We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel delivers everything you ever hope for from a five-star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #25 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This hotel delivers everything you ever hope for from a five-star hotel.”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Genuinely friendly, welcoming and efficient service from the internet booking through to our departure. Brilliant concierge advice and practical assistance. Room service, reception and restaurant staff all reinforced the impression that this must be a great place to work as well as to visit. The decor is stylish, the location second-to-none, the food excellent and the overall experience of staying here for two nights with my daughter was a great pleasure. As expensive as you'd expect in central London, but worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I am truly glad to hear that you have had such a wonderful experience at Sofitel London St James together with your daughter!

I thank you for pointing out the high level of service provided to you in all the hotel departments.

We all look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,139
    599
    121
    45
    23
See reviews for
951
1,684
265
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Somewhat expensive, but totally worth staying here. Location, standard and service were perfect. We stayed for a weekend with our 1 year old son. Our deluxe room was prepared with baby crib, baby bath tub and a teddy bear just for him. The room was spacious and clean and with the luxurious interior, we had the best starting point for a relaxing weekend. Also we enjoyed dining in the restaurant - very convenient with a sleeping baby alongside. We will definitely stay here again, maybe only for those wonderful beds...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torunn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I am glad to hear that you have had such a wonderful experience with your family at Sofitel London St James.

Children are cherish guests to us and we do our utmost to pamper them.

I look forward to welcoming you all back.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went as a birthday treat for my wife.
Variously:
- we were warmly welcomed;
- we were escorted individually to our room - which was sumptuous;
- I had _not_ told the hotel that it was her birthday. But the woman at the desk realized this when she saw her passport. Later on there was a knock at the door - birthday chocolates (and very good ones) compliments of the hotel;
- we used the spa there - really superb and friendly staff.

Overall - I wasn't quite sure what to expect - and think of Sofitel as a chain, albeit a good one - but this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in - and I've stayed at some nice hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for such positive a feedback!

We genuinely do our utmost to please all of our guests and I can tell that we have achieved our aim here.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many other occasions.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Arrived early, hotel were more than happy to welcome us and store our luggage. We were upgraded to a larger room for a small charge, and the room was absolutely lovely. Bed really comfortable, linen very luxurious, spotlessly clean throughout, top quality finishings and touches - even the toilet roll was scented! Staff very friendly and very professional, without any stuffiness. The only criticisms could be that the bath towels smelt of cigarette smoke - I can only guess that the linen store is near the fag break area - but these were soon changed with minimum fuss and an apology. The TV is on the small side, but we weren't there to watch telly, and the fridge would not allow us to remove anything to store some fresh milk for tea in the morning. Small nit picky things that would not put us of staying again or recommending this gorgeous hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j8rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for this positive feedback!

I am pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Really enjoyed taking afternoon tea in this hotel. The service was good, but unobtrusive and I liked the pretty lounge with the comfy pink squashy sofas.
the tea was good , apart from the slightly stale scones, but the pastry trolley more than made up for it. lovely to see a real pastry/cake covered trolley. a real glimpse of a bygone age. the cakes were beautifully presented and delicious.
plenty of food and we had extra sandwiches at no extra charge, unlike other establishments.
I would definitely revisit another time. all in all a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sikipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful Afternoon Tea experience in our Rose Lounge.

All the cakes, pastries and sandwiches are fresh and done on a daily basis.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A perfect base for your London Christmas shopping weekend. Great location, very good facilities , really nice room , friendly staff , excellent restaurant and bar , well equipped exercise room - the list goes on ... just a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pifpafpuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Indeed our central yet quiet location is a true asset to the hotel.

I thank you for pointing out many of our services in such positive a way.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,663 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,943 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#46 of 1,067 in London
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing