We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

You can't get more convenient than this hotel. Within 3 minutes of walking distance you get to Piccadily Circus but it is actually quiet. For runners St James Park is so close for morning run. I was really impressed by the concierge as I came back from a short run he not only handed me a bottle of water but also an energy bar. The room is typical London size but is well laid out. Overall service is friendly and efficient. Perfect for couples, especially those who love shopping!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeeHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to look after our guests and every detail counts.

We look forward to your next visits.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,175
    601
    122
    45
    23
See reviews for
963
1,698
266
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a beautiful, luxurious hotel perfectly located next to Piccadilly Circus. The style was opulent, the beds were enveloping and luxurious, the service was just that little bit better than anywhere at every touch point. I would love to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your extremely enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Sofitel St. James is a wonderful hotel. Service, accommodations, ambience are all top-notch. Concierge services are excellent. Location is wonderful. I highly recommend the St.James...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for complimenting our high standards of service. This is our utmost reward!

Thank you also for pointing out our Concierge services. The team is a true asset for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

On a return visit with my sister ( albeit the gap had been over a year) we were treated like old friends by the lovely Sally Ann and staff at the Sofitel. This deluxe hotel has the edge over many others in London as the staff make you feel part of the family and service is superb..We ate in the bar and restaurant and both meals were excellent with not just efficient service but friendly too and always with a warm smile.
Rooms are very comfortable with wonderful beds and bathrooms with walk- in showers - a must for me! Lovely Hermes toilettries and everywhere is very clean.
This hotel has an excellent location for us as we enjoy the ballet/opera and it's an easy walk to the Colliseum or the Royal Ballet. We also visited the nearby Whitehall Banqueting hall one morning which was very interesting.
We felt safe and cossetted at this hotel - it made a wonderful break for us both. We hope to return soon. Our thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of personalised service. Indeed the staff makes the whole difference when it comes down to service. Thank you for pointing out your extreme satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Was with my girlfriend and it was perfect.
very good hotel, good food and good cocktail.
Central location beautiful room. We hope we can come back very soon.. but london is expensive city :)
thank you Sofitel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear sir,

I am glad to hear that you and your girlfriend have had an amazing time with us at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Sofitel St. James is my favorite hotel for a stay in london. Absolutely helpful guest services team that are very welcoming and helpful. The Sofitel's ambiance is a blend of cozy and modern; I found the facilities to be very nicely renovated and well-maintained and all services are excellent (laundry, room service, wifi and especially the spa which is absolutely lovely). At the same time the hotel is small enough to cater to you as an individual and offer some very nice special touches. I have stayed at the Sofitel various times and have always had a superb stay. This hotel provides most of the amenities of a large hotel although the gym area is rather small as are the restaurant and tea room facilities however if that is not important to you (it was not to me) then everything else makes up for it.

The location is great and in the heart of Piccadilly and St. James which is really as central as it gets in West London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Madam,

I thank you for this wonderful feedback!

I am truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the cosy atmosphere we have implemented in the hotel as well as our personalised service. As a matter of fact we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for the second time and it is still the best beds and location for our business trips to London. It is not cheap but what is in this city ? Great great service and very clean rooms and bathroom. Close to National Gallery and so Leicester square it is great hotel to stay. Very quiet. We will go back for sure...

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rembrandtvrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your "great stay" at Sofitel London St James. Our guests' satisfaction is our utmost reward.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,068 in London
3,720 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#44 of 1,068 in London
1,232 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,068 in London
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing