We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Ranked #200 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

hi I stayed in the holiday inn commercial road east London for 3 nights 18th to 21st of jan 2013.it was not my first time staying in a holiday inn but this one has to be the best by far the service was brilliant.and was never left waiting long for anything even the beer was cheaper than going out which was good at £4.00 a pint of stella it was cheap compared to £5.90 we where charged buy a local pub . blimey I thought I had ordered a pint of gold . I would strongly recommend this hotel the breakfast was first class two ,

Room Tip: I have only stayed here once so cant say but my room was first class. and it was at the back which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Merrick2011, Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments and I'm really pleased you rate us the best Holiday Inn you have stayed in so far. We pride ourself's on the service we offer our guests and its always nice to hear we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    343
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
89
261
39
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in. Recently built, very modern, large, well-appointed rooms. Good sound insulation. Large flat screen Tv, free wifi. Very friendly, welcoming staff. Always helpful.
Shadwell DLR station just 5 minutes walk away - very handy for both the City and Canary Wharf. Would definitely recommend, as long as you're not driving (no on-site parking).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Myself and the team are very pleased that you feel Holiday Inn London Commercial Road is the best Holiday Inn you have stayed in. This is a very powerful statement and we are proud to have meet and exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleehorpes
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break in London, needed something near Tube/DLR and this fitted the bill nicely. Reception good but was in a less desirable area so a few "locals" meandering around did not give confidence. Room was awful, akin to a Warehouse, a double room that could have contained 3 double beds and still not been full, and spartan furniture with a bathroom accessed at the back of a cupboard, good and clean with a TV that had lots of odd channels but no Sky TV
would consider this a very average expereince.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleethopresmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager for the hotel I was a little disappointed to ready you only felt it to be an average experience overall.

Your comment on the size of the bedroom was interesting as we have had a lot of guests stating the larger rooms were a fantastic feature and unusual for a London hotel however I do understand your view. In fact we are already in the process of purchasing a sofa for the 4 rooms we have that may be viewed as too large. This we believe will create a lovely seating area within the room and aid in balancing the space without taking anything away from the comfort and practicality of the rooms.

In terms of the local area it does have a high level of residential accommodation with a multitude of cultures residing in them. While we have no reason to be concerned at the hotel we do as best practice takes security of our guests very seriously. As I’m sure you would have experienced all guest corridors have controlled access at all time. The front doors to the hotel are also closed at night with controlled access along with a substantial security awareness training programme for key hotel personnel.

I was pleased to note that you found reception to be good during your stay. Once again thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and I hope you will consider staying at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean, we'll staffed and served my needs well (not that here were many in the first place). Would recommend. Book as well in advance as you are able to, in order to get best value. Surprisingly quiet location. Rooms spacious for cost and bathrooms well fitted.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerNorrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation following your stay with us. It was pleasing to note we meet your needs throughout the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fairly new hotel on Commercial Road in the East End near the Royal London Hospital. No 15 bus stops outside and goes to Regent St via St Pauls. 135 bus to Liverpool St and Spitalfields. Tube/DLR short walk away. Good corporate hotel and at the right price excellent value for London. Room was warm and clean. Nice view of the City and the Shard from our room. Sound insulation very good. Reception friendly and helpful but no response to our report of a plastic bag in the toilet bowl when we arrived. Still there when we left after two nights. Didn't eat in their restaurant.

Couple of curry and kebab restaurants nearby (and a McDonalds).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your views following your stay with us. I was pleased to note that in the whole you had an enjoyable stay however please accept my apologies that we did not react when you informed us of the bag in the toilet. I will address this with the team to ensure we react as we should in the future. Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

only about 6 months old, very comfortable fairly large(for london) rooms - love the green light under the sink unit!. reception quick, polite and helpful and were checking people in even though it was 11am. we took bus 15 to (and from) west end theatres from stop just opposite and it took about 40 minutes going right past tower of london, tower bridge, st pauls, fleet street and strand. on sunday we caught bus from shadwell DLR station to stratford westfield shopping centre - it runs 2 - 4 times an hour and takes about 30 minutes. in the evening we ate in their restaurant and were pleased we did with good service and nice food.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ds999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to note your found the Reception team help and receptive to your needs along with the Restaurant team who provided good service and nice food. I look forward to welcoming your back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip while working in the City. Tube station at Whitechapel 10 minute walk and DLR Shadwell about 5 mins. In to the City within 30 mins. Hotel was very new, only been open 6 months or so. Staff friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast was disappointing as it was all under heat lamps and looked quite tired, as I was taking breakfast 15 minutes after the restaurant opened in the morning it should have looked fresh. There was plenty of fruit, cereals, bread and pastries so all was not lost. Local area is a bit run down but not threatening, plenty of good curry houses within walking distance. Overall a good hotel which I would gladly use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awelltravelled23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was very pleased to note overall you had a good stay and felt the team to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your feedback on breakfast, we have been operating the "hot" section of the buffet on an Al a Carte basis due to the reduced diners for the very reason you listed, quality, however we made the decision to return to the buffet recently to give back the freedom and choice a buffet offers however it would appear this was a little too early and we may not have had the volume of guests just yet. I have already spoken with the breakfast team who will consistently monitor the quality of the breakfast offering to ensure it remains fresh and appetizing at all times.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope you will once again choose to stay at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel

Property: Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BP, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel (formally known as Holiday Inn London Commercial Road) is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. *Please note we have changed our name to Holiday Inn London Whitechapel from Holiday Inn London Commercial Road* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing