We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vividity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #179 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Well here we are in a haven in the middle of what I think is a very colourful part of London, it was difficult to establish the environs or the identity of the city but the market pathway leading to the hotel from the nearby Shadwell Station was certainly vivid in quality and texture and easily negotiable. This pathway leads eventually to a newish building with a reception which was manned by very capable and polite staff. The room was upgraded to executive, giving it an extra 3 square feet. THe bed was excellent, the environs very quiet but lacked cosiness in the extra space. Bathroom is small but apt. I did not try the restaurant but had one drink in the bar. The drinks are far too expensive as is the breakfast and the white house wine I sampled was foul! However the lobby area is bright and cheerful and the staff make up for the "sadness" of the area.

Room Tip: not the most accessible areas but fine if you are independent, confident and have some time to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and the team delighted you with their service. I will take on board your comments regarding the price of the bar and breakfast and will share them with some of the relevant people in Holiday Inn. Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 852 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This gem at London's East End is highly recommendable! We have absolutely nothing to complain about Holiday Inn at Commercial Road. The room was superb in every way possible, the staff was kind and helpful, and the hotel was very modern and welcoming. The hotel is a bit far from central London, but the Whitechapel area is very interesting with it's many different cultures, run-down houses, and hundreds of curry restaurants. It isn't posh and snobbish Chelsea, but a neighbourhood of lively, charming, and open-minded people. Brick Lane is only a short walk away, Whitechapel station a five minute walk, and Whitechapel Gallery to minutes down the road. Tip: Try the vegetarian curries and naan-breads at Needoo Grill and Tayyabs. The best I've ever had, and dinner for two is a bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We stayed at 424, which was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments and the recommendation. Its always great to here feedback like yours and to know you had a fantastic experience while you were with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A brand new Holiday Inn in the garment district of London's East End. Spacious, well appointed rooms with flat screen tv, ironing board and iron, safe etc as standard. Five minutes walk from Shadwell DLR station or an £8 taxi fare from the Tower stations. Such friendly and accommodating staff - great ambassadors for their brand.

If I had two slight quibbles it would be the lack of wardrobe space and cupboards in the room. Great for one but insufficient for two. And you need a mortgage for the bar - which I suppose is par for the course at any major hotel.

This is not the nicest area of London so you may want to take this into account if you're planning late night arrival or walks.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I was pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the team here to be friendly and accommodating. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I already stayed at this hotel in November last year and was really satisfied and therefore chose this hotel again for a one night stay. It is located a bit further from the city center but easyly reachable with the Tube (Whitehall station) and also with the Bus #15 from Tower Hill or Trafalgar Square. Also have to mention that there is a Starbucks in the hotel and a Tesco Express a bit further opposite Commercial Road.
The hotel itself was very clean and we got an upgrade to a nice Executive room upon arrival (since I have the Platinum membership). The staff was very friendly and helpful, we had the small issue that the previous guest left the inroom safe locked so we had to call the front desk and ask them to fix it, and it was immediately fixed.
All in all I was very satisfied with the hotel and would consider choosing this one again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laszlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your latest stay with us. I was pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice new hotel, great rooms, efficient staff and very good breakfast (they obviously use good ingredients - some HI's cut corners on this). They recognise Priority Club membership abd as a Platinum member I was upgraded without asking.
The one minus I think is the lack of a car-park. There is a small privately owned one behind the hotel but it seems to close about 6.00pm so it's no good if you need to go out in the evening. There is off street parking on meters that are free from about 6.30pm to around 8.30 am but it is pot luck.
DLR station is about a five minute walk and Whitechapel and Aldgate are around 8 minutes away. All in all a hotel I would be more than happy to stay at again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to note you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with areas such as breakfast standing out to you. Unfortunately, being located close to central London space is at a premium and as such we were unable to create a Car Park at the hotel. The car park you mention can be accessed throughout the day and night with a little prior notice and is something my team would be happy to help facilitate for any future stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Not one of my usual haunts when in London but decided to give this a go as it gave pretty good access to the Olympic Stadium.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Whitechapel underground station. Reception is bright and welcoming and the staff at check-in were friendly, efficient and very helpful. Rooms are bigger than expected and have all of those amenities you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty available; hot food was hot and replenished regularly. The only down side was a failure to offer tea or coffee. I had to go and find a member of staff to ask for this 15 minutes after starting to eat.

We also used the bar area for a drink when returning to collect bags where the staff were very attentive and helpful.

Overall, a great hotel in a good area with great rooms and facilities. I would definitely visit again if I needed to be in that part of London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found the selection of food available at breakfast good however please accept my apologise for our failure to offer you tea or coffee. I will discuss this with the Breakfast team to address any challenges and ensure we offer to all our guests in a timely manner in the mornings. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon and once again thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have just had my second stay at this hotel. Have stayed in Holiday Inns and other IHG branded hotels in England and in Europe, but this one is really a flagship hotel for the brand. The service, from the minute of arrival, is top notch - friendly, warm welcome, efficient check in and very comfortable rooms. The restaurant is very good, food piping hot and well presented, the staff are attentive without being intrusive and the ambience is peaceful and calm. The bar staff are quick to ensure that the high level of service is continued after dinner with swift, friendly drinks service.
The hotel is immaculately clean in all the areas we used. We had three lovely days in London made excellent by the hotel and its wonderful staff. Gerard and Willington - just stay just as you are - you are a real example of what hotel staff should be like. Well done to all!
Will be back in a couple of months. Will not stay anywhere else in London now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckylady21england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. As General Manager I was very pleased to read that both Gerard and Willington exceeded your expectations and left you with a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
The Whitechapel Hotel
The Whitechapel Hotel
#621 of 1,081 in London
260 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#180 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,081 in London
3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
The Westbridge Hotel
#96 of 1,081 in London
1,519 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#310 of 1,081 in London
4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $95 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing