We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky,comfortable and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Ham United Hotel
Ranked #652 of 1,067 Hotels in London
bristol
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Quirky,comfortable and good value for money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute as an alternative to more centrally located hotels in London based purely on reviews from this site.

It was much more affordable compared to the high cost of last minute bookings for central London, it also has the advantage of a car park so instead of using public transport from our home town we could use our car and leave it in the secure car park whilst travelling to and from London by tube.

We were pleasantly surprised how easy and quick it was to travel by tube to the centre of London, we bought a day travel ticket at £8 per person from the local station and it took just under 30 mins to get to Victoria.

It was so quirky to actually stay in the grounds of a football club, opening your curtains in the morning to be greeted by a full size football pitch and we're not even fans of football!

The room itself was a good size and had everything needed for a comfortable stay, tea making facilities, hair dryer, flat screen TV a good ensuite with shower, only shower gel and hand wash provided so bring your own shampoo etc.

Whilst the hotel is situated in an area that has no particular merit of it's own we felt perfectly safe. We arrived back from the centre of London after a full day at 12.45am starving as we'd missed dinner, had a snack at one of the fast food outlets with no problems whatsoever.

If you fancy something different give it a try we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    67
    23
    14
See reviews for
51
117
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed there last night, 2/7/2013, after the Robbie Williams Concert, we loved it. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, and to top it off, it had something really different to ya usual hotel....A football pitch!! Will be using this hotel again for any trips we may make to london. The only let down was the hotels location, but as the only window over looks west ham football pitch we didnt really care.

Room Tip: If your a massive West Ham supporter, ya gonna love this :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanneeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Most of the other reviewers have said all that needs to be said on this hotel. We had no problems and everything was as expected. staff friendly, hotel clean, rooms fine but limited storage etc.

The only problem we had was finding eating options in the area - it's mostly take-out places. The hotel food was ok but we hadn't expected to eat there. The Tripadvisor interactive map is just plain wrong. For a start it shows the hotel in the wrong place. Also it shows a number of restaurants on nearby Kirkland Road. There are no restaurants here - this is a residential street. The Kirkland Road which hosts a number of restaurants including Amici Miei is in the centre of London!

If you intend to spend all of your time sightseeing ( which we had intended to do until I injured my knee ) then this is a good budget option as a place to crash provided you don't mind the tube journey to and from the east end. There are a couple of pubs nearby but no restaurant and bar scene that you may find in other parts of London. You may feel, quite rightly, that if that's what we wanted we shouldn't have stayed in the east end but as I said our plans changed somewhat due to injury.

The main point of writing this review was to point out the mistake on the interactive map which gives a misleading impression of the number of dining options nearby. Hopefully Tripadvisor will be on the case to correct it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElTee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just stayed two nights whilst attending an exhibition at the ExCel, a £10 taxi ride away (£12 on the way back, don't ask me why).

As other reviewers have said the rooms are executive boxes on match days and overlook the pitch. Therefore for single use with the addition of a bed and two bedside cabinets they are fine in terms of size but might be a bit cramped if sharing. Bathroom is nice with shower only but spotlessly clean. Rooms would benefit from the provision of an easy chair.

There are three major drawbacks for my viewpoint: nowhere to keep clothes - some hangars on the wall but no drawers or the like; windows did not open even a little bit which, because of the poor ac unit made the room stuffy.

I could not see a stay exceeding two nights or so adding anything beneficial to the experience.

At the price however of £73/night including a good full english breakfast served efficiently by friendly staff it was at least £100 per night less than any other reasonable hotel in the area. For instance the Ibis at the ExCel was advertising rooms for £190.

The evening menu served in the bar which doubles as the players' lounge on match days was short but quite varied with some refined dishes rubbing shoulders with a Tex-Mex vibe along with some English favourites. Overall the quality was OK and filled a gap so to speak. The service however was lamentable. The single bar-person/waitress disappeared for periods at a time. Sometimes to fetch orders from the kitchen but sometimes to hide in the back as evidenced on one occasion when the chef came looking for her to serve an order and found her in her hideaway, words were exchanged. Everything was at her pace which at times was painfully slow. Prices are reasonable.

Reviewers have commented upon the area. I think that it is pretty safe as long as you carry out the normal security procedures in a strange town i.e. don't be flash, respect the locals and keep yourself to yourself. An excursion to the Bolyne pub at the end of the road was fine especially as I found London Pride on offer at £2.50 a pint. Just sit and drink and take in the atmosphere of an East End pub, no frills but bags of character.

Would I stay again?....perhaps not, but this depends on my activity. Would I recomend it to others?....if you want to stay for the novelty value then sure if you are a solo traveller planning to stay no more than two nights. If a tight budget is the driving force then consider what you are prepared to put up with. There is not much available at this price and standard in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in quite some hotels but this had a unique experience. Getting in a footbal stadium and looking over the football field from your room is kinda unique. The bed was ok and the room spacious. The bathroom was ok, but nothing more than ok with a shower.
I liked the hotel and would recommend it to any soccer fan for the experience. You can really see that the rooms are normaly the businessclub rooms. It looks a bit official as a room and the bed etc. feel kinda out of place.
The rooms are not expensive for the london region but i that might also be due to the neighbourhood. I liked the fact that the walk to the metro was just around 5 minutes.
it wasn''t on purpose, but the wakeup call was almost 15 minutes late. Fortunately i was already awake, otherwise i would have been late on my appointment.

Room Tip: enjoy the view from the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been using this hotel for 6 years and never been disappointed by the service, cleanliness, accommodation and food. The staff are very friendly, I was greeted with a ready smile and helpful information by the reception staff on arrival and being a regular guest, the words of "nice to see you again" by the regular serving bar and waiting staff. I was there for two nights, 11 and 12 June 2013.

The hotel has a very large free car park, ideal for people like me arriving by car. The hotel is served by many bus routes and London Underground's Upton Park Station on the District and Hammersmith and City Lines is only a 10 minute walk away. Very ideal for those who wish to visit the well known tourist attractions in Central London or who are on a business trip to the city or to the Royal Docks complex.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a welcoming and comfortable base for your business or pleasure trip to the vibrant capital.

Room Tip: All rooms face the football pitch, but you will not see any footy, so it is nice and quiet. The air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Room is really a hospitality suite, converted to a bedroom at night. Window 'opens' onto the hospitality seating area and pitch, but it is locked shut so you can't get any fresh air. the furniture is cheap - wheels broken on bedside table, one of the 2 lamps was not working. No wardrobe, just a place to hang a coathanger. The worst thing was the bed. Not since I got my first 'new' bed at the age of 6 have I slept in such a narrow small bed. The width, plus the ease with which it moved around the room made for a rather tricky night. Shower was fine although the shampoo was 'plumbed in' at the sink, with handsoap in the shower. Someone had written some abuse about West Ham in the steamy mirror, so you only see it when you have a shower! All in all, only a memorable stay for all the wrong reasons. Didn't try breakfast. reception staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Try the nearest Premier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#577 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis London Barking
#2 of 6 in Barking
431 reviews
Viking Hotel
#840 of 1,067 in London
641 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#943 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Ham United Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ham United Hotel

Property: West Ham United Hotel
Address: Boleyn Ground Green Street | W Ham United Football Club, London E13 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#289 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Ham United Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Ham United Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
West Ham United London
West Ham United Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing