We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

You can walk through St. James Park to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the Thames, Buckingham Palace, concerts at St. Martins in the Field but the location on a quiet street gives you a sense of calm amid the bustling city filled with tourists. And the staff is just really terrific. The room on a side street was lovely and the rest, after the long flight across the pond was extraordinary. Try the restaurant. It's a nice mix of London and Paris. I'm a surprised- because I don't usually like chains - but happy fan of Sofitel!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirtroadbackstreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for such wonderful a feedback!

Indeed 2 of our main assets are our central yet quiet location on Waterloo Place as well as our genuinely pampering staff.

Thank you also for pointing out our tasty restaurant The Balcon.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

A bientôt,
Denis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 4,175 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked this hotel as a late secret booking. Fabulous at the rate we paid, The room was not the largest ,but I have experienced this before with Sofitel in Vietnam . The situation of the hotel is ideal right in the centre of town. The staff were polite and so efficient especially the maid whose service in changing pillows was lightening quick. Check-in was fast and efficient except my address was that of a US citizen which I am not. Breakfast looked great but we only had coffee.
The situation and staff make this hotel so pleasant

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for pointing out two of our greatest assets in your feedback, i.e. our central yet quiet location and the efficient and friendly staff. It is indeed our pleasure to pamper our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an unbeatable location. We have been coming here for the past four years and we keep coming back. The rooms are VERY spacious as are the bathrooms. The beds are heavenly to sleep on and they have great pillows. You are right beside Piccadilly Circus and Regent Street and Oxford Street. You can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swhitevancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I am truly pleased to hear that you keep coming back to Sofitel London St James as it is our utmost reward.

We genuinely love to look after all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for six nights in September. This hotel is in a terrific location. Walk to many sights and theaters. A couple blocks from Piccadilly Station so you have access to transportation to anywhere.

The hotel is amazingly quiet. I never heard anyone walking in my hall except for when room service was delivering at my door! Bed was comfortable which was great as I was sick for the first two days and spent a good deal of time in bed.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Received a room upgrade which was very nice. Didn't try the restaurant but had room service on several occasions. Food was very good and nicely presented. A bit pricey but a nice splurge for me. Recommend a stay here if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Indeed our central yet quiet location is extremely convenient for both corporate and leisure purposes.

I thank you also for mentioning our very friendly and helpful staff into your feedback as well as recommending Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Whether business or pleasure you cant beat the location and the quietness.Received early check in and rooms while not overly large clean and modern.The hotel service good and for London standards great Hotel to base yourself

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ald59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I thank you for your positive feedback.

Indeed our central location is a true asset for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I enjoyed to stay at St. James with my Mum and my sister to celebrate Mum's 70th. Hotel knew that and brought in our room a lovely chocolate birthday cake and red roses. Really a nice thought!
Hotel is charming and cosy, staff is absolutely helpful and sincerely nice. A smiling lady (Alina) gave us a warm welcome and shown us hotel facilities at our arrival...wow!
Quality of service is defintely high, rooms confortable and location perfect to enjoy London center.
Defintely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clucylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We have loved to pleasantly surprise you for the celebration of your mother's 70th birthday. As you have mentioend it we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests.

I thank you also for pointing out our high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
1
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,078 in London
1,213 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,078 in London
3,702 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $331 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing