We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Ranked #154 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I don't generally expect much if staying at a Premier Inn, they are a budget hotel chain after all. I was pleasantly surprised this time though. Had a weekend stay here in early December and I would defeinitely consider using the hotel again.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the minute we walked through the door and this continued throughout our stay. The room was spacious and clean with the usual Premier Inn decor. The hotel lobby and restaurant/bar are very tastefully decorated and you could be forgiven for forgetting that you're in a Premier Inn.
I was a little concerned about the location before going as I had heard some bad reports but it was absolutely fine and the hotel is a very short walk from Old Street tube station.
If I had to say something negative about the hotel then I could only think of the fact that the elevators can be quite slow.
I would definitely consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi there,

I am glad you are pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the decor. It's great feedback, feedback is what drives how we shape the future of Premier Inn, so thank you.

We have addressed the issue with the lifts, unfortunately there were some teething issues that developed, but thankfully they are now rectified.

We will be glad to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    823
    170
    35
    19
See reviews for
1,103
542
90
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed from 23 Dec -24 Dec 2011 and staff told us it was only opened 3 weeks ago. Everything was clean and immaculate. We happened to grab a good deal online for 59 pound for the night. Excellent location, only 2 minute walk to the Old Street Underground.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awcwong007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for leaving us a quick review.

It's great that you managed to get a good deal, booking online early was the key. Keep an eye out for more similar rates in the future.

We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2011

i stayed here whilst workin over the christmas period . staff were always very polite and on hand if we needed them. the staff even sorted us christmas dinner which was lovely. rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. i would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stop over in the capital .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi there,

Brilliant is a word we like to hear, I am glad the team impressed you during the festive period.

The team were keen to ensure that everyone were made to feel at home.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
340 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Arrived and did self check in and it does only take a couple of mins walk from old street. We were located on the 11 floor nice size room. Issues started during the night with the springs making noises when you moved and you could hear the traffic from outside. The biggest issue for this hotel is getting the lifts sorted we had to wait 15 mins for the lift to come and take us back down and on checking out they were all off! Staff are helpful and refunded us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormsklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry you experienced some issues during your stay. Unfortunately we have had several teething problems with the lifts but fingers crossed they are all sorted now and all the lifts are now operational to all floors.

I will drop you a message seperately to find out which room it was that you stayed in so that I can check we have addressed the issue with the mattress (we do have some spares on site). Unfortunately due to location there maybe at times some external noise but if you stay again in the future there is an acoustic vent in the window that can be closed which will hopefully eliminate some of the noise you have experienced this time round.

Thanks again for the feedback and next time you stay, any issues you experienced this time should not repeat.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

A brand new room, friendly staff and brilliant location - had a really good break based in a vibrant area. Will be returning, well done.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairfield92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for dropping us a quick review, we really appreciate it. You are right about the area, it certainly is vibrant and there is a lot more on the way in the area.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The thing with Premier Inn is you pretty much know what to expect. Well, this hotel made me think again. It was perfect for one night in London on business ie. late arrival and early checkout. The check in at the Express Check In machine was simple, fast and minimum fuss. The room was spotlessly clean, in fact it felt as if I was the first guest to use it! The bed was super comfy with proper pillows and duvet. The decor and lighting is contemporary and and well considered, definitely more than I would expect for a budget hotel. Also, the size of the room is great, much better than many other hotels in London.The staff were friendly and helpful and it's a nice touch to have a 'concierge' type person in the Reception area to assist with any questions. The only gripe for me was the food in the restaurant was not great, but this wouldn't be a major issue as normally I'd eat out of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for business, and for tourist visitors. It's 3 mins walk from Old St tube station and off the main road so very quiet, but also very central.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T55MCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it's great to get the feedback.

I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. It is very possible you may have been the first person to stay in the room that you did, if so congratulations!!

I am concerned that you didn't have a great experience in the restaurant and would like to know more about this so that I can rectify the issues, I will contact you seperately.

Hopefully next time that you stay we would have rectified the issues you experienced this time.

Thanks again for the feedback, without it we wouldn't know where to improve.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I booked this hotel for a client and tried to contact the hotel to dicuss 3rd party payment. They do not answer their phone at all. They totally messed up the payment, charging the guest instead of the company, then charging my personal card used to hold the room. At no time was the company card charged even though they had a permission form, the details and the request.

I repeatedly had to contact the central booking line to try and reach the hotel. At one point I had to call another Premier Inn branch who even said that they were frustrated with the lack of response.

Awful, stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benyaman, General Manager at Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hi,

I would like to personally apologise for the issues you have had trying to contact the hotel. Unfortunately there are some issues with our telephone lines which we are working hard to rectify.

I understand that this does not help your situation but would like to speak to you personally to ensure that all the errors have been rectified. I will email you privately to do this.

Regards

Ben Kynoch
General Manager
Premier Inn London City (Old Street)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#108 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#94 Best Value Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme Bar & Restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1) Turn left and walk down the road and the entrance is on the third left on Silicon Way opposite iQ Shoreditch Student Accomodaton. If you are arriving early we will do our best to check you in before the 2pm check in time, if not we can safely secure baggage for a small donation to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children's Charity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing