We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one!”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #471 of 869 Specialty Lodging in London
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great one!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I might say I fell in love with this kind of hotel, kind of hostel. For a relatively cheap price, you get a room with access to common bathrooms and toilets, wifi downstairs, breakfast, and all the hotel stuff (if you are familiar with the Imperial Hotels offers, you won't find this one lacking in anything, except for the breakfast food which seems to be a bit older than the other bigger hotels). Otherwise the atmosphere is relaxed, you can be alone or with friends, the staff is very friendly and relaxed. The bar is also cool, not very crowded, but you can watch movies or chat with friends. The only problem is that it closes at 11pm. County is also very-very close to bus stations, and to Euston Station in particular, and a bit farther away from Russel Square. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs around so you won't be bored!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor and you can catch the wifi from the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonkido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    152
    198
    101
    124
See reviews for
69
152
157
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and myself have just come from 2 nights away in London, we had booked the trip for 2 nights with travel company Thomas cook, the price included the the return journey via trian and 2nights at the County Hotel, - we thjought it was a good price for what we paid for,
we arrived at euston station then headed striaght for the hotel to check in and drop off our luggae.
The entrance and furniture within the lobby was anicent and the seats all had large rips in them, therecepsionist, looked frankley dirty, and had scabs all along her lips, to cut a story shorter, we looked at the bathrooms, locked at the room, looked at each other, then left and booked into Travel Lodge 2 mins down the road, who gussed where we had checked out from striaght away,
I would suggest noone should book at the county unless, you want to get the war torn country look experiance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the county the reception girls were lovely booked us top floor at the back.
nice and quiet the porters were really helpfull.The twin room was a good size lovely and clean.
kettle in the room.The bathroom and showers two strides away very clean .Very good area for Euston, St pancras and Kings Cross.and underground nearby.English breakfast was good choice
and hot.The County is a little old fashioned but we will be returning again in the future

Room Tip: top floor at the back there is a lift nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltondotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for two nights and would stay here again without a doubt. We paid £124 which, considering the location, was an amazing price. Our room was basic but very clean. I was unsure about sharing a bathroom with other guests but it was no problem at all. All the bathrooms were cleaned regularly and there is a new shower room which is lovely. Breakfast was great with bacon, sausage etc and you can have as much as you like. We were able to walk to Oxford Street and the Thames and saved a fortune on tubes and taxis, the hotel is a five minute walk from Euston Station. Lots of restaurants nearby too. We checked out at 10.30 and for a fee of 50p, the hotel kept our suitcase until our train arrived at 5.00pm which meant we could enjoy the rest of the day without lugging it around. A great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I've stayed here many times over the years for weekend jaunts - it's the cheapest hotel I can find in London and if all you need is a bed and a shower than this hotel is perfectly adequate. It has always been clean and, although the bathrooms and showers are shared and down the corridor, I have always found them to be available and convenient. The breakfast may not be the best but you can always buy breakfast somewhere else and the total cost will still be cheaper than most other hotels in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with my friend for two nights and we found it to be clean and comfortable and the facilities totally adequate. I found the breakfast to be very tasty, the staff sufficiently helpful, the beds clean and comfortable and I cannot be critical of this hotel given it's affordability and we slept very well and it's ashame to see people on here trying to ruin the reputation of this hotel, as if they are entitled to five star treatment even blaming their hellish train journey or tiredness on the County Hotel like it's the hotels fault or even moaning about scaffolding being present. To be honest, if there is scaffolding there, it is indicative of the hotels desire to carry out necessary improvements and essential maintenance for their customers, so that's positive. If you're one of those people for whom nothing is good enough then I wouldn't stay here. On the other hand if you can be realistic about what you've paid and have a little gratitude then you'll realize that it's not so bad after all. If you can't handle that then it's best you book into the Dorchester Hotel. Try not to give the staff a hard time either as I'm sure they are trying their best to stay cheerful and in fact they ordered pizza for us and called us in the room when it arrived at the hotel. The hotel is just fine as far as we are concerned and we would stay there again as it makes an ideal base from which to travel in London. If I had any concerns about this hotel I would let the management know, but so far we have no pressing concerns and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 717 was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grp621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. It's basic, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
Don't rely on the breakfast. The tea is horrific, the coffee isn't much better. Both undrinkable. The orange juice and apple juice taste like strong squash and are again undrinkable. The food isn't too bad though, especially considering the price.

There's a Starbucks about two minutes' walk away (this is London, you're never more than five minutes from one) for a decent tea/coffee however.

For getting about London you're well placed though. With a five minute walk to Euston and ten to King's Cross it's easy to get about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeggyTomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#594 of 1,069 in London
2,619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#652 of 1,069 in London
2,166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#468 of 1,069 in London
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#878 of 1,069 in London
8,005 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 557 in London
591 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Russell Square | Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 869 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering exceptional value in an excellent central location, the County Hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the city. A short walk from three mainline stations, it's also halfway between world-renowned Oxford Street shopping and the food, fashion and festival atmosphere of Camden Market. Small and friendly, it's become the essential central London choice for sightseers and shoppers on a budget. All 175 rooms have wash-basins and bathrooms are shared between four rooms. But there's more to the County than resting your head - be sure to begin your London experience with our complimentary English breakfast. It's hearty enough to fuel even the most action-packed stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing