We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #26 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stay at this hotel every year for all our trips to London. It never disappoints. Courteous and caring staff in all departments; beautiful stylish decor; and an excellent bar and dining room. The bedrooms are comfortable, clean, and the air conditioning is responsive.
The locations is exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guests,

I am extremely thankful to your loyalty towards Sofitel London St James. This means a lot to us as we genuinely strive in providing the highest standards of service and we love to pamper all of our guests.

Again thank you for staying with us on every of your trips to London and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 4,116 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is in a central location, close to Piccadilly, Green Park with the tube at the end of the street. Also very quiet for London. Our room was well appointed, good size for London, staff were helpful and respectful. All of the above you expect for the price paid. The concierge staff were very helpful, we booked theatre tickets all of this was seamless. One night we requested tickets for an event that were hard to book. The concierge managed to get them for us. We had a memorable night at this one off performance. We ate in the restaurant one night when we were tired, the food was very good. The bed suited one of us, the other hated it! As with most London hotels the shower was over the bath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My fiance and I checked in on the 16th June. The lady at the reception was super friendly (forgot her name, she had blonde short hair) and very very helpful. Took us up to our room and our first impression of this hotel was very good. Room was clean and the thermostat worked superb (coming from Australia, we weren't very used to this cold summer).
However, the first day the fridge wasn't working properly (the tech people came and said someone turned the whole thing off), and the draw above the fridge which were suppose to have snack in it was empty... and as we did not know the fridge was autodectect, we took drinks out to put some stuff in. We got charged the next day for that along with the snacks (which we did not eat), but the hotel nicely explained to us and took it off the bill. The bath tub was a huge disappointment as it was not clean. We filled the tub and there were black things floating on top of it......the kettle wasn't working properly,we didn't bother to change it since we were only staying for 2 nights, it was still usable, we just had to spend a while to get it in the right "position" for it to boil......We were suppose to get newspapers in the morning (as we requested it at the time of checking in) but every other rooms on our floor got it except us..lol.....And don't know what was wrong with the shower door, even though we shut it completely, the floor in the bathroom still get's drenched after we take a shower....

Overall it was a nice comfortable hotel.....however it had too many little flaws that added on a bit of disappointment...

Compliment to all the staff here though, everyone was super nice, friendly and helpful! (and LOVED that there were apples at the reception that was free for us to take instead of lollies like a lot of other hotels)

Room Tip: Don't take things out of the fridge and check all minibar things are present in case of mistaken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhung33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I chose to stay here for one night, mainly due to location. How pleased I was to find this hotel! Expensive but totally worth it - friendly and very helpful staff, great bedroom, wonderful shower. Considering this is a hotel in central London the rooms are well sized and the cost competitive, making this a real gem. If you are looking for a hotel in London you will not be disappointed if you chose to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fab location, very close to tube station and the West End. Surprisingly quiet part of London. Very polite courteous staff, Very clean room although slightly smaller than I would have expected for the price, however it was very well facilitated with the usual amenities, all the fixtures and fittings were in excellent condition and I could not find any fault with the room. The bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff throughout the hotel were all very attentive and are a credit to the Sofitel brand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed over at the Sofitel for a week in April over the easter holidays, i was in the junior suite. it was an amazing experience, the rooms are clean, and comfortable, the bed is hands down one of the most comfortable i have slept in. With this hotel, love is in the details, the assorted chocolates at turn down, luxurious bath products, espresso machine, bedside night lamp with an ipad dock, alarm clock and CD player. The gym is also great, you have got to check out the Zen room at the gym. By far the best feature is the spa, a bit pricey but very well worth it. The members of staff are very polite and helpful. we had a late night flight and checked out in the morning, we were given access to the spa bathrooms to freshen up just before we took off for the airport at night. Despite the fact it is a pricey hotel, if you are looking to relax in a central but quite place of town this hotel is ideal. My only small complaint is the breakfast which i felt was too expensive but there are plenty of small shops and cafe in the area where you can have a great breakfast without spending so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yashua2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Sofitel is a really sure place to sleep. this one is like the other one, clean, recpectfull staff and well located.
The room are maybe little bit smaller than other I booked before but the amenities are present, so good stay. just the price is maybe too more expansive but everyhotel are on london, so.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,075 in London
1,182 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,075 in London
3,929 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,075 in London
2,570 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,075 in London
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $371 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing