We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central London B&B”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #669 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Central London B&B”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was acceptable. I had a single room almost immediately behind reception, so didnt see much of the hotel facilities. Location was great - just a 15 minute stroll to Marble Arch and some excellent restaurants. The room was hot and not the best nights sleep as a result.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a single room , very long and thin and with windows looking over a service area/atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    73
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
32
51
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

this hotel is perfectly placed for central London., you are close to everything. the room was clean although a bit small. the bed very uncomfortable so beware if you have any kind of back trouble. the worst thing about this hotel is the climb to your room. you may be lucky & get a 1st floor but we were on the 4th & there is no life. 81 steps to walk up every night. not ideal when you have been sight-seeing round London all day.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is so convenient for Oxford Street, The Wallace Collection and a 101 other attractions. It was as a previous reviewer stated immaculately clean. I wish the young man on reception had been properly trained as he didn't know where to find the paperwork. Having given me my room key I traipsed up 6 flights of stairs only to find he had not given me my bathroom key so all the way down again and then up again. Breakfast was fine - had only the Continental option but it was more than adequate and the coffee good and I am fussy about my coffee. I would stay here again. I booked through Laterooms and got a much better rate than the hotel advertises. My bathroom was up another flight - private to my room I had the key (eventually) a weird arrangement but not really a problem. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with bathroom en suite to avoid steep stairs in the middle of the night and one at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was a real find. It was immaculately clean, nice quiet location and brilliantly located for a shopping / museum trip. Lots of places to eat nearby, close to the end of Oxford Street - couldn't be more pleased and will use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeWilliams1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel after an evening out in London with colleagues. Check in was quick and courteous. I was place in room no.1 - this was right between the reception desk and the front door. It got a bit noisy in the morning but I was up anyway to go to work so didn't bother me too much. The hotel is immaculately clean and the bed was comfortable. The room had all expected amenities including tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. The continental breakfast was varied, plentiful and tasty and service overall was friendly. Check out again was quick an courteous.
I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend this place for a quick, cheap-ish nights accommodation in central London.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed on top floor, im pretty fit but knackered me out going up there! Room was clean, bathroom was across hall and also clean. All staff were particularly nice and very friendly and continental breakfast was good also. Would stay again as very good value for money @ £79 per night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked hotel as it was close to function that evening. Arrived only to be told that they were waiting for a cancellation and had overbooked. Shipped off to another hotel nearby, but further from function.

Unimpressed. Whats the point of taking contact details with a booking if you dont use them to contact people in circumstances such as this.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#734 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#304 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#416 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#623 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#55 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#314 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George
St George Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing