We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Rip Off!!!”

The New Cross House
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Cross House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,713 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The pub is set in the heart of New Cross equidistant from New Cross & New Cross Gate stations. Our close proximity to Goldsmiths University gives us a vibrant crowd every day of the week. Our garden and stables give us an outside space which is in our opinion the best in the area. If you do visit us be sure to check them out. We have 17 beers & ciders available on draught, 16 in bottles and a fantastic selections of seasonally changing wines, so whatever your taste we'll have something to keep you happy. Our menu is built up around burgers, hotdogs & pizza but we always keep a few healthy option on for those that are calorie counting. Try to leave space for pudding as our dessert calzones and snickers mess are (to quote one very satisfied customer) "better than sex".
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total Rip Off!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I won't recommend this place to my worst enemy!
The food is rubbish and the drinks are overprice. They charge as a One Michelin Star restaurant for a service that is worst than a Chinese take away! (with all due respect for the Chinese take away!!!)
Is a proper rip off!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroPubco, Manager at The New Cross House, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are sorry you had a bad experience at New Cross House. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and customer service. We want every customer to leave happy, and apologise we didn't reach those standards on your visit. We hope you will visit again in the future and we will do our best to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    12
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Free!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

How many places serve you soda with fresh lime and charge nothing! A lovely, unexpected gesture. I was charmed! Very gracious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyJPally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza and cool quirky place”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Just discovered this place after having recently moved to the south east. Cool pub with a sunny beer garden and a fabulous tree house. The wood fired pizzas are delicious. Staff are friendly and you can order at your table if you download the bar pass app. Hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank babyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub and food!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this place. Great atmosphere. Excellent service. Wide choice of food. Burgers excellent! Would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive for New Cross”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is one of the best places to go in New Cross. Although the prices are a bit expensive compared to other New Cross pubs and restaurant, the place is certainly more elegant and cosy than other pubs around. The food menu is rather limited, they do not have a lot of options. This place is a good option for locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Cross House also viewed

 

Been to The New Cross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing