We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theatre treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre

Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.72*
and up
Kinky Boots the Musical in London
Ranked #7 of 339 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Although there have been various earlier entertainment buildings on the site the reconstructed Adelphi Theatre, with its art deco interiors, opened to the public in December 1930 with Jessie Matthews starring in Ever Green.The front-of-house areas of the Adelphi Theatre were restored to their original lustre and extravagance in 1993 when Andrew Lloyd Webber became co-owner and opened his musical production of Sunset Boulevard. Other famous productions at the Adelphi Theatre include Gertrude Lawrence in Cole Porter’s Nymph Errant, Ivor Novello’s The Dancing Years, Bless The Bride, Beatrice Lillie as Auntie Mame, Van Johnson in The Music Man, Lionel Bart’s Blitz! and Maggie May, Charlie Girl with Anna Neagle, a revival of Me and My Girl originally starring Robert Lindsay and Emma Thompson and in the Adelphi Theatre’s longest run (over nine years), the new Broadway production of Kander and Ebb’s Chicago. Revivals of Evita and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat have proved enormously popular. More recently, the theatre played host to the worldwide premiere of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical Love Never Dies.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Theatre treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to the Adelphi to see The Bodyguard as post Christmas treat. Very good production, singing was excellent, theatre was comfortable and roomy with good view of the stage even though we had seats in the back row of the stalls great time had by all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladycat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    262
    49
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to book at the last minute and got great seats in the dress circle at a matinee performance. The whole show was great from start to finish. All the performers and particularly the Dance team seemed to be having such a great time - a polished and professional performance. The stage sets and backdrops were unique and simplistic, yet with a spectacular result. The Adelphi is an old theatre - so don't expect luxurious seating.
Overall we loved it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"A Trip Back in Time" The Bodyguard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a christmas present i suprised my wife and two teenager daughters with Dress Circle tickets for the bodyguard.
The theatre a bit dated but the staff were so attentive you could overlook the venue.
As for the show, well i found out the day before we were going that Rachel was being played by Gloria, the understudy, i was dissapointed with this as we had seen Heather on the royal variety Show a few weeks before.
Well girl you pulled it out of the hat, it was like listening to Whitney Houston who we had seen live at Wembley in the eighties.
Fantanstic trip down memory lane, with the audience singing and dancing to those Whitney belters that we all know so well.
Great show well done all.
Rounded the evening off with Cocktails in The American Bar at the Savoy, nearly opposite the Theatre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magical Musical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved it!
Can't say enough since it was such an amazing night, it was our first night in London and it was a problem since we compared every show and every night to this magical night.
The show was fantastic, the band and the music were amazing and the songs were absolutly touching.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ravit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Bodyguard - Adelphi Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fantastic show - superb singing and lots of great Whitney Houston songs.

It stays true to the film, but with a couple of variations which is nice. Unlike Dirty Dancing the Show, when i know what the next line will be before they've even said it.

I would highly recommend this show.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Citytraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing