We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pub in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tea Clipper - CLOSED

The Tea Clipper
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was surprise by the atmosphere in that pub, old and new are a perfect cocktail.
The food, tipical british, club snadwich, pie, eggs benedict, were perfectly cooked, the beer was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldwhitetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
264 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Average Food, Nice Service, Great Location ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We wandered in here because someone told us it's the closest location to Harrods to go get some fish and chips. The food was a few pounds more than usual probably because of the location, but overall it was decent. Nothing spectacular, but they did have crispy fries, which was nice.

The 2 guys serving us were really nice. They were accommodating even though it was busy and gave a coloring kit thing to my neice to keep her busy. Totally unexpected!

Helpful?
Thank CrabisGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst food I've eaten in a long time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

To be fair, we only had a sharing platter to see us on until dinner, but I'm almost positive that 90% of what was on the plate was purchased from Iceland. I don't often write reviews but after spending £12 on a plate of re-heated frozen crap I was angry enough to. It's disgraceful that in a time when increasing competition is encouraging most places to improve both the variety and quality of the food they offer, this place thinks it can get away with serving up this junk. Plus staff members were unfriendly. Nice location though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna6124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
1,141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
“typical pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

very good location, just 100 yards of crowded and noisy Brompton Road, in a smaller, quiter and nicer street

the venue itself is nicer than the menu, with typical pub choice

main merit, a good rendez-vous place in otherwise touristic area with strangly few bars

Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Fairly average pub, coasting on its position”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This isn't a bad place. It's just off the main drag, however, and this is perhaps the problem. Pubs can typically be judged on their clientele, the proportion of regulars, the decor, the staff and the food. In this case I think that about 90% of their raison d'être is the fact that they are near Knightsbridge and 'that' shop. One half of the bar area is given over to a loud TV showing sports, along with a fruit machine and a quiz machine. The locals/regulars were glued to their bar stools, watching football. The other half is marginally more quiet. The piped music isn't very relaxing though. Perhaps they're trying to speed people up to get the next lot in? The staff, I must say, were lovely - very helpful and, in at least one case, very attractive. The menu was very reduced, which is usually a good thing, with burgers and sharing platters and the like. We had the mezze platter, which is good for early evening snackery to keep you going after too much time in That Shop. Other clientele were mostly shoppers, young trendy folks, and Americans. In fact this is perhaps the thing - visitors may think this is precisely what an English pub looks like. I would beg to differ. I think it's a bit dingy and a bit run down and not particularly well cared for. They are coasting on their location. I think with a little bit of work this could be quite a place to come to...although if the last review I read is true, they're selling it anyway!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LSO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Clipper also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing