We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topissime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #25 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 4,178 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've stayed here three times and they never disappoint. The location is just below Picadilly, but not too close to the noisier areas. Great walking distance to just about everything. The So Spa is arguably the best in London and the Balcon restaurant is excellent. The rooms are super quiet at this hotel both for interior noise and exterior noise. I normally don't sleep well in hotels for all the noise, but never have that problem here.

Room Tip: I stayed in 407, a luxury suite, and it had plenty of room. It has a vanity and a separate desk. Lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you so much for such positive a feedback!

I thank you also for pointing out our "best in London" Spa as well as our "excellent" restaurant The Balcon.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are both ridiculously busy with work and love to grab our precious moments in appropriate surroundings.

The Sofitel St James is a jewel in the crown of Sofitel as far as we are concerned (apart from Legend Amsterdam, which feels like home)...and we have stayed in a few.

Wonderful reception service and wonderfully sensitive room service.

We returned from a show and were completely spoiled by the (quite young) cocktail bartender, who totally delivered the goods according to our individual preferences.

Room service breakfast was divine and certainly the best I have experienced to date.

Seriously looking forward to our upcoming stay for Christmas dinner and room service breakfast once again on 18th Dec.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.

Indeed Sofitel London St James and Sofitel Legend The Grans Amsterdam are wonderful properties.

We then look forward to your next stay in London on December 18th, 2013 and many other addtional ones.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in August. We are a family of four and had booked 2 connecting rooms. They first wanted tup put us in the lower floors. We asked for some other rooms as the lower floors were giving on the lobby and we were concerned that this may be noisy. They changed our rooms for the fifth floor, which was great. The roms were quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is very good and the choice is very good. The restaurant for breakfast has a lot of light coming in, which is very nice. We had dinner there once. Food was good; brasserie style. Location is very central. Overall we had a great stay. The only negative point was the internet that they wanted to charge because somehow our children had been using it. The front desk manager eventually removed it from the charges as there was no way to check our children did use it and there was in fact no indication for the children that it would be charged to the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

I am most pleased to hear that you and your family have had a "great stay" at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for such positive a feedback regarding our high level of service.

I am glad that you have enjoyed the layout of our premises.

Thank you also for mentioning our "very good" breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit.

A bientôt,

Denis Dupart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was only there with my family to enjoy an afternoon tea and it was simply amazing...the staff is very pleasant in the restaurant, specially Sofia, who was lovely the whole afternoon! Thank you very much! It was very speacial indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I am truly pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your Afternoon Tea experience in our restaurant The Balcon.

We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. I am glad to read that you have felt it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in The Balcon as well as in the St James Bar.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent central location. We had interconnecting rooms to accomodate our family and this was great value. Staff were fantastic. Breakfast was beautiful. We look forward to returning to London and would not hesitate to stay here again. It set a very high standard for the rest of our European vacation. Congratulations to the team at Sofitel St James. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I thank you for your wonderful feedback.

It was a pleasure looking after you.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank djuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
1,213 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $330 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing