We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute treat”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #12 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Last minute treat”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night after taking a last minute jaunt to London. The hotel is very plush, modern and vibrant. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the desk staff- though I did find being shown around the room a tad awkward as it wasn't exactly Narnia! We didn't bother with eating in the hotel as Knightsbridge is only a short walk. The hotel has a nice location but the rooms at the back of the building have a poor view and the room could do with a tad more lighting. I brought into the quirky, americanised, boho image that the hotel brand is pushing- not too forced but believable- the shirts and jeans uniform is cool and the Ralph Lauren furnished room was chic. Would I stay again? Probably. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtymarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear naughtymarty,
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back to Belgraves very soon. Maybe next time we can get you to try the new menu in the restaurant!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    133
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
130
342
54
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Belgraves for the weekend and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Although a 10 minute walk from the nearest tube, the location was very good, quiet and close to a lot of London attractions. The room was very nice and comfortable. Would happily stay here again and would recommend to couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear jjwcov,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves soon!!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We escaped to this hotel from another disastrous hotel experience. We needed something nice and we found it. The lobby area was delightful - a beautiful orchestration of copper, deep blues and interesting seating. We were also very struck by the young women working on reception - they were friendly, helpful and chatty in a way not that usual in London. It was late in the evening, we were stressed and starving and they suggested the Pantechnicon, which was a stellar recommendation for excellent and reasonably priced food.

We were initially upgraded when we arrived. This was for no apparent reason but was delightful nevertheless. The room was suitable for disabled users, which meant there was a shower curtain and grab handles in the bathroom, but this didn't bother us. The room was a good size, well decorated in a manner which put us in mind of Calvin Klein manner, by which I mean masculine and quite plain. It was restful and quiet.

We did have a problem with our air conditioning, and no amount of fiddling with the dial would get the temperature below 30, which did mean we had a rather tropical first night. We reported the fault the next morning and came back in the afternoon to find an engineer up to his knees in aircon guts. It was suggested that we move rooms, and we were given yet another upgrade to a small suite. The staff were greatly concerned about the inconvenience of this (more than we were, actually) and couldn't apologise enough. The upgrade was very much appreciated, as was the note of apology from the desk manager, and the complementary voucher for breakfast. We are of the opinion that things do and will go wrong - it's how they're handled that counts. And I have to say that the staff handled this with consummate grace.

Other people who have reviewed the hotel have minded that there is an internet charge. We were charged 7 pounds a day for two ipads and while it did feel a little mean, there had been more than enough generosity on other fronts for it not to bother us. If I have to be picky, I'd say there was a slight dissonance between the attitude of the staff, who were very generous, and corporate policy, which seemed less so. For instance, the breakfast voucher was for a continental breakfast and while this suited my partner, I have food intolerances and couldn't eat any of it. I ordered, instead, a cooked breakfast and though the value of this was less than the cost of a continental breakfast, we were charged the full rate for it. This may have been policy but it might also have had something to do with the member of staff who attended us in the restaurant - the one exception to an otherwise exemplary staff. His manner was rather self-important - if he wasn't the manager, he certainly strove to give the impression that he was. He took my order, forgot one component, and brought the missing food when I had almost finished my breakfast. For none of this did he once apologise.

It has been commented on by others, I see, but we did find the uniforms of the male staff (checked shirts and jeans) a little incongruent with the decor of the hotel. This almost certainly had something to do with the hotel establishing itself as American, but the nuances were rather lost on us.

But all that's relatively minor in the grand scheme of our two days there, and this hotel did revive our saddened spirits (courtesy of the previous hotel) and we were overall extremely happy with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear rosemalmaison,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We have taken note on the small mishaps, all the little things add up for us! I'm so please over all you had a great experience. We hope to welcome you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked this hotel through Jetsetter. When we arrived, we upgraded to a larger room with a bathtub and a view of the park. The room was very nice, but we had trouble using the keycard to get in, and had to get assistance a few times. When we checked out, the front desk staff waived the upcharge for the nicer room because of the trouble we had with the key. It was the right thing to do -- but so many business establishments wouldn't think to do something like that. I really appreciated it. Aside from that, the location is in a gorgeous convenient area, and the hotel is lovely and elegant. The rooms are small -- our friends who we traveled with complained about that -- but for the price and location, this didn't bother me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear khakio

Thank you very much for your kind review! Apologies again for the issue with your door key. However, we are so please to hear that you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and my husband just got back from London. Our stay at the Belgraves was a wedding gift from a dear friend who lives in London.
The area is amazing and the rooms quite nice (we had a King Superior)
It was overall a good experience and the doormen were soooo kind and polite.
The rest of the staff not as such though...
The moment we entered the hotel, before they have even confirmed our reservation we were asked for a credit card. Find the reservation first and THEN ask for the card (our room was prepaid anyways)
And the only thing I asked the concierge was never done. I have booked an airport transfer myself online, and I just asked him to give them a call later to confirm it, and just let me know if it was ok.
All this in written directions. He just didn't do it. He did not bother to give me call.

Not to mention that we never got a little something as newlyweds (this was a wedding gift as I said). Even a complimentary wi-fi would do the job. I didn't ask for freshly cut strawberries.

It is a nice hotel, but what makes a hotel worth its five star reputation is customer service, not the building itself.
Work on that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iFiGZaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear iFiGZaid,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings regarding service. We value your feedback very much and will use it to improve where necessary. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future, we would love to have you back !
Kind regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Belgraves is a very nice hotel located in one of the nicest areas in the city.
The staff is just fabulous!!! extremely warm and welcoming and suuuper friendly!!!
They made our stay very pleasant and helped my boyfriend organize the BEST surprise for our anniversary which turned out into a proposal!!
The room are very nice and comfortable with a nice view on sloane street and cadogan square, especially from the top floors.
The only problem in this hotel is the internet. Not only is it not included in the room rate but it is also a hassle to log into it. You have to log-in every time you go in and out of the hotel and enter a username and password that are sent to your email.
Why make your customers go through this? Even Starbucks offers free Wi-fi nowadays!
I will definitely come back soon though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mira K,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We were thrilled to be part of such an important event! We are currently reviewing our internet offerings and appreciate your feedback with this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon and, congratulations!!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted and addressed by name by the Doorman. We entered the Lobby and were impressed by the design and the great manners of your Bellman. Instead of standing, while waiting, at a counter to check in, we were shown to be seated area where we could wait confortable to be checked in. The Bar is stunning serving great cocktails. The room on the 8th Floor with breathtaking view of the city We stayed for three nights. in that time, all our requests were met by your phenomenal Concierge Maurizio: nothing was too much trouble for him he was very helpful, polite and efficient. The restaurant and the hotel in general was first class but it is the little touches that you get when staying in this hotel that makes your stay so memorable and special. and he really made us feel special and at home!!. Overall this is a fantastic hotel, and will definitlly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0usMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Y0usMe,
Thank you very much for the kind words! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us! Maurizio is a magician in his own right! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Property: The Hari
Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Business Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hari 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hari London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing