We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #197 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice modern and new Holiday inn. We had a good stay here. Minor niggle is that the double bed could have been bigger and there was a problem with the breakfast. It started late and there were many items missing. However, staff recognised the problem, apologised about the staffing difficulty and refunded. So, apart from that all went well. I liked the hotel restaurant, if you order their specials, it's good value and quality. It's convenient for buses to travel into Central London.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the lateness of breakfast that you mention. We did have some challenges on the morning in question which delayed us and resulted in a few items missing from our offering. I hope this did not inconvenience you too much and can assure you it was a one off situation. Thank you for the feedback on the size of our double beds, for future reference our Executive Rooms do have large double beds in them and can be upgraded to very easily during check in or secured at the reservations stage. I hope you will consider using the hotel in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    342
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
89
261
39
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is one of the newer Holiday Inns, and it was very clean and comfortable.

The room was bright and spacious, with big bay-type windows enabling views along Commercial Road into the centre. The rooms was immaculately clean, with a comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but the bar area and lobby were all smart and the staff were very attentive.

The only downside for us was the location, as it's a little way from the tube stations with luggage, but I think we'd come back here as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was very pleased to read your found the rooms to be immaculately clean and very comfortable. I hope you will once again stay with us should you find further need for accommodation in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I had booked this hotel for 10 days through a site. Three days before arriving, I had to extend my stay by a day. Seeing that the price has risen steep, I sent them a mail if I could get a better rate. A reply that came a day later said "We are currently experiencing higher than expected contact volume and will respond as quickly as possible". I waited in vain for a reply. (Later got to know this mail went to their Atlanta office instead of London!).
When I arrived at the hotel after a flight of 16 hours, it was 9 p.m on a Sunday. There were 2 gentlemen before me for check-in. I had to wait a good 25 minutes before I could speak to the single lady on duty at reception. These 2 incidents created an unflattering impression.
The lady at the reception was efficient, courteous and helpful. But still the confirmation for extension of my stay was not forthcoming. Finally,
when the matter was taken to the Operations Manager, Damian, things were set right.
Individually, each person at the reception, restaurant was friendly, efficient. But, collectively, things were not fine. Housekeeping was neat, clean, but replenishment of toiletries, coffee, milk sachets left a lot to be desired. A hot chocolate drink sachet appeared once in 3 days.
Breakfast fare was good, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Had a wide variety. Save for one day when the breakfast was delayed as it appeared that the larder key went missing. Limited fare was readied by 7 am by procuring stuff from Tesco across the road. As I am a vegetarian, had limited choices that day.
Location of the hotel is excellent, close to bus stop as also DLR (Shadwell) and tube (Whitechapel). When I extended my stay further by a day, Damian took pains to ensure that my stay was comfortable.

Though I was not happy when I checked-in, they made me feel welcome by the time I checked out in 2 weeks!

Room Tip: Executive room was offered to me, being a priority club member. Very quiet room at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoornaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and while at first your request for additional nights was not address I was pleased to read, that once involved, Damian was able to resolve the issue for you. In relation to your comments regarding the reduced breakfast on one day of your stay, yes we did have a challenge accessing parts of the hotel which stored a number of the breakfast items. The team on the day tried to think on their feet and produce as close a breakfast buffet as we normally offer with the resources available to them. I do apologise for any inconvenience this caused you however pleased rest assured it was an unfortunate one off incident that we have taken steps to ensure it does not repeat. I hope you will consider using the hotel once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knotting
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although this hotel in not in the best part of London, it is conveniently placed for all the travel links - Underground, DLR & London Overground.
It is a new build and is very clean and welcoming. The rooms are really well appointed and modern. Whitechapel Tube is an easy 4-5 minute walk away.
The breakfast is buffet type with a good selection - but I can't make my mind up whether it is good value for money at £12.95 - thankfully it was included in my corporate rate, along with free internet access.
Overall a very comfortable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExiledInBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your last stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to note you found the hotel conveniently placed with good transportation links to the rest of London and the rooms well appointed and modern including free WiFi. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Commercial Road over the Bank Holiday weekend in May. The staff were welcoming and our room was lovely, spacious, clean and the bathroom was very modern. Free wifi and great choice of tv channels. We loved the breakfast which was included in the total price, a wide range of items. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to Whitechapel tube station. Unfortunately this station and East Aldgate were closed all weekend so we had a 40 minute walk to Aldgate station, this isn't the hotels fault but did impact on our weekend. Overall a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your weekend stay with us. I was pleased to read you found the hotel clean and modern and that all the team were welcoming. its always nice to receive positive comments such as your and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was a real surprise! Friendly staff welcomed us on arrival and our double room was very clean and spacious with huge windows to let in plenty of light. We enjoyed a good choice of evening meal and the staff in the restaurant were again happy and extremely helpful. The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean and tidy and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a very reasonably priced stay, in a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable weekend and the team were helpful throughout your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in deluxe room. 15mins walk from Whitechapel tube, good location on main bus route - number 15 direct to Trafalgar Square and Regent Street. Nice spacious rooms with large TV and tea/coffee making facilities.
We booked room only but breakfast is £15 each if bought on the day or £10 if you buy a voucher the day before. Nice breakfast, all you need from full English to cereals and pastries.

Short walk to DLR station to docklands area to go on Emirates Air Line to O2.

Friendly staff, would def stay here again when in London.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are more spacious, book breakfast in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to note you found the location of the hotel very convenient to your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing