We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel close to DLR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #197 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to DLR”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Hotel is about 7 minute walk from Shadwell Station on the DLR. Easy to find. Room was very clean and well decorated. will stay there again, as much better priced than some of those in more central london. Didnt eat an evening meal but breakfast was good. Staff also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dont get the hotel to book you a cab, our experience was whilst the Cab was a nice car the driver th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinalbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    342
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
89
261
39
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a well seasoned traveler and stayed over for 2 nights recently. Lovely rooms, but a few teething troubles with noisy plumbing. Our complaint was dealt with immediately. Management ensured our every need was catered for. Special praise for the breakfast room Manager and the quality of the meals. Nothing was too much trouble.

After checkout from the hotel some luggage was overlooked and left in a black cab. The cabbie immediately contacted the hotel, management once again came to our rescue and assisted in every way possible well beyond the call of duty to ensure we were reunited with our luggage. Matthew very special thanks, we look forward to seeing you again on our next trip, but will not be surprised if you have been promoted and gone onto higher things, as you so deserve.

Room Tip: Higher floors at back may not have a great view,( as this area has yet to be upgraded), but very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluekanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was very pleased to read you had a great stay and the team, especially Matthew, made it a smooth one. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for four nights while doing some sight-seeing in London. I chose this hotel because, while not very close to the central sights, was better-priced and close to transit stations.

The room was very clean and modern and the only outside noise that made it through the glass were ambulance sirens from the nearby hospital. Considering I wear earplugs at night anyway (since my travel partner snores), this didn't really bother me.

A lot of people complain about the neighborhood, and I have to agree to an extent. On the walk from the hotel to Whitechapel station, I didn't feel very safe and there were posters up warning of crime in the area (Yikes!). On the walk from the hotel to Shadwell station though, most of the walk is through an open market that felt much safer. After the earlier experience with the walk to Whitechapel, we decided that we would use Shadwell to get where we needed to go (the first Shadwell overground stop is Whitechapel, so we just switched there for Underground if needed). There are also very few restaurants in the area, which was disappointing since I didn't get to try out the variety of foods I was hoping to on this trip.

The hotel does have a Starbucks, which was excellent most of the time we tried it. I can't remember the guy's name, but the one who made our drinks most of the time was very friendly.

We tried out the hotel's restaurant one night while with a friend who was visiting us from Germany. The food was mediocre at best and was overpriced for what it was. Plan to eat dinner before coming back to the hotel for the night to avoid this disappointment.

The worst issue I had with the hotel staff was really the refusal to call an official black cab for us. The hotel has a 'partnership' with another cab company and kept making excuses as to why they wouldn't/couldn't book a black cab. So, we had to do it ourselves from the room and then pay a charge for using the phone (even though it was a local call).

In the end, I'd recommend this hotel if you are traveling light and don't mind spending 30 minutes or more in combined walking and public transport to get you to main tourist areas. If you have a lot of luggage though and want to be closer to central London, you might want to book elsewhere. While the hotel you get might be more expensive, you'll likely save on cab fare (one-way from our hotel to Paddington was over $50 USD).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read you found the room clean, modern and of a good size however I was concerned to read your comments regarding your experience in the Restaurant and with the team. I have already spoken to the teams to address the issues you raised and hope they will not affect others going forward. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will consider using the hotel the next time you need accommodation in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is nearby white Chaple and very convient to many sights in London such as the Tower of London and St. Paul's Cathedral. My room was very nice and spacious. Amira from the reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandy2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and for highlighting Amira as someone who stood out during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I hired out the Victoria and St Katharine's Function Suites for a wedding reception for 120 people on Sat 28th Sept. For this number of people the function rooms were perfect in terms of size and in it's design. The level of support provided to us was exceptional from the very beginning and was recognised by my family and even guests. This included:
- finding a cost effective and substantial food and drinks package based on our numbers
- showing flexibility with all the extra things we had requested either from the hotel or what we wanted to bring in
- supporting us on the day, with a smile throughout and creating an environment where nothing was too much trouble. We all know this is rare, at least certainly from all parties involved in the successful running of an event - managers, catering staff & front of house staff.

A competitive group rate was secured for the rooms and we were given Executive rooms on the night which were spacious, clean and contemporary. Nice touches with the free of charge water, chocolate bars (:-)) and that week's magazines to read through - Economist, Time, The Week!

The food was excellent and substantial for the number of people. Everyone was very impressed especially with the "Fish & Chips" and "Mini Steak Pies".

Special thanks must go to the General Manager James, Shariah, Magda, our events coordinator Nicola and Fiona Lee whose amazing relationship skills brought us to the venue in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Payne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. It was a really pleasure to be able to assist in making the evening special for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights, granted it was a bit out of the way but the room was fabulous couldn't have been better. The breakfast was one of the best we have had. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was on floor 6 but that wasn't a problem as no road noise.Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (6) as there was no road noise or any noise from the function room on floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumtoMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your two night stay with us. I was very pleased to read you had a great stay and we helped make your special occasion even better. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very new hotel and has all that is good about Holiday Inns - typical of the brand, smart, clean, helpful staff. Our room was an Executive one and very good in all respects. We had a snack lunch which was very tasty in the small restaurant/bar,.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk (through a lively market) from Shadwell station (DLR & London Over ground). The area has a very diverse mix of ethnic groups and must be the centre of the clothing retail trade in London. There isn't much in the way of restaurants nearby but there are a couple of supermarkets.
Commercial Road can be very busy so ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Commercial Road can be very busy so ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your last stay with us. I was very pleased to read your review and to see you have a great experience with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing