We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely coffee, shame about the shop itself.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Row Coffee

New Row Coffee
Ranked #206 of 832 Coffee & Tea in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee, shame about the shop itself.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Came here before seeing a matinee for a quick coffee + snack. Lovely staff - was actually only one guy holding the fort alone + was clearly snowed under but still remained friendly + very helpful. Coffee was good - for once, an iced latte that actually tasted of coffee + not a milkshake. I had a croissant too. My friend had an Americano + a slice of caramel cheesecake which he said was really tasty.
Unfortunately I had to knock the review down to 3 stars rather than 4 because of how small the shop is - only 2 small tables + a bench outside. Would have preferred somewhere where we could sit in comfort with our food + drink. Prices were reasonable - the same you'd probably spend in a coffee chain store.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20SEB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Well roasted coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We popped in here for a coffee after finding out about it on the london coffee guide.

It is a very small coffee shop with a few seats. They serve great coffee which is not too bitter or over roasted which is good for espressos or americanos which is what we had.

They have a variety of cakes on offer which we could see them make there in the coffee shop. We also saw them make their own almond milk (first come first serve until it runs out - according to a wee sign in the shop).

There are unfortunately no toilets.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great (especially in covent garden!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Been regularly, they do an excellent almond milk latte - very tasty, and they make the milk themselves, highly recommended.

Good food and sandwiches, and especially given the central, covent garden location, it is well priced, the staff are really friendly, and there is usually a seat too!
Soooooo much better than the other, overpriced options around there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small cafe with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I have been long looking for a place at Covent Garden where I can pop in for a coffee and it seems I have found it. I have been here now for a couple of times so met different staff and all have been really friendly. The espresso is really strong and very tasty, just the way I like it. There is really nice food on offer too but you have to be lucky if you want to have it there because it is a tiny place. Very nice atmosphere though, it is indeed a gemstone of the area!

Helpful?
Thank Istvan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee quality and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I stopped by NRC on a busy day. No seating but a great coffee and cake. The espresso was an exceptional artisan well-brewed coffee, tasty and not bitter.
Definitely top quality, also with excellent small cakes. Well done

Helpful?
1 Thank Corsica30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Row Coffee also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to New Row Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing