We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #179 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

As a chain I didn't have overalls high expectations for this hotel however I was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was clean, sleek and modern with very friendly staff.

The rooms were nicely decorated and clean with plenty of space. The bathrooms were well designed and faultless.

This elevators in the hotel were quite slow and the buffet breakfast was empty upon arrival although I was early down.

The location of the hotel was perfect for my needs however should you wish to stay more in the heart of London this probably isn't the most ideal location. I took a train, several tubes and another train to reach the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Elle-M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear ElleM0607, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read we exceeded your expectations during your stay and I hope you will consider us for any future stays in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 852 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Easy check in with friendly staff, easy to find within easy walking distance of Algate East or Whitechaple Tube (although Whitechapel wasnt working during the weekend because of engineering work). The room was large and spacious with a sleek design, impressive for their standard room although their were a few marks and chips off things like the door you expect these in heavily used hotels. I admit im a light sleeper so the noise of the hotel did wake me a few times, walls didnt seem the thickest but thought a new hotel may have been able to cancel these out. Very good stay though and i would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageJo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for passing on your views following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you had a very good stay and would return which is always nice to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Didn't really know what to expect prior to arriving, but was pleasantly surprised. The staff was warm and very accommodating. The room was exactly what we wanted it to be. Good size space, and the bathroom was perfect. Lovely shower - although the short shower doors were a little bizarre. The breakfast was really good, and I would definitely recommend that. Everything seemed quite new and clean. The location was perfect - less than 10 minutes into central London via the DLR. Would probably gravitate to stay here if traveling to London in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure that you specify for a non-smoking room if that's your preference. Get breakfast added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bda_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking to time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us. Its always nice to hear from our guests who have a great stay and would return in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

New hotel in the East End near to Petticoat Lane, Brick Lane, Spitalfields , Aldersgate, Whitechapel Art Gallery, Tower of London...and the River.
We did lots of wandering and exploring using the underground and the River boats. Went down to Greenwich on the boat...well worth it.., especially Greenwich Market, the Cutty Sark and the Maritime Museum.
Comfortable quiet room to rest in, friendly staff very good full cooked breakfast. Balli on reception was very welcoming.
Had a wonderful meal at Efes restaurant opposite the hotel. Atmospheric busy family friendly...you might need to book...we were lucky..there was a long queue when we left.
Will use it as a base again in the future

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us. Your feedback is great to hear and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Modern, clean and upmarket hotel. Clearly part of a chain but the staff make a difference which is difficult to believe. It's one of the friendliest and welcoming places I have stayed in for a long time

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Its always great to hear from our guests especially those who rate the hotel as one of the friendliest and welcoming places they have stayed in. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here during the weekend and we were very impressed. The hotel was clean and efficiently run. Our room was a good size and everything in it positioned exactly where we needed it to be, such as mirrors, lamps and plug points. The room was quiet and we enjoyed 2 nights good sleep. The breakfasts on both mornings which were buffet style were excellent with good quality ingredients and plenty of choice. The staff were very professional but still friendly and helpful. We have to say that they were an example of some of the best service we have ever experienced in this country and were a real credit to the hotel. We shall certainly return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear MaryM, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and the great comments about the team! They take a lot of pride in the service they give and its always nice to hear the feedback! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel was great, we only stayed for the weekend but were really impressed with it.

1) The rooms with good sized & very clean
2) The rooms were quiet- couldn't hear other residents or doors slamming etc
3) The staff were amazing esp at Breakfast! The team couldn't do enough for you and were so polite, quick & friendly. Definately made us feel welcome and offered a great smiley start to the day
4) Bed was comfy too- only thing was it could have been a bit bigger.

Although only about a 10 minute walk from Whitechapel tube station, the walk didn't feel the safest of walks. Felt like the walk was in quite a "rough" area which didn't make us feel that safe coming back later in the evening, but was fine in the day with lots of people walking around due to the hospital near by.

Was good to have a tescos nearby to help stock up on our drinks for a travels for the day too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutley_sanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Mutley_sanj, I'm pleased you were impressed with the hotel during your weekend with us and thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
The Whitechapel Hotel
The Whitechapel Hotel
#621 of 1,081 in London
260 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#180 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,081 in London
3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
The Westbridge Hotel
#96 of 1,081 in London
1,518 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#310 of 1,081 in London
4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $95 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing