We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 years on and we still love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #23 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Heartily endorse all the other complementary comments about this hotel. It has a certain je ne sais quoi which makes you feel instantly relaxed and welcome. We have been to many Sofitel hotels around the world and we still think that the Sofitel London St James is the best. Even the lifts are practically instantaneous!!!

Room Tip: Any floor with casement windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank peeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty! It is always a great pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests who keep coming back to us thanks to our high standards of service.

We look forward to your numerous stays.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 4,158 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

I came to London with my boyfriend for my 25th birthday. The hotel was beyond my expectations. The rooms where clean and sophisticated. They have a tea room by the lobby which was my favorite part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloric19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all: CONGRATULATIONS on your 25th birthday!

I thank you for letting us all know about your very positive experience at Sofitel London St James.

We do hope to welcome you both at many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were traveling with our 8 month old daughter on her first international trip and knew that London hotels were usually small. However, Sofitel surprised us big time! We let them know that we would need a cot, if possible.. and they provided us with one, along with a bottle sanitizer, bottle warmer and a baby bathtub. Along with that, the room was very spacious for her to crawl around and made our stay very very comfortable. There was free WiFi available throughout the hotel, which is a plus. The staff was very helpful, they even let us keep our stroller/buggy and carseat in the luggage room so we didn't have to shove it in the room somewhere. Overall, a fantastic experience and we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: - Close to picadally circus tube - They have great pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear guests,

I am truly glad to hear that the whole family has very much enjoyed the stay at Sofitel London St James. Every guest is important to us no matter what his/her age is.

We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and they can feel it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is well located, near Trafalga Square. The staff were very welcoming and attended to all of our needs. We did have a little difficulty with the number of taps and levers on the shower, however, we worked it out in the end.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LBNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear guest,

I am pleased to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent service as we genuinely love to look after our guests.

Looking forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Above and beyond five star property. This ideally located property has so much to offer. The staff is exceptional, ask for Melany in the restaurant, everyone we encountered was warm, accommodating and genuinely helpful. The room was serviced 3 times per day, with the replenishment of the refreshment station, towels, and tidying each time (a must have when you're travelling with a teenage girl!). Each day a small gift was left in our room, sometimes with a note, which was very welcoming after a long day sightseeing.

The hotel is close to Buckingham Palace, two blocks to the tube and Piccadilly Circus. The perfect location for high and moderately priced shopping, close to live theatres and all major London attractions.

We've stayed at Sofitel in LA, Paris and New York, and find them to be a good value for the money. Not inexpensive but what you pay for is top quality and generous. The building itself is charming, it's a boutique hotel, yet the rooms are very luxurious and large by London standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for complementing our high standards of service as we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

I am also glad to hear that Sofitel London St James is one of your preferred hotels in the world.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I'm always about dubious on inner city hotels. At the end of the day it's just a room to lay your head. I've spent a lot of nights in different London hotels but this one is different. The rooms are large and comfortable and the bathroom was something I could only dream for in my own house. A lovely night sleep in great setting and amazingly convenient location. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear sir,

I thank you for your positive lines regarding Sofitel London St James located in the heart of London.

I am happy to hear that you were extremely pleasantly surprised by the beauty and welcoming feeling in both our premises as in your room.

I look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel has everything you're looking for if this is your first time in London; great location, it's walking distance to all the sites, broadway, museum, underground (subway), and restaurants:) not to mention great hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Sir,

I am truly glad to hear that you enjoy staying at Sofitel London St James when in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention in our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,077 in London
1,200 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,684 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
The Trafalgar St. James, Curio Collection by Hilton
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,077 in London
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $325 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing