We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited on 15th dec”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bloomsbury Theatre
Ranked #807 of 1,651 things to do in London
Attraction details
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visited on 15th dec”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice venue, good legroom, great views from row E, coffee and snacks not overpriced, decent free parking on a Sunday, will look to go again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Saw Dean Freidman here last Saturday and was reasonably pleased with the venue.
Easy to find, intimate with good seating and acoustics.
Fair prices at bar but poor selection of snacks.
The bar also opened just 30 minutes before the show which is a shame as there is very little else to do in the vicinity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank royTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Intimate Theatre”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited the theatre to see the first David Brent gig, and the theatre was the perfect setting. Comedy and music gigs are always better in small venues and this was no exception.
The theatre itself was very easy to find, and was about a 5 minute walk from Euston Square tube station. I didn't buy any drinks inside so cannot comment on the prices. The gents bathroom on the upper floor was quite bizarre as it was a very large area with only (I think) 2 toilets and two urinals inside: you'd think the space room could have accommodated more facilities, but hey ho, a minor quibble.
The seating was comfortable and offered a good view of the stage, we sat in the stalls in Row F, but such is the size of the venue that I think all seats would offer a decent view. Sound quality was good too.
All in all a great little venue (if perhaps in need of a little TLC in places), far preferable to large theatres/ arenas most artists choose to play, and one which I would be happy to return to in the future, (although being from the north east it won't be become my local anytime soon!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skeletonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenderry
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We saw the West London School of Dance perform The Nutcracker here on 8th December. It was hard to believe that the performers were primarily aged between 8 and 15 with a few guest artists. The children were so disciplined it was impressive and yet their artistic talent was never undermined. Their delight in their art was palpable and a delight. There were approximately 200 students in the group and every child got the opportunity to perform on stage.

The theatre was perfect for the occasion. It was full of charmed parents, enthusiastic past pupils and invited guests like ourselves. We loved every minute and found the theatre to be accessible and the seating was very comfortable.

The fact that most of the back stage work including make up is carried out by the staff and past pupils reflected the ethos of the School which is inclusive, encouraging and empowering. It was a complete pleasure and a perfectly chosen venue. Thanks to everyone who made it a super evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank contactcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Go to this venue, an intimate delight”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely, small theatre 5 minutes walk from the Euston station, about 15 minutes walk from Kings Cross. Regularly has great comedy acts. I caught Festival of the Spoken Nerd: thoroughly recommended - but I've been to the venue a number of times: including a George's Marvellous medicine with the kids. The winter Carols for Godless People is a must see.

No such thing as a poor view. Sound is good (given its small). Staff are lovely. If you're in the circle and need the toilet - go downstairs, back into the foyer, then go the basement - much quicker than standing in a huge queue. Bars are typically in the theatre (and do a nice bottled real ale). For pre-match entertainment, pay a visit to somewhere like the Euston tap.

A critique would be fees for cards on *every* ticket, but at least its not huge. Tends to be nicely priced £10-£25 depending on the act, possibly less.

Would always recommend this venue always have a great time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bloomsbury Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Bloomsbury Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing