We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Thirty Six”
Review of Thirty Six

Thirty Six
Reserve with OpenTable
Thirty Six is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,585 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: In 2012 THIRTY-SIX was awarded three rosettes for culinary excellence. Indeed, Nigel's cuisine is some of the best modern British food you will find in the region. Interestingly, the secret of his excellence is the balance between classical flavours meticulously prepared, and a contemporary flair to produce both stunning presentation and taste.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch at Thirty Six”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had lunch at Thirty Six yesterday with 6 friends. The food and service were excellent. We chose from the set lunch menu - £28 for 3 courses, including tea or coffee. Wine was reasonably priced. I would definitely go back and perhaps try the dinner menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    44
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took a family member here for a birthday meal. Took advantage of an deal offering 3 courses and a glass of bubbly, and was very surprised to find each course was bookended by something exquisite - a vegetable soup with sage foam and the citrus and tequila sorbet palette cleanser were the highlights. 3 courses effectively became 7 - a very pleasant surprise. Lovely atmosphere, but surprisingly quiet (although we dined relatively early on a tuesday). All the food was great, but my black fig turnover with goats cheese ice cream and sherry vinegar jelly stole the show. Top marks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality, subtle cuisine, superb service.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I lunched my oldest friend here for his 87th birthday. We've been lunching together regularly in London restaurants for nearly half a century and we are fussy old men. However, although we had heard good reports of Duke's Hotel for many years neither of us had ever visited it. Well, we shall be going back again, and again. And here is why - the restaurant, Thirty Six, is indeed first rate; the decor cheering and refined; the service at table attentive, properly anticipatory and quiet - and the menu - the food? Well, as my old friend said: "it's delightfully subtle". He meant that the dishes are a delight to the eye (imaginatively arranged and presented), delicious, full of complementary flavours and although portions may look small they are more than sufficient. A triumph for the chef de cuisine, in our opinion. And I may add that the price of three courses at lunch for £29 is very low - I wonder how they make a profit at that price given the high quality and variety of ingredients in each dish. I found the general ambience of the spotlessly clean and well-polished Duke's Hotel to be quiet and comforting and the well-dressed helpful, cheerful staff are an asset to the house. Were I a rich man I would move in and live there for the rest of my life! I mean that - it's really is a quite unique house, in my experience. Only one flaw - I just wish they did not play "musak" in Thirty Six - even at a low level, which it was - it is not necessary, I think.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JSMR893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Michelin style”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have a lunch here during my stay in Duke Hotel. It is very bright restaurant, with friendly and helpful staff.

I had 2 set menu. I got artichoke salad, with morel, and beef. Both were excellent in taste, and service. the meet was absolutely good prepared in french style, and served with mashed potato, and mushroom's souse.

the place is good for business meeting and family visit to have a leisurely dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We started the evening with great cocktails in the Duke's bar upstairs. The restaurant was elegantly decorated. The service was very good without being intrusive. On arrival we were served lovely canapes. The meal was outstanding. The only downside was that the restaurant was quiet. despite being a Satuday evening. Nigel Mendham and the restaurant deserve more customers, though I hope this doesn't adversely affect food and service. We will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirty Six also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Thirty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing