We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“italiano delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giuseppe's Ristorante Italiano

Giuseppe's Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Giuseppe's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16,450 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Southwark
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“italiano delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved the atmosphere and lively music...... food was too a very high standard, with generous portion sizes..... would suit families for an afternoon lunch and parties, couples or families with older children (8+) at night...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    100
    59
    29
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went here for an early evening meal (around 6 pm) on a Monday night, there was only a couple of other people in. We were welcomed in and offered a table and drinks. The food was excellent, plentiful and made to order. Other comments are the cost, we feel it was more expensive than other Italian restaurants we have eaten at in n London. Also the atmosphere was not great, though more people whilst we were eating which improved this. We would go again if staying in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dire beyond belief”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Probably up there with one of the worst meals I have ever eaten.When we arrived it was pretty empty and the staf would not leave us alone constantly asking if we wanted more drinks even though we hadnt finished what we had.There is very little choice if you want just a glass of wine and the glass my friend order was not good.We had garlic bread which tasted of nothing and sardines in batter with spinach and brocoli.The sardines were hideous,cold,sloppy batter and tasting very fishy.As they had been butterflied they were full of bones that you couldn't pull the meat away from and I gave up after a couple of mouthfuls. The desert menu is all bought in nothing fresh made and we declined.Seconds later the bill was slapped in front of us and we were told the table was needed and we had to leave.The service was added on so we deducted that and paid cash.We were called back and told we hadn't paid the bill,I pointed out that service is optional and without asking why we had chosen not to pay it the guy stomped off.I would not recommend this place to anyone wanting good Italian food or any form of service.The singer is also terrible and something the restaurant should do without immediatley

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdean1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge portions of good food, slow service let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Starters:
Stuffed garlic mushrooms were fantastic - one portion was two huge portobello mushrooms.
Calamari well cooked, again a very generous portion only let down was the tartare sauce which was obviously a commercial brand rather than homemade.
Main courses:
Taglieatelle al Salmone - well cooked, tasty, plenty of salmon. Huge bowl.
Veal Milanese - looked like two courses on one plate.

Only criticism was the service.
We arrived when the restaurant was busy, but were quickly and helpfully shown to a table. Menus and a drinks order were taken quickly, and drinks arrived without a problem.
Then took three "will be with you in a moment" responses from waitress before our order was taken, which was enough time for the drinks to have been finished, so not an insignificant wait.
There was a similar delay in getting the bill and paying.
Slow service let the place down, otherwise would have been 4 stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Making a reservation? Ask for Don..?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend booked this restaurant for 6 of us and when we arrived we were told there was no booking, and in future if we wanted to book we should ask for Don! We had to stand at the bar and were packed like sardines, especially when a large group were seated/ squeezed on the table right behind us. Not a good start.

We were seated in our own booth about 10 minutes, which was good as it was really starting to fill up and was getting very lively. Service after this was speedy and friendly, and the food did not take long to arrive. I had bolognese and the pasta was al dente, which was brilliant.

During the meal the whole restaurant was treated to a guy singing Sinatra in a heavy Italian accent which was very entertaining and added to the atmosphere, which at one point became hilariously rowdy... that may have been our table's fault. He even took a request!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blaqkgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Giuseppe's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing