We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #482 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful location.. only a few minutes walk from the russel square tube station. The hotel is close to the british library, dickens museum, and other attractions. The hotel is exactly as we expected.. small room and shared bathroom, but we really can't complain. We had clean towels, serviced room, and a good breakfast every day. If you want your own bathroom, a larger room, and a fancier breakfast, then stay at the hilton across the street for much more money. But come on, if you are visiting London (and hopefully out in the city), how nice does your room really need to be?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    144
    195
    100
    123
See reviews for
68
149
152
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

can't belive some of the reviews given to this hotel!!! yes its basic but its location is superb. It's a bit shabby but comfortable food is good and the staff helpful. Bag can be left all day after checking in or out at a rate of 50p per bag. If people want more then PAY FOR IT . Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moanddon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

For the price I paid online, this hotel was an excellent choice.
Just across the road from Euston station, yet reasonably quiet.
Friendly, helpful staff. Very nice breakfast buffet included in the price.

The room was certainly basic, but it was quiet and had a basin, small closet, TV, kettle with tea & coffee, a phone and towels. The single bed and pillow were firm, but comfortable (this is the sort of bed I personally prefer), and the sheets and pillow slip were newish and spotless.

My room was not en suite. (I don't know if this hotel offers any en suites.) However, I had a bath (there are bathrooms and showers available on each floor) a little after arriving before going out for the evening, and I was surprised how spotless the bathroom was, considering it was by then about 5 p.m..
It was the same the following morning, the toilet, toilet area and the bath tub were gleaming. The facilities also seemed to be plentiful; the hotel site said there was one set of facilities for every four guests, and that looked about right.

At this price for relative comfort, cleanliness, a peaceful night's rest, an excellent breakfast and proximity to major London, national and international (i.e. St. Pancras station) transport hubs, this hotel offers market-beating value.

So it's not the Ritz, but don't go expecting that, and you won't be dissappointed

Room Tip: Looking at the windows at the front of the hotel (on Upper Woburn Place which is a busy street), non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just rum a way from It if It was not for the location. Dont spend your money on breakfeast. Just very bad. They will charge you 15£ Just to keep each bag on last day if you need. Employers are really not profissionais. This hotel hás Just one positive point. The location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Telmo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Second stay. Shared bathrooms are clean and not a problem but the staff are unhelpful even when willing and the beds were under dressed for the current cold snap. When I asked for more blankets I was told to use the spare blanket in the drawers in the room, which proved about the size and consistency of a bath towel. Only come here if you really can't afford anything else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malchickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's impossible to get away from the fact that The County is a budget hotel. The decor is a little shabby and outdated, but the rooms are warm, clean and spacious. Although the rooms aren't ensuite, there are four toliets, two showers and a bath to every four bedrooms so you're not sharing with a large amount of people and the bathrooms are all bright, clean spaces. The breakfast is also very nice.

Staff are very helpful and friendly, particually the porters. You are required to leave your room key when you leave the hotel but there is no limit on what time you have to come back as the porters are at their desk to return your key 24/7. When I stayed we saw a show and the porter was friendly as ever when we returned gone midnight, and the left luggage service is very reasonable at 50p an item, which was very useful to us as we checked out at 11am but our train was not to the evening.

The hotel is in a very central location, two minutes from Euston tube station right in the city centre and makes it easy to get to most places.

I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind not having the most up-to-date decor as this hotel is definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the mainroad as it is a little loud at night when the window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I absolutely love the County, I've stayed here many times and I always have a great time. My favourite things are the price (so cheap for central London!), the breakfast (all you can eat for no extra cost if you book through the Imperial Hotels website), the location (5 minutes from Euston) and the fact that the bath runs in about 90 seconds! =) The downsides are that the housekeepers do come round very early in the mornings and are noisy, so your 'do not disturb' sign is pointless, and some of the bathrooms have not yet been refurbished (some have and are lovely). I find the staff fine and love that you get towels, tea and coffee making facilities and little bars of soap! You can also leave your luggage with the porter on your last day. It makes absolutely no secret of the fact that it is not en suite, so I don't understand how someone can complain about that! Love it here =)

Room Tip: The top floor (7) definitely has new bathrooms, floor 3 does not at the time of writing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#581 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#638 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#455 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#536 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#51 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing