We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What else is there to say about this magnificient hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What else is there to say about this magnificient hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been going frequently to London for the past four years.
Every once in a while I try out other hotels, but in the end I keep coming back to the Sofitel London St. James. Is is simply put one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and certainly the best in the "rapport qualite-prix" department.
I have never encountered any problem at the rooms (and I've stayed at four different ones). All are confortable and spotless clean. And the staff is more than amiable: professional, kind, and always smiling and eager to help without imposing on you. I forget some names but Dries at the Front Office, Oliver at the Conciergerie, and Alexandra at the reservations department, are all part and exemplary of a great hotel team. Location is perfect: just a short walk from Covent Garden, and a step away from Picadilly, Trafalgar Sq. and the Mall.
To all at the hotel: keep up the fine work and thank you for making all our stays great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am truly thankful to you for such words of praise regarding our high standards of services. I am glad to hear that you have felt that our quality of service is consistent.

We really love to indulge all of our guests and they can notice that we serve them with all of our heart, as so you have felt.

I thank you also for pointing out Dries, Oliver & Alexandra. They are indeed a true asset to the hotel. I will pass on to them your positive feedback.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hasta luego,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,056
    592
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,649
259
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay at the Sofitel St. James Place everytime I travel to London. I travel all over the world stay in rather nice hotels and I will tell you that no other has matched the quality of the Sofitel London St. James Place. The staff is very warm and welcoming, the hotel rooms are super elegant, and you couldnt ask for a better location.


My favorite thing about the hotel has to be the comfort of the beds and the hot chocolate that is in everyroom!!! you couldnt ask for a better way to relax!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeBuffalari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I thank you very much for your words of praise. Our utmost reward is to hear extremely satisfied guests like you stating that Sofitel London St James has got "the highest quality of service ever met" in a hotel. You have made our day, really!

Our central yet quiet location is also one of our assets.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Outstanding Hotel and Spa. It was a lot of fun to stay at the hotel. The room was perfect and the Spa was excellent. The staff were incredibly courteous and friendly and very helpful. It was a perfect stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas7790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I thank you for pointing Sofitel London St James out as an "outstanding hotel".

I also thank you for mentioning our So-SPA as an "excellent" one.

I am truly glad to hear that you have had the prefect stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've been fans of the Sofitel chain ever since we discovered their Chicago location nearly ten years ago. The London hotel differs significantly in that the building itself is a historic, not modern like the one in Chicago. That said, it offers every amenity one might ask for, short of an indoor swimming pool. The location can't be beat for convenience - a few minutes away by foot from both Trafalgar Square (and the National Gallery) in one direction, and Piccadilly Square (West End Theaters and the Royal Academy) in the other. Despite its nearness to these tourist hotbeds, the Leicester Square location is a sea of tranquility. Service was excellent, from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the housekeeping staff. The price, while not exactly a bargain, is fair, considering the cost of everything else in London. We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank wolczo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Indeed our location is quite an asset as we are centrally located yet on the quiet Waterloo Place.

I felt very proud of my whole team while reading your feedback telling about the "excellent service" we have provided you with throughout the hotel. I thank you for pointing this out.

We then all look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent level of service from the moment we arrived. The staff were all friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

This beautiful hotel is in a fantastic location, 2 minutes walk from Regents Street.The Mall was at the bottom of the road and Piccadilly Circus at the top, we really couldn't have asked for a better spot to explore London on foot.

Our room was a very reasonable size for a city hotel, smartly decorated and with all the appliances and toiletries you would expect in a top hotel.

The Spa was really lovely and the treatments were very good, but sadly there's no swimming pool. However, if you're having a treatment, they'll allow you to use the steam room or sauna free of charge as long as they are available at the time(private use).

I do understand that Sofitel is a French hotel group, but being in London, it felt a little odd to be greeted in French all the time.

Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s4ffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We love to indulge all of our guests and I am delighted to read that we have fulfilled your expectations in terms of services.

I also thank you for your words of praise regarding the So-SPA.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited the hotel for a very early breakfast meeting and had the opportunity, prior to the meeting, to look around the magnificent ground floor, the entrance hall is cavernous yet elegant with an almost floor to ceiling glass wall with the history of the original owners of the building.
Once out of the magnificent ex banking entrance hall the remainder of the ground floor facilities were like a rabbit warren but elegantly decorated, particularly the library room.
I held my meeting in the restaurant and had a table on the small raised area which was a little cramped for access to and from the buffet bar, just a minor irritation.
The range and quality of the food available was very good and across the whole spectrum that would be expected of an international hotel of this standard, the restaurant staff were attentive and professional.
A very good start to the day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I thank you for such wonderful a feedback.

I am most pleased to hear that your first experience in the hotel was magnificent.

We look forward to welcoming you also in our rooms, as St James Bar, our meeting rooms as well as in our So-SPA.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location, so close to many great sights and very easy to walk to so many places. Initially we were a bit disappointed that we were unable to check in as our room wasn't ready (this was at 4.30pm despite check in time being 3.00pm) However this was made up for by giving us a late check out on departure day which was very helpful as we had an evening flight. (We had to ask for this). The room was lovely and very spacious by London standards with a generous bathroom. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roslyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I thank you for your positive feedback.

I am glad to hear that the whole team has provided you with a genuine welcoming and attentive service.

I am sorry for the late check-in. I will make sure this does not happen again as it does not reflect at all our normal standards.

I thank you for recommending your friends and relatives to come over to Sofitel London St James.

I look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#52 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing