We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great show”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndhams Theatre

Wyndhams Theatre
Ranked #40 of 349 Fun & Games in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice enough theatre but great show. Barking in Essex was good but seeing a great actress like Sheila Hancock shouting c**t at the top of her voice nearly made me wet my pants it was so funny.

Keely Hawes is so sexy she could just read the phone book and I would be happy, but she acted well as did Karl Johnson. Lee Evans is just Lee Evans i.e. bloody brilliant.

Just see it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    96
    28
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Barking in Essex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

A good show with a great cast. There is a logt of explicit language. Lee Evans was very good and this show is very much a vehicle for him. However Sheila Hancock Keely Hawes and Karl Johnson are all very good. The ending was a bit thin but an enjoyable romp.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wrappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Barking In Essex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just saw this play at the Wyndham. Nice theatre with good amenities and service. Play was hilarious albeit the colourful language from the very first word is not for the faint of heart. When we were there 10-12 people left in first five mins.
Not a classic but a good night out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Theatre, shame about the show.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wyndhams is a typical West End theatre, it seems more compact than others I have been to. Having said that, the seats we had in the Grand Circle were suprisingly well equipped for leg room and the seat springs actually ensured a reasonbly comfortable sitting.
The play Barking in Essex though was truly terrible. Plot paper thin, one dimensional characters that you couldn't care less about and even the "amusingly" colorful language ceased to amuse very quickly. Even Lee Evans excellent slapstick comedy couldn't save this ship from sinking...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank a_travellerPeterboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We saw Barking In Essex at Wyndhams recently. A lovely little theatre, and I love theatres. However, a few things could make it much better.

A nano second before the play began an usher whipped round to our side of the theatre to tell us we "can't leave your things there" (on top of a boxed radiator) and then charged off. First, a little courtesy please, second, give us more time - the jackets and bags belonging to several people had been there for quite a while - and third, put a sign up then. Obviously, if there is a shelf people will use it. If you don't want us to use it, make it clear. Annoying.

One of the guys in the row in front of us - the guy with the mid-Atlantic accent in C8 to be precise - told the usher in the interval that he had to leave by 16.30 at the latest. When told that the play finished at 16.45 the guy asked which was the quickest exit and made it clear he was going to stay on, and leave DURING THE PLAY and just before the end. He also asked some people at the end of his row to move so he could "just slip out". Gratifyingly they didn't. No. That is not what happens, and the usher should have made that clear and either told him to leave then, during the interval, or offered him one of the seats at the back. People need to know how to behave in public and especially at the theatre. That was discourteous at the least and the theatre staff should have managed it better.

Two words: womens loo. Snug is the best description! Large Lady With Walking Stick alert.....it was not easy and I appeared to run out of limbs when trying to wash hands, hold stick, keep the door open as the queue pressed forwards and reach behind the door to the waste bin. No big deal, but irritating.

The play? It was pants, if I am honest. Sheila Hancock was obviously brilliant, and made the best of what she had - as ever. The best moments came from her doing her bits of business with the words and with her terrific face and body language. In other hands it really wouldn't work. I love Lee Evans and he has been brilliant in other work (eg The Producers, he was achingly good) but the obviously written-for-him parts didn't work, possibly because they were written with him in mind but maybe without him owning them. Whatever, they didn't work. I went there primed with existing affection for the players and ready to be amused and I was very disappointed not to be. Relying on shock value words to create a laugh can work, but didn't here, largely because the framework around them was flimsy. Overall? Worth it for Sheila Hancock, but disappointing in the extreme.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bernxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyndhams Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Wyndhams Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing