We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but perfectly formed”
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #368 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was a bit concerned about how small the hotel website makes the rooms sound but for a single traveller in a double room it was absolutley fine. Particularly liked the complimentary wine & cheese served in the hotel bar 5pm - 8pm.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
There are newer reviews for The Z Hotel Soho
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location in close proximity to Covent Garden and Leicester Square, just off Charring Cross Road. The hotel reception was very small however the staff were very welcoming. I was booked in to an upgraded queen room which was still extremely small however to be expected in Central London, I dread to think how small a standard room is though! Rooms were very well presented and had Sky Sports which is always a bonus.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank LiamF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had high expectations of this hotel, having stayed previously at 8 Hotels and Yotel which are similar concepts. But Z Hotel lacks the style of 8 and the coolness of Yotel. My double room was incredibly basic - more like a hostel than a hotel. Tiny dimensions, very basic feel, no furniture or fittings aside from the bed and a shelf, complimentary toiletry (singular) looks and smells like washing-up liquid, cold water only from the shower, there is nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom so they are permanently consigned to the floor and the only hanging space for clothes is a coat hanger on the back of the door. The location is good being near Soho and Chinatown but our room was very noisy. The room was stiflingly hot when we arrived so we had to open the window but this resulted in little sleep. Altogether an unhappy experience and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chelterskelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great deal, incredible location and nice staff. The tiniest bedroom I have ever stayed in (literally maybe 6 or 7 sqm), seems like the cabin of a boat but super cozy. Nice bed, great towels, a million tv channels, free wifi, complimentary wine and cheese every day from 5 to 8PM. Once again amazing location connecting Soho, Chinatown, Covent Garden, everything you might want to explore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxlainyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Z hotel Soho recently and couldn't have been happier with my experience! The hotel was located near most of the major theatres, shopping and restaurants. Barely a 2 minute walk to the Leicester Square tube station, and of course to Leicester Square itself. As a single female traveller I am always concerned about the safety of the area that I stay in and I was completely at ease with the area of the hotel. Although noisy at night it is a vibrant and friendly atmosphere.
As advertised on their website, the rooms are very small, but the use of the small space is incredible. My single room was small, but by staying organized and tidy I didn't have issue with the size.
Daily breakfast and evening wine and cheese were adequate enough on most days to get by with only purchasing lunch, saving more money for shopping and theatre. London is expensive , so saving every extra pound was welcome.

My only complaint was that the mattress on the bed was extremely firm.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: bring a small suitcase, it will fit under the bed to help the small room from feeling smaller, large...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We paid extra for a better room!!!
I am 6'4 and my feet touched the end of the bed which was the far wall my partner had to climb over me to get out as the bed has 3 walled sides. The bathroom if you can call it that, is 3 feet wide and the width of the room and has a glass pane between the bedroom with sliding glass door. So you see everything going on as there is no screen to the bathroom. Very uncomfortable when sat on the loo!!!!! Hotel staff really good and a great location. Glad we were there for only one night and did not have a large suit case . :(

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a single room that was very small but modern, clean and comfortable. Loved that they had foxtel on the Tv for down time in the room. Also loved the complementary cheese and wine down at the bar every evening. Free WIFI is also a plus. Fantastic location in Soho only a short walk to Leicester square station and en easy walk to Picadilly circus and Oxford street. Also very close to theatres. Found the service from staff great as i needed to make a local phone call and was allowed to use the reception phone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#175 of 1,072 in London
1,186 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#623 of 1,072 in London
160 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,264 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#143 of 1,072 in London
640 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Romantic Hotel in London
#293 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Z Hotel Soho London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing