We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay with helpful staff, but bedrooms are HOT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Like other reviewers we had a great welcome & found a very comfortable clean hotel, not far from Kings Cross & St Pancras stations. The bedroom was far too hot & stuffy & as the air conditioning didn't seem to register below 17C it was difficult to get cool. Why have an opening window that is permanently locked shut & unabled to be opened? I hate to think what it will be like in the middle of a heatwave. We took the £22 meal deal, which included a very good value 3 course limited choice dinner, (but nice choices, one being a 10oz rump steak) plus a drink & an excellent breakfast. Didn't think we could eat in London much cheaper. Although we had no children with us I believe that up to 2 children can eat free with a full paying adult. Very helpful staff, but sadly the kitchen seemed understaffed as the courses took a good time to appear, but we were there over half term. Would definitely go again if I needed to be in London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NenNen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your air conditioning, we had discovered that some of the default settings had changed, our maintenance man has now gone through all the rooms to rectify this issue.

I'm glad you see the meal deal as good value, it is very poplular with a lot of people, (especiialy the Steak). Unfortunately during your stay we realised that we were over whelmed in the restaurant during the first school half term that the hotel experienced since opening in November. We have taken some learnings from this and also ordered some additional equipment to help speed up the service.

We do hope you look us up again when you next need to stay in London.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,647)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,155 - 2,161 of 2,648 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

On the plus side being new everything was very clean and not tired dated like so many travelodges are nowadays.
There were a few glitches though, for example one of the 3 lifts was out of order all the stay and we had a few minor issues in the bathroom with an overflow that didn't appear to be connected to the waste - apologies to anyone on the 3rd floor if they had blue water dripping through from my lush bath bomb!
The staff were very friendly and helpful though and keen to put things right immediately. I somehow managed to bypass the queue for breakfast not realising it was for breakfast and when you pay £8.50 for one adult and get two children's breakfasts free its very good value indeed - I liked the fact that there was a direct line between the staff and the kitchen giving up dates of what was needed so it stayed fresh and wasn't sitting around going dry or running out
Great location and much cheaper than other central London Premier Inns - glad we were out most of the time as when you have two children in one room there is very little room for anything else - its wall to wall beds!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate them and take the feedback on board.

I'm sorry there was an issue with one of the lifts during your stay, they are all working now. Glad the team managed to sort the issue with your bath, disaster averted.

Really glad you enojyed your breakfast, it is great value when the children eat free!!!. We have worked hard on feedback about breakfast as that is our busiest time of the day in the restaurant, I am glad you benefitted from the feedback of other Tripadvisors.

Thanks again and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A new Premier Inn in Old Street so there where problems checking in as the self service machines were out of order but that did not stop Daniela making us feel very welcome and she apologised for the delay. Our room was very clean and spacious and very new. Housekeeping kindly provided us with blankets (albeit cot blankets) as my husband is allegic to Duvets. The hot water took some time to heat up in the shower but once it got going it was lovely! Restaurant staff were also very good and attentive. We had a meal at lunch time but the pasta was not hot but no problem for them to bring it back hot to me and side salad was delicious!
The restuarant is situated over 3 floors, the mezzanine which looks out onto the road and also in the basement which is light and airy. Our Breakfast was in the basement and at £2.95 for continental was great value, however if you needed your cereals or hot food you had to go upstairs to bring it back down again. Help yourself Tea/coffee juice toast croissants but not the plates so you had to go back to get plates for your toast etc. this was the only exception, tables where laid with cutlery and everything spotless, staff also very good and we were able to stay until 11am chatting before we were kindly asked to move upstairs so that the tables could be laid for lunch. Special lunch offer on at the moment is 2 meals for £10. the Northern line is across the road. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Choose the 11/12th floor for views towards Canary Wharf. Have breakfast/lunch/dinner on the mezzanin...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentaurTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay. I'm sure Daniela will be glad to read your comments.

I'm sorry you experienced a few glitches during your stay but hope we didn't take the shine off your stay.

Thank you also for sharing you tips. The mezzanine restaurant is my favourite too and the views from the 11th & 12th floors are amazing on a clear day.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A new hotel, which despite it's title, is not in Old Street, but adjacent to it.
There were teething problems but the staff were very friendly and helpful, both at Reception and in the bar.
We had booked to see a show in the evening, and the bar staff told us where we could eat near to the theatre after the performance.
The hotel is very close to the underground and bus stops making travelling around the city easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm glad the team could help with suggestions of where to eat after your theatre show.

I hope that you didn't have trouble finding the hotel, although we are not on Old Street, the name of the hotel more refers to the location.

We really do hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is very good, a nice welcome from the front of house staff, restaurant & bar were great, have some good meal deals & the bar has a great guy called Obado or something like that, he was a top guy & liked to make sure all was ok :-) All hotel staff were very friendly & helpful.

My only criticism was with the rooms air conditioning, a few people I spoke to in the lift & co said rooms were very hot & the air con was useless, but I can't complain as the staff did there best to sort the problem out. My other comment is that £17 for 2 breakfasts is too expensive. We used the wether spoons pub down the road as it could get rather expensive if stopping multiple nights.

Location was good, close to both Old Street Tube Station & numerous bus services to most parts of central London. Ask the staff in the hotel, they know there stuff :-) Great hotel, just please fix the air con by my next stay :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damokins1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay at our hotel, the team get great pleasue from reading the reviews. I will make sure that Amado sees how complimentary you are about his level of service, I'm sure it will make his smile even broader.

I see that there was an issue with the air conditioning in your room, I will personally see that this issue is addressed and will contact you seperately to ascertain your room number so that I can achieve this.

Thank you once again and we do hope that you come and stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This brand-new Premier Inn has the potential to be great once the opening glitches are sorted out. We stayed during half-term, and it was obvious the staff were struggling to cope with a full house.
On our first morning the queue for breakfast stretched right back from the restaurant into the reception area, so we decided to eat out...and found a lovely family-run place called Cafe Arena just a couple of minutes' walk away - about halfway between the hotel and Old Street Tube Station. The food was freshly-cooked, the service was friendly and efficient - and the cost was about half what it would have been in the hotel. With several other options in the immediate area, we were surprised people were willing to queue in the hotel, but it turned out most had pre-paid for a meal package, and were therefore stuck. By Friday the hotel was admitting it had problems, with notices in the lift advising guests that 600 people were staying over the weekend and to avoid its peak breakfast times...from 8am to 10.30am!
We, too, were inconvenienced by the failure to service our room on the Friday, with staff just pointing to how busy the hotel was.
These teething problems were disappointing from a brand such as Premier Inn, and will have deterred a lot of people from returning, which is a pity as in all other respects Old Street delivers a good value option in an excellent location. We would certainly be prepared to return, but hopefully Premier Inn will in future take the long-term view and phase other openings in more gently rather than going for short-term profit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Premier Inn London City (Old Street), we really do appreciate people feeding back to us.

It is unfortunate that you experienced such issues during your stay. I make no excuses and admit that we were very over whelmed during this half term week and had underestimated the demand during this time. Since the hotel opening in November 2011 this week we saw record numbers for those wishing to dine in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. We have certainly taken some key learnings from this time to ensure that the same issues don't reoccurr.

I am concerned about the lack of service to your room, this should not have happened I will follow up seperately on this.

We would hope that you do give us the opportunity to demonstrate that we can deliver the Premier Inn standard that you would normally come to expect with a Premier Inn, it was unfortunate that on this occassion as I mentioned we were simply overhwhelmed.

Thank you once again and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just returned from a 1 night stay with our 2 children (ages 13yrs & 10yrs). Hotel easy
to find, only problem was that the Northern Line was closed for engineering works, however
plenty of buses from just outside the hotel. Clean, quite roomy family room, nice bathroom
with a really powerful shower.
Breakfast was very good value and plenty of choice. Friendly staff, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanneu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your time at the hotel.

Sorry for the inconvenience of the tube station closure, unfortunately there has been a lot of engineering works at the weekend that we have been unaware of. We are now of course keeping a look out on the TFL website for any work and hopefully we will be better informed for the future.

Thanks again and hope to have you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#294 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#103 of 1,072 in London
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#105 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing