We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pure Class”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel London St James in December and we were very impressed! It was the first Sofitel hotel we have stayed in and now we know we can trust the Sofitel name. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. It was a very central location for nearly all of the tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend the Sofitel London St. James.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcouple28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

I am extremely glad to hear that your husband and yourself were amazed by Sofitel London St James.

We genuinely love to look after and to pamper all of our guests.

I thank you in advance for your loyalty towards the Sofitel brand and look forward to welcoming you back in London.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,216
    608
    123
    45
    24
See reviews for
979
1,719
271
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night in May as I was running a race in London and wanted to combine that with a night away just myself and husband. We arrived earlier than normal check in but was pleased to find our room was ready early as requested earlier in the week by email. Our room was on the first floor and was beautifully decorated and very clean just as all our previous visits the only downside was the room wasn't a ' bright airy room ' as described by the lady on check in as it was in a inner view of the air conditioning units! However this didn't bother us as we were only staying one night and were heading straight out. Lovely big bathroom with a shower and bath which is always a bonus and the bed and pillows are so comfortable we didn't want to get up! We knew this from previous visits so ordered breakfast in room which was very good for room service, still fairly hot and fresh. The best thing about this hotel for us is the amazing bar! The cocktails are to die for and the staff really make them special. If something isn't on the menu the staff will mix it up for you anyway. The only thing which wasn't good for us was the oar conditioning didn't get cool enough for us but again as we were only staying one night it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guests,

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent St James Bar and its bartenders. They are indeed a real asset for the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent location. Good service, at times a bit over imposing, but with nice touches like the bellboy who offered me water when I came back from a run in the park. Rooms are ok but the view we got was a very close wall right next to the window and we were told this is the setup for all the "cheap" rooms, something we did not expect or were told when they asked for our "preferences" at booking. The free wifi is spotty but manageable. Fitness room very beautiful but equipment that was not functioning was not repaired even after two calls to maintenance on sequential days. The amenities are high quality and friendly service at the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casras1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our kind attentions after your jogging.

I am sorry to hear about a faulty device in our So-FIT. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. This will be fixed straight away.

I am also glad to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere in our St James Bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Posted May 28, 2014
The staff and service was absolutely outstanding!!! I have traveled a lot and have stayed at the Sofitel in New York and Chicago but the London St. James was the best level of service I have ever experienced! The person that checks you in walks you to your room and provides an overview. A refreshing beverage was served while checking in. The doorman was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The concierge provided outstanding restaurant recommendations and tickets to Windsor. The bartender, I think his name was Enzo, presentation of drinks and taste quality of drinks were outstanding - we had to go back the next night. And the waiter for breakfast remembered our preferences from the day before and provided exceptional service. We plan to stay at this hotel on any future trips to London. Location was also fantastic!'

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear geust,

Thank you for such positive a feedback!

The whole team and I thank you for pointing out our "outstanding" standards of service all throughout the hotel. This is indeed our utmost reward!

We look forward to many other visits of yours!

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

The location was central for all the places my husband and I wanted to visit. Two blocks from the Piccadilly Circus Underground entrance. I would say the best part about this Hotel was the service. The staff were friendly and always very helpful. We stayed 8 nights and loved every minute. Had dinner in the restaurant one night, it was very good. We also had cocktails in the lounge multiple times, very good service and great cocktails. Yes, the other reviewers are correct it is pricey, but what isn't in London. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback!

We love to pamper all of our guests and I am glad to hear that you have loved to stay with us.

Thank you also for pointing out your very good experience in our restaurant The Balcon as well as in our St James Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
795 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,784 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,251 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing