We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs..”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tyburn - CLOSED

The Tyburn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went to The Tyburn for breakfast friends and were greeted by friendly staff, ordered 4 large breakfasts, when they came one had toast missing when asked a member of staff said if you want it you'll have to pay?? But apart from this all 4 were cold, I complained to the manager who said ill order you're toast but couldn't really care less about the cold breakfasts, he just carried on messing about with his till, no apology or offer or HOT replacements..

I regularly stay at a nearby hotel and thought I'd avoid the £13 breakfast charge and try the Tyburn, but very dissapointing and I'm afraid Mr Wetherspoon, I won't be eating here again.

Disgusting service..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M1ke71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    90
    46
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

IF YOU LIKE COLD & DRIED UP FOOD THIS IS THE PLACE TO EAT!
Had an item missing from my plate that was clearly stated on menu, and when asked for it was told I would have to pay for it! Even though the other 3 people at my table had exactly the same meal with the correct items... Will never eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sylvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london county hall
Level Contributor
334 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good pub grub and a decent drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Called in last Saturday evening about 5ish, the place was full. Managed to get a table, a good sign was that lots of people were eating. Not a bad menu with a good selection. Food arrived promptly and was a good standard the prices weren't bad either considering the pubs position and popularity.Not a bad place to spend a few hours watching the world go by. I think its the only decent one in that area. Very handy for Oxford st and Hyde Park. The only down side was that there seemed a language barrier with some of the staff and they didn't seem familiar with the menu.All in all a good place to stop off when you are in need of refreshments.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Should hire staff who can understand english”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ate here for breakfast
Staff member at till could not understand English well at all. Asked for pint of soda water and lime - tried to charge for a £6 bottle of soda water. Eventually used draft soda water with no lime- asked for lime and a slice of fruit was added

Ordered toast and preserves, got two slices of bread and butter. Complained to manager about the staffs poor grasp of English but he didn't really care

The food itself was ok usual wetherspoons stuff but the staff are hopeless

One to avoid

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend suggested this restaurant in the heart of London. They serve the best curry ever, it is on thursday!!.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tyburn also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing