We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Classy Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our European honeymoon and Sofitel St James was our last hotel. Well we saved the best for last! This hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The location is great, along with the service. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival and the staff had rose petals spread throughout our room and two dessert cakes upon our return at night. This hotel is definitely a 5 star hotel...probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kell711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,093
    596
    121
    44
    22
See reviews for
936
1,664
262
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

On arrival booking had been messed up! Not the greatest of starts but how it was handled from then on was a lesson in good service and courtesy. Thomas the duty manager was an example of what is sadly lacking in most so called 'luxury' hotels these days. He expertly handled the situation, immediately sat us down with a complimentary drink and then proceeded to find us a suite for a couple of nights. The hotel has a great location and though formulaic in decor has excellent fittings and is comfortably furnished. They must be treating the staff well also as the pleasant, smiling demeanour of all we encountered was another pleasant surprise in the city centre deluxe segment. All in all a thoroughly impressive, well managed place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Sofitel St. James was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary.
The hotel has an excellent location and excellent service. It is only a few minutes' walk from theaters, restaurants and main attractions. So close to Piccadilly, but still remains hidden and quiet. Hotel and rooms are lovely. Staff was courteous and helpful.
We had afternoon tea at the Rose lounge and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

we loved sofitel st. james; we walked almost everywhere and the beds were the best on our trip to europe. we had a luxury room, but I do believe the beds are the same no matter what price category; we asked for the feathers to be removed: they were; we asked for an extra bed sheet for under the duvet: we received it immediately. we needed safety pins, within 5 minutes they were delivered on a plate!!!
also, we got the buffet breakfast included in our rate: it was fantastic and we never needed anyhting to eat until dinner time, it was so much food. also, our rate was excellent, for we prepaid 3 months in advance; we took out travelers insurance in case we would need to cancel, (our elderly mom lives with us) but all went well. the rooms are small, but to be expected. and the rooms lack for nothing!! perfect, quiet air conditioning, too. the bathrooms are excellent, separate soaking tub, beautiful decor and amenities.
we started loving sofitel because of the sofitel chicago, where we often go for dinner or lunch; we were not disappointed. one more thing, their restuarnt has an excellent pre-theater dinner for a very reasonable price!
grams 98

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grams98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
348 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We're not sure how this hotel has escaped our notice for so long. We are fans of the Sofitel standard - understated comfort, elegance and generally well situated hotels with reliably good service, but for some reason we've never considered Sofitel London until now.
Other favourites were unavailable for various reasons so working through a variety of options online, I reserved a room for a couple of nights directly with Sofitel, getting the same price as quoted elsewhere (I could have saved myself a good deal of time by simply going directly to the hotel website first) Even though we know London pretty well, must have walked and driven past the entrance on several occasions, we had no idea that this hotel was there, in such a great location.
We were warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived and found the staff to be universally helpful and attentive. Our room was similar to other Sofitel bedrooms we've enjoyed - comfortable, cool and spotlessly clean. Despite being in the centre of the city, the atmosphere is calm and peaceful.
I'm pretty sure I know where we'll be staying next time we're in London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Highly recommend the Sofitel St. James for location, amenities and service. We first stayed at the hotel 5 years ago and we were wowed by the facilities. The second trip was not a disappointment. First rate! No complaints whatsoever (though I will concede that we did not use the food service--there are too many great restaurants in the area in all price ranges). Close proximity to the tube, restaurants, theaters, museums, you name it. Wonderful rooms and impeccable service. Only qualification I would make is that this is NOT the place for families with young children--this hotel caters more to adults and business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel, the rooms and staff are delightful and even though I had a few small problems (a broken iron, faulty TV and a room key that kept failing) they couldn't do enough to help and they resolved the problems in minutes. Oh - and the beds - heaven on earth blissful comfort of feather mattresses. This was also a great business hotel - the suites downstairs are spacious and calm and facilities spot on. Will definitely return for a leisure break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing