service. The rooms are spacious, well presented and comfortable. The travel links are excellent with bus stops right outside the door and tube and train links less than a 5 minute walk away.The only downside was the noise in the early morning from all the extensive building work going on around the inn, however that will subside at sometime I assume.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

Its great to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team helped you with everything you needed.

I am please to say that the building work next door near completion and is causing less disruption to the hotel.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Overall the hotel was lovely, room was clean and breakfast was good. Also in a great location for central london.

We had an awful nights sleep, thanks to drunken neighbours trying to get into our room at 3:30am and building work outside at 7:30am. However, the staff where very friendly and lovely about the whole situation and gave us our money back.

The extractor fan was also unnecessarily loud. If one of us went to the toilet at night we couldn't get to sleep until it stopped. I have an en suite with an extractor at home, and the noise doesn't keep me up at night. We described the noise it made as like an microwave.

Overall, I can't complain as it was clean and we got a refund.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becca1992_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

I am happy to hear that we are effectively implementing what we promise under our 'Good Night Guarantee' and that your overall stay was a good one.
In regards to the bathroom extractors we have recently had work done on them to make them less noisy.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Modern, comfotable customer-friendly hotel in a handy position for the City and for the West End. Good choice of food for breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, Duty Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank for leaving us some quick feedback.

I am happy to hear that you found us convenient for your needs, as well as enjoying the hotel environment.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Lucy Boswell
Duty Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing