We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, tiny and unpractical room”
Review of The Hari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hari
Ranked #13 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel is newly opened so the reception, restaurant and rooms are fresh and modern. Nice design and colours.

I had a room with a double bed but would not call it a double room. I'm happy that I was travelling alone as it would not have been space for two people. It was hardly enough space to open the suitcase. The room had a big wardrobe which was a waste of space as the wardrobe doors hit the bed and could not be opened properly.

The room was very badly lit. I ended up removing the lampshade so I could read in the bed. I normally don't have any problems with my sight.

There was no kettle in the room so tea/coffee had to be ordered from room service. I tried it one day and it was delivered quickly.

Nice and well functioning bathroom.

There is no breakfast buffet in the hotel so you have to order bread, cereals etc. from a menu. I'm never in the mood for that in the morning and it would be expensive too, so ended up going to another hotel in the area for breakfast.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff. Very helpsome, nice and friendly. They did whatever they could to make it a pleasant stay.

The hotel is close to Harvey Nichols, Harrod's, Sloane Street and King's Road. Good location for shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luxury_traveller504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 947 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked this hotel for a night's stay for our honeymoon through Hotwire and were blown away by the service we received. The staff in the hotel went out of their way to make sure that we had a great stay and upgraded us free of charge as we were on our honeymoon. We stayed in a deluxe double room which was trendy, clean and comfortable and just what we were looking for. The food in the Hix restaurant was top notch and they even gave us a free cocktail for being newlyweds. Can't fault this hotel for a couple of any age but equally we wouldn't hesitate to take our young daughter there either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

... this hotel has the potential to be much better value for the money. As it is, Belgraves is in one of our favourite parts of London, a beautiful quiet area close to so much that we like, Sloane Square, Saatchi Gallery etc. So Belgraves is a winner in terms of location. It's also a winner in several other areas: the staff are great, and the concierges, one French, one Italian, are superb: they're cheerful, knowledgeable, and go the extra mile to help, in almost any language it seems. The doormen are ubiquitous and attentive, the front desk staff are very helpful. The hotel has been recently renovated, and it's now a high design boutique hotel that features some decent contemporary art and high end finishings: it's stylish and attractive. The bar on the mezzanine is a great oasis for a prosecco at the end of the day, very pleasant.

Now some downsides: we had to do two upgrades to get a room that was big enough for two people. Though cleverly "enlarged" by strategically placed mirrors, the rooms are in fact small, the ceilings are low, and the lighting is insufficient. Most rooms (I think) feature a bay window with plush purple seating, which looks very nice, but they must have stinted on insulation because at night they're a source of cold air and the person sleeping on the bay window side will need an extra blanket. Awkward. The hallways at night can be noisy, with doors slamming etc. Hix, the restaurant attached to the hotel, despite the brand name cred and rep, is not a great plus: the service could be far better and the food, which is OK, is far too expensive for what it is. The coffee is good, however...

A major downside for us was the lack of free in-house wi-fi: the charges for wi-fi access are simply incredible and unjustifiable, especially when you have multiple devices. This is a major downside in this day and age when one needs internet access for business and social connections.

There are upsides and downsides to the Belgraves, but at the end of the day it's too expensive for what you're getting: it could be much better value, and it has the potential to be that. Would we go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timotao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Belgraves' unbeatable location -- with its posh shops and expensive luxury hotels -- makes this hotel's reasonable prices and stylish modern decor a truly lucky find. The hotel, with its 85 rooms, feels like a private (but unstuffy) club, and the neighborhood was a joy to walk around at night -- a leafy, peaceful and still part of central London.
The entrance is flanked by tall walls of lush ferns and greenery and then cantilevered steps to the second floor cocktail lounge, with cozy seating arrangements in a cool luxe setting with inoffensive contemporary art, jewel toned colors and textures. (The only offensive part was the slightly juvenile/uninteresting music.) There is a cozy outdoor terrace in the back. Didn't eat at the gold-toned restaurant but the chef, Mark Hix, has popular restaurants throughout London.
The rooms were refreshingly simple and refined, and the highlight was a big window featuring the picturesque neighborhood below. I slept deeply thanks to the sumptuous bed and pull-down shade and took indulgent longer-than-usual showers in the simple but spa-like bathroom. Again, it wasn't over the top nor fussy but just right.
Room service was prompt and efficient -- and I would have liked more coffee (managed to get about 1.75 cups out of the carafe).
The staff was unobtrusive but friendly and helpful. The best part of the day was the charming greeter with his sharp but casual uniform of plaid and jeans and a giant umbrella to help me start each morning undampened by the London showers. Wonderful new addition to the many options in London.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Belgraves has all the makings of an excellent hotel. Good staff, very well designed rooms and well thought out facilities and ammenities. However, what they were thinking when they designed the lighting in the rooms, is quite beyond understanding. The ambient light, even with all the lamps turned on, makes it impossible to see what you are doing. One also cannot leave the curtains and blinds open in an attempt to make the room brighter with natural light since the room we were assigned was overlooked by at least 5 other rooms. Unfortunately would not stay there again for this reason and urge the management to at least change the upgrade the wattage in the lamps in order to throw more light on the situation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LEGENDCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very good location in the best part of London in Belgravia. Very nice area to walk around and very close to high end shopping (designer stores, Harvey Nichols and Harrods).

The hotel is still very new and both the staff and facilities need to ramp up. There was a problem with air conditioning but it was solved with a temporary solution. Service in the restaurant was pretty slow and waiters seemed to be inexperienced.

But the staff was very friendly in general and they made our stay very enjoyable! We were travelling with 2 young kids and we were also very happy to be upgraded to very comfortable connecting corner rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

we stayed at the belgraves for one night and found the hotel style quirky yet contemporary in design the staff were great and couldnt do enough ...the only thing that needs to be taken into consideration if staying here is the shower ...if you are friends or family i could imagine there would be an embarrassing situation when showering !! the walk in shower is literally a clear glass screen visable in the bedroom apart from that we just loved the whole vibe and decor and those small finishing touches

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,076 in London
519 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,292 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hari

Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England (Formerly Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Business Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $302 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hari 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quintessentially British neighbourhood of Belgravia, The Hari is moments away from Sloane Square, Knightsbridge and Victoria, connecting guests to London's most popular shopping districts, sites and iconic landmarks. All 85 designer bedrooms, of which 14 are luxury suites, emanate the distinctive modern glamour created by British interior designer Tara Bernerd. Complete with plush velvet window seats, bespoke wooden flooring, Italian marble bathrooms and views of London's skyline, our sophisticated rooms ignite the feeling of a private residence - a home away from home. Our social spaces exude eclectic cool, from the members club style bar to the secret garden terrace with a window to the stars. A contemporary Italian restaurant embellished with traditional warm hospitality and humble cuisine completes The Hari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hari London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing