We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a convenient place to stay in the heart of London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Z Hotel Soho
Ranked #310 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a convenient place to stay in the heart of London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is centrally located with perfect access to major sites of interest, cafes and restaurants. The complimentary wine and cheese 'happy hour' was a welcoming surprise! Staff also very attentive to cater for every need.
A few drawbacks to mention-very small rooms. If you end up with a room facing the street it gets a bit difficult to sleep well due to the noise coming from the clubbers. Also had a problem with the hot water needing some time to actually run at hot temperatures. All these aside I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bwyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    616
    185
    83
    44
See reviews for
73
676
201
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this hotel! Beautifully designed with every thing in miniature. Like hobbit heaven. Lovely quiet inside room even though it is at the centre of soho and theatreland. Free....yes free wine and cheese buffet including hummus,bread,olives and chutney from 5pm to 9pm which is v tempting to stay at all evening even though you are within walking distance of 20 or so restaurants. Lovely cosy bar and an outdoor heated patio. Staff have high standards of customer service....feel I should be paying twice as much. Best for solo travellers or couples who like to be up close and personal all the time. Very quiet considering the location.....I have stayed at London hotels and felt I might as well be sleeping on the street amidst all the traffic....not here.....it is really quiet if you get a room over the courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBPVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just what you need for a central location stay - perfect for one night in Soho. I Recommend this hotel - we wanted to have access to soho bars and stumble back to the hotel. The rooms were clean and modern and cosy - also soundproof considering the location. Also there is a free 'happy hour' which goes for a long time with complimentary wine and cheese from 5-7pm- amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karens626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've just come back from staying a couple of nites here at The Z Hotel Soho. I knew the room would be small but for 1 person it was ideal. It suited my needs to be in Leicester Square area. I opted for a double room with quiter settings and I got a room small wndow on the 3rd floor overlooking the interior. Enjoyed the TV, the bed was comfortable and was clean. I liked that they used the space to its full advantage. I didn't use the cafe but it seemed like a cosy joint and unfortunately I wasn't available for the wine and cheese event which would've been nice. Was able to get an early check in and requested a late check out which they kindly accommodated. I got back late on my final nite after 2am and I used my room key to get in but reception was manned 24hours. I would recommend this hotel to people and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozlazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week, and couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful, and you just can't beat the location. Yes the rooms are tiny, but I'm certain no one goes to London to sleep! Perfect for all of us urban adventurers out there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here as I was in London for a concert. When you read reviews about the rooms being tiny they really are. The room I was put in had no window even as it was an 'inside room' The hotel itself is clean and in a good location. I can't say any more really. Be careful how much you pay per night. Anything over about £80.00 isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Be careful not to get an 'inside room' with NO window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leachy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Perfect location and perfect stay.

Hotel is in a fantastic location for a west end show. Show finishes and you are back in no time at all. Rooms small but well thought out and well finished. No spare space but that is what the hotel tells you at the start. There is even a little oasis of calm in the middle.

Really helpful and friendly staff which created a small town hotel feeling in london. Perfect

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTBDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#189 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Property: The Z Hotel Soho
Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Romantic Hotel in London
#293 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Z Hotel Soho 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Z Hotel Soho London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing