We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lydia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lydia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful 5 star hotel, with great location, friendly staff and great restaurant. We are very much impressed with their service. Cassandra Perri in front desk and Julian in Concierge desk are super sweet and helpful. The only problem we encounter is the bathroom a little tight, but we can manage it.

We certainly will recommend to our friends and we enjoyed all the time here.

Helpful?
Thank LydIa1988
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I thank you for your positive feedback and for especially mentioning Cassandra and Julien. They were delighted to hear about your words of praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,056
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,649
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel St James is an excellent hotel in the heart of London. The experiance at the Sofitel has been excellent from the very begining. There was an nfortunate mix up with an airport transfer, but the apologeic staff went beyond the call to ensure the error did not tarnish our experiance.

The decor is lovely and the rooms are excellent with a very comfortable bed. We travelled with our 15 onth old son and they had a cot set up with a teddy bear and his own towel and baby bath, these small touches make yu feel that much more welcome.

The staff are always friendly and polite, and the restauant, The Balcon, is excellent.

The hotel is located a short walk from the Regent st shops, Buckingham Palace, St James park, Parliament house and Trafagar Square.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mvfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I am extremely thankful for such words of praise with regards to our high quality of service. Our utmost reward is to hear such positive feedbacks.

Every guest is precious to us and especially children. They are our little princes and princesses.

I also thank you for pointing out the fine cuisine served in our restaurant The Balcon.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon even if Australia is a bit far away from England.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

During our 3 night stay at rhe Sofitel St James, we have been extremely impressed with the service, professionalism and charm of this hotel. It is located very near to Buckingham Palace and St James park- but still close to the shops of Regent Street. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are elegantly decorated and well maintained. The beds are comfortable and the shower is great.

The breakfast at the Balcon is excellent and the restaurant itself quaint but stylish- very much like a Parisian brasserie. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and found the food lovely.

However, what has really made our stay memorable is the friendliness and service from all members of staff from the concierge, to housekeeping to restaurant staff. There was a mix up with respect to our airport transfer on arrival. However the staff more than made up for the mix up and were extremely professional and apologetic in the way they handled it.

We are also travelling with our 15 month son. It was lovely to arrive into the room and see they had catered for him as well. A teddy placed in his cot, a baby bath and Sofitel baby towel. Additionally the restaurant staff were friendly and looked after us by providing him with activities at the table.

Overall we have been extmely impressed with the hotel and will stay at the Sofitel St James again. Having stayed at the Dorchester, Sheraton on the Park and Royal Gardens, this hotel is the place we wish to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I felt extremely proud of my whole team while reading your feedback and I thank you for that.

We indeed genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. Children are among our favorite. Our service comes from the heart and I am glad to hear that you have felt so. Our aim is to have our guests live memorable experiences with us and I am happy to read that we have achieved our goal.

I thank you also to have mentioned the "lovely" food served in our restaurant The Balcon. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

I am happy to hear that we went above and beyond your expectations in terms of high standards of service and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in London and we have stayed there twice and will stay again. It is extremely comfortable, laid back but also very classy and utterly without pretensions. The staff have always been extremely kind and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am extremely glad to hear that Sofitel London St James is your favourite hotel in London.

I also felt very proud of my team while reading your positive feedback as we put a lot into delivering high standards of services.

We look forward to your third and fourth and ... stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, it is certyainly a quality hotel, but it somehow seems to lack the style that the price tag would seem to lead you to expect, I stayed for a couple of nights and had no real complaints, but wasn't wowed either

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear that we have provided you with high standards of services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been going frequently to London for the past four years.
Every once in a while I try out other hotels, but in the end I keep coming back to the Sofitel London St. James. Is is simply put one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and certainly the best in the "rapport qualite-prix" department.
I have never encountered any problem at the rooms (and I've stayed at four different ones). All are confortable and spotless clean. And the staff is more than amiable: professional, kind, and always smiling and eager to help without imposing on you. I forget some names but Dries at the Front Office, Oliver at the Conciergerie, and Alexandra at the reservations department, are all part and exemplary of a great hotel team. Location is perfect: just a short walk from Covent Garden, and a step away from Picadilly, Trafalgar Sq. and the Mall.
To all at the hotel: keep up the fine work and thank you for making all our stays great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am truly thankful to you for such words of praise regarding our high standards of services. I am glad to hear that you have felt that our quality of service is consistent.

We really love to indulge all of our guests and they can notice that we serve them with all of our heart, as so you have felt.

I thank you also for pointing out Dries, Oliver & Alexandra. They are indeed a true asset to the hotel. I will pass on to them your positive feedback.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hasta luego,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#52 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing