We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 3 nights - did not sleep a wink”
Review of Haverstock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haverstock Hotel
Ranked #150 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The aircon does not work. Repeated complaints produced no result and the poor front desk ladies don't have a clue about what's the problem. People have complained about this for months in reviews on Tripadvisor - but there is NO CHANGE in the situation. And finally was told to open the window in the middle of the night, and short of sleeping on the street outside in shorts and a singlet, did not see any other alternative. Was pleasantly happy with the room decor, bathroom arrangements, location, breakfast and the price. But the continuous lack of sleep due to a sweltering time for 3 nights killed whatever positive impression i had about this place. Am not returning.

Room Tip: If you can't stand extreme temperatures that vary from room to room, and are a light sleeper eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joynag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 133 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a group booking and stayed for two nights. My main gripe was the rudeness of the cleaner, who unfortunately also 'served' our breakfast. Check in was at 2pm, we arrived at 3. As the hotel doesn't have a lift we lugged our cases up to the top floor, only to find that one of our rooms was still being cleaned. Instead of an apology we were met with complete indifference. I understand these things can happen and an apology would have been fine. She was much the same at breakfast the following morning. The lack of understanding regarding the English language didn't help. It's a shame there was no bar. Our room was extremely hot and we could'n't adjust the thermostat as it didn't seem to be connected. Our room which was a triple (301) was a bit small. My daughter's room, which was a quadruple (303) was lovely and the other triple room we had (204) was also a lovely room. No warning of the drilling outside our window wasn't good. The girls on reception were lovely and dealt with my complaining very well! The icing on the cake was the 'happy,happy' cleaner banging on our door at dead on 12 telling us to leave, even though we were just about to anyway (a bit insensitive considering making us wait for 20 mins for our room when we checked in). Breakfast was ok. Location really good and the rooms themselves very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiewong42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariana r, Manager at Haverstock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

HI Susi,

We are sorry you feel this way and we really appreciate your feedback.
Our team are constantly working on improving our services and the issues that your mentioned have already been dealt with.

We hope to see you again and offer you a much more pleasant stay.

Regards

Haverstock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

W stayed here to try somewhere different from where we normally stay at the Premier Inn up the road. This is a converted pub which I remember well from living in the locality. I have to say that I preferred the pub.

I cannot really see why this would be a boutique hotel. It is not in the least luxurious, the rooms are absolutely tiny. There is literally not room to swing the proverbial. They are well appointed but very claustrophobic. There is very little space to store clothes or anything else for that matter. Put it this way; when you ask for an ironing board they give you a tiny working top version- that tells you how bid the room is!

Rooms were quite cold and the radiator made a noise all night which kept us awake.

Breakfast is in the restaurant next door (which by the way is excellent for dinner) and is of the continental variety. Whilst not bad with a decent selection it does not represent good value when paying over £100 per night.

Little gripes:

Television did not work- had to get it fixed
Only provided bottled water on first night- no replacements
Very noisy- cleaners operate from about 6.30 in the morning
Loud drilling work directly outside the door for a couple of hours early in the morning at the weekend- not really on, no notice given

I'd say that if you were one and you were staying here for one night and you got a good 30% off the price then this would be ok. If not go somewhere else. Until they wake up to the fact that this is still essentially a B & B (without the cooked breakfast) I say there are better options in the vicinity.

Room Tip: From what I've read I would avoid the basement at all costs but our room was noisy and slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were given a basement room despite request made online for higher floor; the receptionist declared 'her colleague said the hotel was fully booked' but 'don't worry, there is no more noise from the air conditioning as reviews say on trip advisor' with a guilty over-enthusiastic tone. Well the reviewers were right unfortunately: noise non stop from the conditioning/heating machine all night - room freezing even though tiny. Window looks onto a wall so no light - really a rathole despite the preposterous HansGrohe fittings in the microscopic bathroom. Staff are as warm and polite as an iceberg. And for 99£ a night just because of the location on Haverstock Hill road. Was really relieved to get out.

Room Tip: if you are obliged to stay here, stay away from basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HebaKDubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here on valentines day as we were seeing a show at the Roundhouse in Camden wanted to avoid the commute home.

The Pros;

Great location if you are looking to explore Camden, Chalk Farm or Belsize Park. We walked back from Camden which was about 15 minutes.

Efficient Staff

Nicely decorated rooms. VERYclean.

Free Tea/Herbal Tea/Coffee in room. Also Biscotti biscuits and 2 bottle of mineral water

Nice box of toiletries provided

FANTASTIC rainfall shower, could stay in there for an hour and is big enough for 2!

Towels were presented in the style of 2 swans making a heartshape which was a nice touch for Valentines day.

Nice selection of mood lighting in the room.

Reasonable price for location.

Things which could be improved;

Fire doors on floor which bang quite loud, it would be nice if they could make them close slower or prevent from banging as it is loud and could imagine being a nuisance for light sleepers or those who just hate doors banging (that is my category)

Only one pillow provided each, extra pillows would be appreciated and you generally expect them to be provided. Same goes for an extra blanket.

The room temperature was centrally set and you could not change it. This meant the room was quite stuffy and warm - there is the facility to change the temp in your room and it is disabled, unsure why?

The black out blinds are not black out, did meant room was very bright quite early on, Might want to take an eye mask if that bothers you.

If you do have the window open to cool the room the blinds bang loudly if it windy, we happened to stay on a VERY windy night so might have just been bad luck.

The breakfast is consists of basic produce and meats and cereal but does the job if you are just looking for something light.

No do not disturb sign in room.

The cleaners start early, they started at 7:30 on our floor and they are noisy with the banging doors.

All in all, it is a nice hotel but could do with tweeking a few things. We would probably not return just because of the the banging doors and lack of temperature control but if that doesn't bother you or you use earplugs then it won't be an issue, just a personal thing for me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariana r, Manager at Haverstock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi Foard,

Thank you for your detailed feedback.

Our team are constantly working on improving our services- and we very much appreciate your suggestions. We have since rectified the issues mentioned in your review.

With regards to the doors we have since adjusted the closures- so banging doors is no longer an issue. We are surprised to hear that you only had one pillow in the room as every double room has 4 pillows, the same goes for the Do not disturb signs, we even have a couple spare at reception.

We thank you for your custom and hope to see you again for a more pleasant stay

Haverstock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Still here and love it...small but beautifully formed. Booked in to cope with tube strike which didn't happen.Only down was hotel wouldn't accept cancellation of second night without charge, but that was in on line booking T&C's to get rate (£248 for two nights single room).
Reception desk friendly and a smile. Room small if more than one but immaculate and clean. Very contemporary and in lower ground floor. No window but glass exterior door into passage so wanting fresh air had to leave door open...not good
security at all but air conditioning is available.
No restaurant or bar at all which is a debatable point. I do like a quiet drink without need to go out Need to walk 2-3 minutes along main road to other places if you do not use the Italian restaurant adjacent. Menu limited and expensive (antipasti at north of £12.00- i think not, poshed up spaghetti Bolognese and pasta dishes £15.00, veal £24.00...come.on)

Continental breakfast is also served in same restaurant with use of a voucher from hotel. Bit basic but ok enough if not a big eater.

Had problem with TV that took bit of fiddling with sky box tucked in behind TV so not picking up remote control signal...poorly thought through installation for sake of style.

Bathroom small space to move in but again immaculate, shower cabinet large and best shower i have had in hotel for long time. No shaver socket strangely!

Despite detail shortcomings i liked this hotel and its location, two minutes tube station walk, plenty of eating places within 5-10 min walk. Will come again but would like bigger room if with spouse.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M80KMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The staff at this hotel were friendly and polite. Rooms were small but arranged well. Avoid any ground floor and basement rooms as they are next to the air conditioning units. Very noisy! It also meant on the ground floor the windows didn't open fully and when they did a load of smoke/steam came in I was luckily able to move rooms when I made a complaint to staff.

A colleague of mine who checked in later ended up in my original room and mentioned the fans are switched off from about 1am, which is too late. this also means that overnight there is no heating regulation in rooms - I for one was sweltering and my colleague freezing in their room.

Now for the big downside - the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night - this went on for 55 minutes! The manager was unavailable and not answering calls from the hotel staff or fire brigade which resulted in them not being able to turn off/reset the alarm. This sure did leave us with headaches!

Would stay again provided in an upstairs room and if they have now given all staff their fire training.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjaynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Primrose Guesthouse
#40 of 571 in London
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#22 of 571 in London
54 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#52 of 571 in London
161 reviews
Lodge Drive Apartments
#190 of 923 in London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haverstock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haverstock Hotel

Address: 154 Haverstock Hill, London NW3 2AY, England (Formerly Haverstock Arms)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $120 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haverstock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haverstock Hotel, Hampstead, a lovingly restored public house formerly known as The Haverstock Arms, providing very modern, boutique accommodation. The minimalistic hotel is situated on Haverstock Hill between Belsize Park and Camden Town providing unrivalled access to what London has to offer, yet set within the relaxing surroundings, restaurants and bars of Hampstead.Not only are we ideally placed for you to explore all of London on our doorstep, Hampstead Village has a wealth of attractions including Hampstead Heath, Hampstead Theatre and upmarket boutiques. You will be spoilt for choice with London’s fabulous bars and restaurants’ providing the finest dining London has to offer. We have 19 Bedrooms each with Sky on Flat Screen TV’s, Air Conditioning and all the luxuries you would expect in a London Boutique Hotel. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day and each booking includes continental breakfast and use of Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haverstock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haverstock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing