We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but value”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #471 of 869 Specialty Lodging in London
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic but value”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location is the main advantage of this hotel, Walking distance to both Kings Cross and Euston mainline railway stations. The room was very small - could have done with a paint, but the bed was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0r0dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    152
    198
    101
    124
See reviews for
69
152
157
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here on Thursday eve as part of a superbreak through Thompson's B&B plus theatre tickets. Booked in just gone 3pm neither of the girl's on reception desk spoke much English and just told me to fill in form and sign. Go to porter for key. Porter also not much English as we asked how far the theatre was and just shrugged shoulders, so asked them to book us a taxi for that evening in plenty of time for us to have a meal before the show. They booked a a mini-cab who did not even know where the theatre was , wanted the post code so could put in his sat nav, then drove like a maniac and went through 2 red lights. When we arrived at the theatre after I spotted it up ahead he then charged us wait for it £14 day light robbery as it was only about 4 miles , so be warned go outside and hail a black cab as a lot cheaper as we found out on the way back that night. Apart from that room basic as described by others clean enough, could do with better quality pillows but that a personal preference. Was a little bit dated and the lifts are rather small and clostophobic , other than that room clean and rest of horel clean. Breakfast is self-service and breakfast plate for cooked is a cross between a tea-plate and dinner-plate so if you like a big breakfast you would need to go around twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky5017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton lancs
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is great value for money, especially considering its location - 6 minutes walk from Euston Station. There are several frequent bus services pass the door. OK the decor is slightly shabby in places but the rooms are clean & beds are comfortable ; there are tea making facilities, & sink. Bathrooms are shared but there are plenty of them and only a few feet from the rooms.
Staff are helpful and polite. We requested a quiet room & were given one at the back of the hotel & found it nice & quiet.You can leave luggage after checkout for 50p. per item -far cheaper than at Euston Station. I would definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as tose on the front face a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

OK, a few months ago I said "never again". Then I searched for a hotel matching the value and convenience of The County Hotel near Euston Station, London.

Couldn't find anything better, let alone equal.

It's still an old hotel. The baths are still down the hall but most have been updated in recent months are are nicely modernized.

The rooms haven't grown; they're still small and spartan. The staff has improved considerably though there is still the occasional rough edge but mostly not where it really counts. Can't fault the cleanliness though they detergent they use seems rather harsh so if you have sensitive skin you might think about trying elsewhere. Of course it could be that one of my party is over-sensitive, still, that person didn't have any problem at any of the other places on our tour.

Breakfast included in the room price is of good quality and abundant quantity, reasonably prepared. Breakfast room staff mostly quite pleasant though could be slightly more attentive.

I have to wonder how Imperial London Hotels can continue to hold the price; it's ridiculously low, about 1/3 of what you'd pay nearby. If you're into "value for money" you're in the right place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the rear. No A/C so open windows will make sleep difficult due to street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevBillAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed 2 June to 5th June 2013
Good location ie near Euston Station, St Pancris and Kings Cross - not far to walk to Euston Station. Internet Cafe near by (near Tavistock Hotel) where you can get cheap UK Cell phone sim cards 2GPD.
Room was clean and serviced daily, TV worked once i found power switch on wall adjacent the bed. Had to have window open through nigh as central heating was on to stop room from overheating - however the down side of window open at night is the street noise kept me a awake.

Bathroom & Toilets where clean and well maintained - new doors fitted since last stayed in 2011

Good breakfast included with room cost

Good value for money

Room Tip: If you have just got off a long haul flight and need some sleep ask for room at rear of building, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Perfect for the price and great location for the active traveler. A little (very little) rough on the edges and not for staying in your room all day. It's not dirty or dangerous, it's a great place to take care of your basic needs for a (another) great day in London. My fiancee and I even took the room with a bunk with the bath down the hall, and neither of us was disappointed. :)

I am an active traveler and use hotel rooms for sleeping and preparing for the day. The beds were basic (I took the most basic room), but the linens were clean and crisp because the kind cleaning man promptly changed linens on his daily room cleaning. The room did not have a toilet or shower, four of which were in the middle of the hallway. My room had a bed (bunk), basin, storage (I had one bag), and a television that worked, but I never watched (I was traveling in London, not home and bored).

After sleep, the most important part of my day is breakfast... County Hotel's breakfast buffet was exactly what I like in an English Breakfast: scrambled or medium sunny-side up eggs, sausage, bacon, baked beans, stewed tomato, toast, butter, jam, jelly, juice (orange and apple), milk, buns, yogurt, breakfast cereal, and tea. The coffee is not good, but Starbucks is 100 meters south on Upper Woburn for your no-fat-half-caf-soy-latte (heh heh).

Getting there and leaving: County Hotel is three city blocks from Russell Square (Piccadilly Line), Kings Cross (Circle, Hammersmith, Metropolitan, Piccadilly, Victoria) and St. Pancras (Eurostar/Channel Tunnel to Paris). Get the London Underground app from http://www.tfl.gov.uk/ and the Eurostar app so you can micromanage your travel.

I rate this very high because it has exactly what I need to sleep, get ready for the day, breakfast and location. I hope you see the good inside the rough edges.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROBERT_SAYS_HELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked several weeks in advance and arrived late in the evening after a flight, on arrival I was told the last person in my room had walked off with the key. It was late and I didn't want to look elsewhere for a place to stay, so I was confined to the room for the entire evening and night, as leaving valuables in an unlocked room, even for a few minutes, isn't an option in any hotel in central London. I asked the desk clerk what should I do if the person with the key returned and they shrugged and said just tell reception. Yeah right. No offer of a discount or anything, the hotel group is also part of a chain with several other hotels in the neighbourhood, they should really have put me in one of their other hotels, but that wasn't mentioned.
As for the room, the TV didn't work, no double glazing so loud traffic noise well into the night. Everything was old fashioned and looked like it dated from the 1970s or earlier. The bed was springy and uncomfortable. I was woken up several times by doors slamming along the corridor. The other guests were generally low class and rough with awful manners, some looked threatening, and the cleaning staff tried to get into my room at 8 am. The breakfast was youth hostel standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#594 of 1,069 in London
2,619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#652 of 1,069 in London
2,166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#468 of 1,069 in London
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#878 of 1,069 in London
8,005 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 557 in London
591 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 869 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing