We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable london weekend.”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #13 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a sunday night at the Belgraves which turned out to be a great experience. The hotel is just a perfect size the for the staff to be friendly on a more personal level remembering our name etc. The hotel rooms are of good size for london hotels and was spotlessly clean with a well stocked mini bar. The lunch we had and breakfast were very tasty. Overall price wize compared to some more well known 5 star hotels the Belgraves offered good value for money. Only down side a 5-10 min walk to the nearest tube.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Eddieharper,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review! We love to hear that we create a "home away from home" for you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 947 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've just spent the weekend at this hotel and it of a very high standard of room quality and service. We had a room on one of the lower floors and everything was perfect. My only gripe, (already dealt with by the restaurant manager) was the quality of the bread at breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. Its midway between Knightsbridge and Sloane Square tube stations or there are taxis right outside the door.

Room Tip: If you need anything and don't want to pay hotel prices for snacks etc., there's a Waitrose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Lulusmum,
Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback regarding the bread! We have taken it seriously and aim to rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves- A Thompson hotel, very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

That was indeed an excellent experience. You can feel the difference from any other top-of-the-art hotel in London. New built, American style and attitude, very polite crew. I was there on a business trip and asked my wife to join me. The combination wouldn't work in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evangelos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Evangelos B,
Thank you very much for your review! It's nice to hear that our guests can balance a little business with pleasure while their with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here with my friend to celebrate her marriage for a night. The service really was excellent. They couldn't have been more helpful and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate, which was a very nice touch! I actually live in London and we were just staying for a treat. The location is excellent - a very smart and safe area and close to Sloane Sq and Knightsbridge, which is great for shopping. The rooms are small (but then that's London) but they had everything you could need and good toiletries. We had a nice drink in the hotel bar and I would definitely return for a drink there on another occasion. All in all I thought it was very good and good value when compared to some of the other prices of London hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear lowLondon_UK,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We love when locals stop in to take a break from the "norm"! Please check our website for upcoming special events in the Bar. We look forward to lcoming you back to Belgraves - A Thompson hotel very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I knew this hotel before it had been taken over by the Thompson group. It is fantastically located and we were thrilled to be staying there for a 40th reunion with close friends for the weekend.
The main areas as well as the rooms seemed to be very poorly lit, the rooms were small and stifling. Despite the hotel being virtually empty, our request for interconnecting rooms was not granted (and would have cost an extra £200+ per night!). To switch from double beds to twin rooms was considered and upgrade and had to be paid.
In summary, I get the impression that its not doing well, and trying to make as much money from those who book with them to offset losses.
Their manager's people skills was absolutely abysmal! Training definitely needed
I will definitely not be going back there as the only thing it has going for it is location and the Sheraton park Tower is a stone's throw away and much better service and room quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babyloniangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear babyloniangirl,
Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your stay. As we had already upgraded your room two categories on a complimentary basis and were fully sold out in our higher category rooms, we did our absolute best to provide an amazing experience for you. Please know that the team at Belgraves prides itself with providing personalised luxury service and I’m truly sorry if we fell short on this occasion. I do hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Kind regards
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

my husband and I Stayed at the Belgraves for 5 nights early February. At first we found the room dark,the ceilings low,the lighting was a problem.
Also we arrived on a Thursday night to a whiff of smoke coming from the bar...cigar smoke. it seemed to permeate the lobby and beyond.This in a proclaimed non smoking hotel. So it started off not on the best of notes,but good points of the Belgrade won us over. The location is amazing,the staff young and very helpful and accommodating...The room well thought out. The lighting however could be worked on,couldn't just turn on one night table light..hard to get it out of dimmer mode...Frustrating. However,all in all we ended up liking the hotel,the superb helpful upbeat staff and its wonderful location .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear MJ S,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate the feedback very much. We have solved the cigar smell from the terrace with a few operational changes. We are pleased to hear that you found the location worked for you as well. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in london on business for the last few days and it was our anniversary so we got a good deal on a meal at the resturant.

The food was amazing ! And thank you to the staff for being lovely and nice ! We are in our late teens, early twenties and when we go to fancy places the staff normal talk down to us. At the belgraves they did not.

A big thank you to Mathew who emailed the menu over instantly when I rang and organised everything. And to John who was our waiter and was warm and friendly.

We did go to the resturant on a Sunday night and it was empty. But still amazing. If your looking for an amazing resturant this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Alicia W,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice experience in the Restuarant! We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,076 in London
519 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,292 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Business Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $302 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hari 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hari London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing