We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here if you are vegetarian!”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
Jamie's Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,285 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do not go here if you are vegetarian!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It started badly when we saw someone being thrown out of the restaurant whilst we waited for our table at around 9pm on a Friday. When we were given the menus they were different to all other Jamie's Italians. It is much reduced and quite pricey. On top of that it only has 2 vegetarian dishes on it. Worst still, they actually said they had run out of one of the options - the veg risotto! So our option was penne arrabiatta at £13! Not at all impressed and so we walked out and left our drinks. We won't be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    169
    105
    61
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to this lunch at Jamie's Italian in the City; I was a bit disappointed. On the positive front, service was excellent: charming and attentive.

The food was okay, but I expected it to be great. Limoncello cod loin was dull and a bit tough; although the monkfish was better.

Presentation wasn't very inspiring. The liver pâté came out on a long board, which is fine, but the pâté was plonked in unshapely dollops. Am I being picky? Yes. If this is Jamie's it ought to be better. And at £139 for two, its not inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Service like an Eastern European Service station”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great veal. Gerald whiskey sour. Prompt and clinical. No was everything ok with your meal, no refil of water or can we get you some more wine. The bare minimum of service

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“really good place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent service! Ewa look after us and she was great! Very friendly, attentive and professional.
The place itself impress me too... beautiful restaurant. Food wise was good. It was tasty, yeah Italian ;) and fresh. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarolKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food is worth dying for and the service is exceptional - as you would expect from a Jamie's. Slightly pricey of course, but still worth it if you compare it to other similarly priced restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sum_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing