We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold staging of the Bodyguard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre

Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.72*
and up
Kinky Boots the Musical in London
Ranked #7 of 339 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Although there have been various earlier entertainment buildings on the site the reconstructed Adelphi Theatre, with its art deco interiors, opened to the public in December 1930 with Jessie Matthews starring in Ever Green.The front-of-house areas of the Adelphi Theatre were restored to their original lustre and extravagance in 1993 when Andrew Lloyd Webber became co-owner and opened his musical production of Sunset Boulevard. Other famous productions at the Adelphi Theatre include Gertrude Lawrence in Cole Porter’s Nymph Errant, Ivor Novello’s The Dancing Years, Bless The Bride, Beatrice Lillie as Auntie Mame, Van Johnson in The Music Man, Lionel Bart’s Blitz! and Maggie May, Charlie Girl with Anna Neagle, a revival of Me and My Girl originally starring Robert Lindsay and Emma Thompson and in the Adelphi Theatre’s longest run (over nine years), the new Broadway production of Kander and Ebb’s Chicago. Revivals of Evita and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat have proved enormously popular. More recently, the theatre played host to the worldwide premiere of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical Love Never Dies.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Cold staging of the Bodyguard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Drinks and chocolate ridiculously priced, seats that didn't allow you to see the front of the stage, rude, childish women gossiping all night during the show no wonder the London Theatre is having problems. Front of house staff at the theatre however were first class, unlike the stage entertainers who struggled to get out of first gear to start with. The male lead was wooden throughout and only the two female leads dragged the show out of the mire. Only when the big musical numbers came up did the audience respond. There was little empathy in the staging of what in essence is a love story, and the difficulty of trying to live up to Whitney Houston was evidently beyond the director. Was it worth £35 for a London show, yes, but I would have been very disappointed to have paid £120. Disappointed, glad I saw it, wouldn't bother going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    262
    49
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“went to see the bodyguard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

we travelled to see the bodyguard show for my friends birthday. show was fantastic really enjoyed it top stuff. even though it was only the understudy she was great and whatever is the main person like if she was this good. Really go to see this great show

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bodyguard Musical - 'one moment in time!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Loved every minute of the show - and the superb Heather Headley.

I was ready to take the tickets back when we arrived as it said Heather was not on for the performance! However, the signs had not been taken down from the matinee!

There are only 2 people that can sing Whitney songs and that Whitney and Heather. Such a fantastic voice - have to say the story sometimes got a bit lost in the musical numbers, but would obsoletely go and see this again. We had seats in the gods (upper circle) row Fm but still had an amazing view.

The usher's were also great as we stuck in the middle of a 50th birthday party, who wanted to sing and dance - but they were kept under control

As for the theatre, its a nice environment, clean and comfortable - watch out for the bar prices, very expensive even for central London!

But overall a great show, so get booking

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bodyguard - Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was never going to be my cup of tea, but I bought the tickets as a treat for my wife who loves the film. I enjoyed the way the production team created so many different scenes. Recording studio, Dressing room, Country house etc,etc. All done brilliantly and the way the curtains were used to "frame" things was really clever.
I must admit I enjoyed the whole performance. And it was great to see so many people enjoying themselves at the end.
A "must see" in my opinion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night out to see the Bodyguard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

After lots of pestering from my Fiancée, I gave in and took her to see the Bodyguard at the Adelphi Theatre. I am not one for musicals and tend to get bored easily, but I can honestly say it was an enjoyable show. The singers were very impressive. From my Fiancée's point of view, she loved it! She is already talking bout seeing it again, thankfully this time with her sister!
We had seats on the upper balcony and we were able to see nearly all of the show, only for a few moments when the show went to the very front of the stage did we miss anything, but this was extremely rare.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wakez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing