We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #191 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I had traveled down from Birmingham for three days in London. The hotel was central so we were able to access all of the major tourist attractions. Our rooms were clean, comfortable with fluffy towels in the bathroom and a choice of soft or hard pillows on the bed. When we checked in the staff were efficient and helpful and welcoming.
Breakfast was a good selection of a well cooked English, cereals,pastries, pancakes and continental meats together with a good selection of drinks of which everyone who we sat with made full advantage of. An excellent Hotel with staff who go the extra mile for their visitors. We will try to visit again this year. Cant wait.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the rooms. If you want a quiet none smoking room as we did 314 was brilliant. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaB957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for passing on your comments following your last stay with us. As General Manager I was very pleased you found the hotel and the team meet your needs throughout your 3 days stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    348
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
90
266
41
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel itself was spot on, as was the help we recieved when our room key wouldn't work to start with. The area around the hotel is far from the West End or 'posh' areas of London, but is by no means the war zone I expected having read some reviews. There's the tube 10 mins away and the DLR even closer, so getting wher you want is no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to read you found the hotel meet your needs and the location did not hinder you getting around town. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed on the 28th -30th march stayed in room 502. We got to stay in this room thanks to the very nice receptionist we arrived at 130ish and knew we couldn't book in till 3pm the receptionist said it wasn't a problem and that if we sign up to become a member free of charge we could book straight in, she even gave us an end room with a view of the city we could see the shard clear as day from our window.
As we got to our room we were blown away at how nice, clean and well presented the room was.
They even have hd tv a choice of hard or soft pillows and a safe.
The staff were beyond friendly probably one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had.
BREAKFAST so good from fruit to a full English even a pancake machine that was perfect.
5 Mins from the tube get off at white chapel and cross over road go left then right at post office one road straight to hotel. Alder gate east is a 10-15min walk.
The hotel is in an up and coming area some reviews have said that its rough I never felt uncomfortable at all it would just seem a lot different to someone that is used to staying in Kensington area but parts of bays water are the same as we have stayed there too.
The hotel is 15 mins from tower bridge and the Tower of London so great for tourists.
In conclusion the nicest hotel I've stayed in London and will be booking again just hope the hotel keeps up the great service and standards with it being new.

Room Tip: Sign up to be a member of priority club rewards then can book in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank websterhayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following you stay with us. It is always nice to receive positive feedback as it helps to to ensure we are constantly offering a great product and service. I was very pleased to read our bedrooms exceeded your exceptions and the service offered by the team ranked as one of the best customer service experiences you have received. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the 24/25th of March.We stay in London a couple of times a year and always like to stay somewhere nice but not mega expensive,the Holiday inn scored on both counts.we booked through lastminute.com it was one of their secret hotels,and it was one of the best London choices we have ever made!
We arrived really early and decided to drop our bags off before hitting the city sights,the reception staff were fantastic,really friendly and very helpful,we got rid of the bags and as it smelled so good decided to try the buffet breakfast before we went back out into the cold,it was fantastic,what a good decision :-)
Again the restaurant staff where brilliant,fast friendly and efficient and I really have to mention a young guy called Baly,who was the smiliest,friendliest fastest waiter I have ever met,he was brilliant,whoever employed and trained the staff did a cracking job.
When we arrived back later our bags had been taken to our rooms just leaving us to relax,and it wasn't hard in such a lovely warm clean room,filled with everything you need for a lovely city break.
We really can't fault this hotel,it is only a short walk to the nearest tube so you can get into the west end in no time,and if you fancy a walk its near to spittlefields market and some great curry houses,the rooms are lovely and very comfortable,the food is great,but best of all,and what really makes this hotel outstanding are the management and staff,who just can't do enough for you,I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If they are doing the £20 room upgrade offer,take it,big room,fluffy bathrobe and free chocolate! An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Frogfarmer, thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and will happily recommend us. It was also nice to read the team here had given you great service throughout your stay with the reception team offering fantastic and friendly service and Bally in the Restaurant proving to be the best waiter you have ever meet. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon and once again thank you for passing on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel but it certainly will not be our last.From the minute we arrived we received 5 star treatment.Thehotel was clean , comforable,convenient and welcoming. Every member of staff we met were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, and they really went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.We can also recommend City Cars who are local to the hotel, and booked by them. All in all a wonderful stay which will be one of many.
Hilary from Yorkshire

Room Tip: Lovely view from 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HILARY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your first stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was very pleased to read you felt like the hotel offered a 5 Star service from the moment you walked in. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Only a 2 night stay but my first impression of this place is good.

The only downside is the walk from the nearest tube, which is a niggle at best (it's about 10 minutes). and it's not in the best of areas.

entry was easy, reception was exceptionally helpful and more to the point, was genuine. Help with luggage was offered but not needed. Room quality is good; clean, tidy, spacious with modern décor.

Bathroom was light and large with a good sized wet room with rain shower. Towel quality varied from thick to thin but not nearly as bad as the threadbare variety at other places. Good tea and coffee station and quick kettle.

Clothes storage is the usual just about enough for one person.

Breakfast is adequate with a buffet that's sometimes dry, but, and a brilliant but, it hasd a Starbucks on site!!!!!

Overall a really good place to stay.

Sleep quality was excellent with a comfy bed and two types of pillow, both which were comfy.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have more noise (the A13) from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments regarding your last stay with us. It was very pleasing to read you felt the hotel offered an excellent quality of sleep and the team gave you genuinely helpful service. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this weekend and were really really impressed for the price we paid through Superbreak.
The hotel is brand new and absolutely lovely - very clean, comfortable and modern.

Check-in and check-out were both painless and every single member of staff we encountered was friendly, polite and couldn't do enough for you.

We were given an executive room on the 2nd floor and it was so nice we didn't want to leave this morning!!
Good points -
- Lovely big comfy bed
- Very spacious and spotlessly clean, funky modern furniture and flat screen TV
- Gorgeous bathroom - I loved the green lights and the waterfall shower!
- Clean towels, complimentary toiletries, bottled water and KIT KAT CHUNKIES!
- Black out curtains, no traffic noise whatsoever despite being above quite a busy road
Bad points -
- Plumbing was a little noisy at times
- We only had one robe to share
..but that's literally all I can think of and neither of those things affected our stay!

Breakfast was perfect both mornings. Lots of choice - cereal, pancakes, fruit, pastries, continental meats, full english, etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but staff were really helpful when we wanted to order a takeaway to our room, letting us use the computers with free internet access.

People have mentioned that the location is not great but we found it fine for what we wanted. We found our way to Camden, Piccadilly and Tower Hill using the tube with no problems at all. Whitechapel underground station is just a short walk away - don't get off at Aldgate East like we did at first as it's quite a trek with your bags!! Tesco, McDonalds and bus stops to get you into central London are just across the street.

The area was the only thing that slightly let it down for me. As a young woman, I didn't feel 100% comfortable walking around after dark on my own but I guess that's the city for you and no reflection on the hotel.

Well done Holiday Inn Commerical Road. We would definitely stay with you again :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room - well worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your last two night stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. It was pleasing to read all your positive feedback on the hotel and especially the team who provided you with a friendly and polite service. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,008 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,067 in London
1,359 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing