We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I stayed in the Sofitel for two nights (Superior room), and I think it is a little bit overrated. (price and reviews on this site)

To start with the good things: the location of the hotel is superb, all major tourist attractions are on walking distance. Because the hotel is just two minutes away from the underground, the City is also very close.

The staff is polite, but they are not really interested in their guests and did not make you feel very welcome.
The room I was put in was a very dark room without almost any daylight (see photos), I had to put my nose against the windows to see what the weather was. That's not what I expect from a Sofitel. Because the room was next to a room where they keep their staff I was waked a few times at night.

However, the bathroom was great, a good shower and a separate bath with plenty of hot water, even in the morning when the entire hotel takes a shower a the same time.

The breakfast was ok, but again the staff does not seem to care very much about their guests, and it took quite a while before I got my coffee.

When checking out I was asked if I enjoyed my stay: telling the guy that I did not really like my room did not help very much, he told me he was sorry and proceeded making my bill.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank vaneegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 4,119 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2008

Just spent a mid week break at this hotel - an absolute dream, perfect really central,good location, good food, a really nice autumn break, to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank backpacker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

It is a pleasure to stay at this hotel. From the first point of contact with their reservations staff you immediately get a feel for their professionalism and their attention to superb personal customer service. Nothing is too much trouble. As soon as you arrive, the stresses and strains disappear because here the staff really do care about their guests.

We have stayed here with our children and this was the only hotel in London that would guarantee at the time of our reservation that our rooms would be interconnecting.

The rooms are well equipped, spacious and with excellent bathroom and shower facilities - plenty of extra towels and toiletries. Everything is spotless and welcoming.

The hotel have arranged babysitting services for us, and even had personalised welcome gifts for the children on our arrival, as well as complimentary drinks when their meal arrived with room service! Housekeeping also arranged for a DVD player to be available in the children's room during their stay. This made a huge impression on the children, who while staying at other hotels have sometimes felt as if they were not really welcome. Not so here.....the children were even entertained with their favourite tunes, by the pianist who plays each evening on the first floor balcony.

The services offered from room service and housekeeping were efficient, speedy and always accurate. In fact all the staff seem to be keen to help out with every little request.

Breakfast which is served at Roux (which is within St James Sofitel) is presented as a buffet offering cereals, fruits and continental style breakfast, but there is also a menu option offering individually requested breakfasts, including kippers or eggs Bendict if you so wish. The staff at Roux are once again extremely attentive to every request. This is a relaxed and pleasureable start to the day, so different from many hotels where one has to queue to even get into the breakfast room.

Also worth noting is the valet parking service offered - which means that there was no problem arriving in London and having to worry about were to park your car.

The hotel is located in a wonderfully elegant square and is perfectly situated for the west end museums and theatres.Yet it is peaceful, relaxed and elegant.

The Rose Room is a perfect venue for relaxing with afternoon tea and a good book (the bookcase has many to choose from, if you have forgotten to bring your own).

I highly recommend Sofitel St James for business or pleasure and for guests with children. We certainly look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cprindezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The Sofitel St. James in London is truly a traveler's dream hotel. The staff ( from the front desk, the concierge, the housekeeping, and all who work there) goes out of its way to make you feel at "home." The hotel is beautiful. It is, without any exaggeration, a world class hotel. The lobby is modern while retaining both a traditional and European elegance.
The rooms are state-of -the-art. They are large, exceptionally clean, elegant, and have all of the modern conveniences a world traveler looks for in a hotel. The bed is so comfortable that you awake refreshed and rejuvenated. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job cleaning the room and will happily fulfill any extra requests you have. There is wi/fi in the rooms for those travelers who need internet access whether for business demands or modern realities. The hotel also has a fully equipped office with computer, fax, printer, access to internet, and etc.
What impresses you the most are the hotel's location and its guest services staff, including a day and night conceirge. The hotel is located at St. James', London, which means that all of the famous London sights are within walking distance: Buckingham Palace, St. James' Palace, Trafalgar Square, Nelson's Monument, Westminister Abbey, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Downing Street, the river Thames, and the London Eye! And, Piccadilly Circus is so close, that you can take the London underground to any of the other places you might want to go see, like the famous Harrods, which is only three stops via underground from the hotel. And when you return from a day of sightseeing, you can enjoy dinner at the hotel's upscale restaurant, have a drink at the beautiful bar/pub, or enjoy traditional English tea in their stunning Tea room. If you have energy to spare, you can even fit in a workout at their gym, or enjoy a spa facial or massage offered by the hotel's spa.
The staff at the Sofitel St. James deserves all the credit for making this hotel a world class player. From the moment you arrive, you feel at home. The day and night concierge staff will assist you with all your sightseeing questions, point you in the right walking direction, help you with maps and with planning your London underground trips, and even provide you with historical information about any of the sights you may want to see. They are so polite and professional, and eager to hear what you have had the opportunity to see and what your impressions are. The staff will provide you with any services you require; they do so with the sincere desire to exceed your expectations.
Simply stated, the Sofitel St. James is excellent in all categories. It is truly refereshing to see that in this demanding world of travel, you can feel at home when you reach your destination and while you are there. Both the hotel and its staff deserve recognition for their success in providing travelers with not only world-class accommodations, but with the knowledgeable, professional, and friendly service it takes to be true ambassadors of beautiful and famous London.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank worldflyer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

great hotel, great service. good personal attention.
bar service disappointing. some rooms might need a little renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IamJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I booked the hotel after looking on Tripadvisor and then going to the hotel website. We got to Trafalgar Sqaure and walked to the hotel. The location of it is excellent - a great base for walking around London. When we arrived at the hotel at around 1145 am we asked if they could look after our bags for us as we were a little early to check in. The girl behind the desk said that she would see if our room was ready and gave us a complimentry coffe while we waited. After a short while we were told our room was ready and that we had got an upgrade to a superior room. We went up to the room and were so pleased with how nice it was. There was everything you would expect - a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making, a minibar (we didnt use it as it was very expensive) bathrobes, slippers and an amazing bathroom with a seperate bath and shower . The bed was huge and very comfortable. We looked out over Pall Mall and the room was really light. We went down to the bar to get a drink and the bar staff were all really polite and friendly. We then went out to enjoy our day. When we got back up to the room there was a note on the desk from the manager welcoming us to the hotel and two peaches and some water - a nice touch. We didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was great. The best eggs benedict I have had in a long while. The breakfast choice was huge - a bread basket brought to the table and then a choice of cooked from the buffet but also a choice of eggs, kippers and vaious other bits from the menu.
Checkout was hassel free and they looked after our bags for us for the day while we were out.
All in all this hotel was fantastic. It wasnt cheap £282 for the night however as it was a special occasion we felt it was worth every penny. I was so impressed I have cancelled my forthcoming stay at the Gatwick Hilton to stay at the Gatwick Sofitel instead. I cant recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stay for a two night break at least 2 or 3 times per year in London and normally around Bond St area. We stayed here as somewhere a little different and we WILL be coming back! We had a Luxury King room and it knocks the socks off many of its contenders. The service was fantastic yet discreet and the room was really spacious and fantsatically quiet. Cleanliness is always a gripe for me in any hotel but this was pretty much faultless. The bed was great and I was so pleased at how comfortable the pillows are - I am the saddo that takes her own when I travel (which is frequent) and I didn't need to this time. The Hermes toiletries were a nice touch and the free standing shower divine. If I were forced to moan I would say that there wouldn't be enough wardrobe storage space for longer than 2 or 3 nights... I still love this hotel though.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,076 in London
1,184 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $368 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing