We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #12 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

my husband and I Stayed at the Belgraves for 5 nights early February. At first we found the room dark,the ceilings low,the lighting was a problem.
Also we arrived on a Thursday night to a whiff of smoke coming from the bar...cigar smoke. it seemed to permeate the lobby and beyond.This in a proclaimed non smoking hotel. So it started off not on the best of notes,but good points of the Belgrade won us over. The location is amazing,the staff young and very helpful and accommodating...The room well thought out. The lighting however could be worked on,couldn't just turn on one night table light..hard to get it out of dimmer mode...Frustrating. However,all in all we ended up liking the hotel,the superb helpful upbeat staff and its wonderful location .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear MJ S,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate the feedback very much. We have solved the cigar smell from the terrace with a few operational changes. We are pleased to hear that you found the location worked for you as well. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
There are newer reviews for The Hari
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 932 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in london on business for the last few days and it was our anniversary so we got a good deal on a meal at the resturant.

The food was amazing ! And thank you to the staff for being lovely and nice ! We are in our late teens, early twenties and when we go to fancy places the staff normal talk down to us. At the belgraves they did not.

A big thank you to Mathew who emailed the menu over instantly when I rang and organised everything. And to John who was our waiter and was warm and friendly.

We did go to the resturant on a Sunday night and it was empty. But still amazing. If your looking for an amazing resturant this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Alicia W,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you had such a nice experience in the Restuarant! We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of February when I took my husband to London for his birthday. It was top class. The hotel is crisp and clean, the bedrooms are very spacious, the decor is superb, the staff were polite and attentive and made the stay even more enjoyable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, I will be staying here again that's for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear irenecampbell,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon!
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful stay we had here in London! Very centrally located, just 3-5 mins walk to Knightsbridge metro, and London cabs are always available throughout our stay. The hotel is tucked away at a quaint corner so there is no noises from traffic, pubs or crowds. There is also a Jeeves dryclean store and a Jeroboams (wine store) just across the road.

We were most impressed by the hotel's wonderful service staff - from the reception, concierge and the housekeeping team. The concierge team (by a very nice gentleman whom I cannot remember his name) helped us with lunch reservations at a very chic restaurant Hakkasan. All the staff was very friendly and could remember our names.

The room was very big and spacious, very well kept and very clean. Comes with Ren bath shower accessories. Shower is in a separate area, without bathtub, pressure is very comfortable. However there is no tea making facilities (ie kettle) unless you request for it.

We stayed in room 602 which offers a good view of the street (yet offering the privacy we want), it had a nice corner couch which faced the street.

The alarm clock doubled up as an iPod/ iPhone (not iPhone 5 though) music player so for music lovers like myself, it was a god-sent that I can play my own playlists.

One other comment that we had was the parking charges- as we drove in from Manchester to London, the parking each day was charged at 45 pounds/ day, which we found it to be exorbitant. However parking charges are expensive in London.

In any case, it was a great stay and we will be sure to stay again the next time we are in London!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffinEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear MuffinEats,
WOW! What a nice review..thank you! The team here prides itself on making each guest experience unique and we love to hear the positive feeback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is funky, modern and very cool. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting London. It's in a great location. We were visiting for a special occasion and champagne was left in our room which was a very thoughtful touch. Loved the window sofas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Charlie_BBP,
Thank you very much! We are thrilled that you had a nice stay.
Hope to have you back with us very soon!
Kind regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

the hotel is located only 1 min walk from sloane street ( harvey nichols / harrods on brompton road ) and sloane square which is close to kings road, both very nice shopping areas. the rooms are rather small but very nicely furnished and perfect for a weekend trip. i love coming to the bar upstairs which is a nice place to have a tea in the afternoon ( their tea selection and pastries are delicious ) or a drink in the evening. for people who are looking for a very lively hotel i would not recommend to stay here because it is rather small compared to the big chain hotels and very cozy. if you are looking for a bar where you can actually enjoy a talk and understand what the other person is saying then you will love this place, if you like a loud and vibrant atmosphere then better not. as i said the hotel lovely if for a short trip and the location top !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Laura B,
Thank you very much!! We are quite fortunate to be close to it ALL. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my second stay at Belgraves, a Thompson hotel in London. It once again exceeded all expectations and made my stay London as lovely as ever.
I prefer small, intimate hotels (am familiar with the Thompson hotels in NYC) or atleast that feel like that with personal attention and accomodation. The staff here is wonderful and always aim to please. The rooms are gorgeous, contemporary yet inviting and warm, from the linens to the wall decor ( we had a great photograph of Julieanne Moore scantily clad) to the bathroom design I love it. The bar dowstairs ( above lobby) is also definitly worth seeing and having a tea or drink. We received an upgrade and had a beautiful view over Chesham place all the way to the Thames and had the privilage of seeing a gorgeous full moon light up the London sky.
Oh, and the "yummiest" eggs Benedict i ever had for roomservice!!! I can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room front of hotel with view towards Thames...the higher the better!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at The Hari, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear sylviaNyc,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We love hearing stories like this from our guests!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards.
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,816 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,072 in London
517 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Business Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $303 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hari 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hari London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing