We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited 45 Mins For A Table - Worth It!”

Wahaca Covent Garden
Ranked #346 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: The original and still the best! As popular now as the day it opened, Wahaca Covent Garden collides the heat of the Mexican market with all the coolness of London's trendy West End, in an explosion of colour, texture and noise. Enjoy the funky music and lively surroundings in the bar while you wait to be seated.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waited 45 Mins For A Table - Worth It!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Don't be tempted to ditch the queue and go to Nandos next door! Wait it out and you will be treated to a selection of delectable shareable dishes.

The dessert is pricey for all you get (3 churros and chocolate) but a nice surprise is that the bottled water comes in a large bottle but is cheap compared to other restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CautionaryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    628
    161
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A really good meal!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went on Friday for an early evening meal. It was our first time at Wahaca and we will definitely be going again, The food was excellent and the staff efficient, helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank infojingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Set in a basement with a very cool atmosphere. The food was faultless and very reasonably priced. Will be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k_leeds_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tacos with a twist”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, there was a wait, but don't let that put you off; this is a no reservations place -you will get in. Mexican cuisine is the basis for the menu, but each selection had a modern twist i.e. cactus, guajillo oil, smoke. The plates are served in tapas -type portions, so we were able to try a few of the plates without overdoing it. The cuisine was fresh and original - this trendy restaurant was a fun lunch time stop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHawk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely FRESH food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Couldn't fault the Mexican cuisine. It had promised fresh food and it delivered. We definitely didn't get any tinned or jarred guacamole or salsa, it was fresh, evidently made on the day - as were the NACHOS! We didn't have to wait as we got there about midday but the queue was massif when we left.

It was really good. Recommend the tacos. Only complaint was that it was a bit cramped. It's a bit wagamama-esque which was nice as it added to the street-food feel but we could have shared our food with the people next to us easily. Which is wrong.

Lovely touch at the end, they give you some chilli seeds with your bill that you can plant at home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twobusinapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahaca Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Wahaca Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing