We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #28 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the second time in 2 years that we have stayed here and will be more than happy to stay again . Apart from its central location the staff are simply superb and deserve every accolade for making this a wonderful place . High Tea in the lounge and dinner in the restaurant were memorable events with great service all round . The big bonus for us was you walk out the front door and the parks and garden are to the left and the vibrant Piccadilly Circus was up the street to the right . Well worth the visit to this Hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Waterloo Place. This is extremely convenient for both professional and leisure purposes.

I thank you for pointing out the overall superb service provided to you all over the hotel and especially the one in our restaurant The Balcon as well as in the Rose Lounge for the Afternoon Tea. We love to indulge our guests. We cannot help it...

We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel London St James.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,022
    588
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
911
1,635
257
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last week I had once again the great privilege to stay in the Sofitel St James, i.e. my favourite hotel in London. Not only is the location exceptional but the quality of the accommodation and the staff are wonderful. As many staff members have been there for a long time I never feel like just a guest but as a person they know. Another feature of this hotel which is remarkable is the exquisite flower arrangements which give this hotel a very special feeling. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am extremely thankful to you for this wonderful feedback!

We are the ones with a great priviledge to have you staying at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed we genuinely love to pamper our guests. Not customers. Guests. Our service from the heart touches also their heart and I am glad to hear that you have felt so.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Never reviewed before but compelled to do so following recent visit. Booked double room via lastminute.com to celebrate our anniversary and attend an afternoon function. We were greeted by pleasant and friendly staff who seemed genuinly interested in our stay. We were given a room upgrade and surprised with an anniversary confectionary in our room, which made our day. Our kingsize room was luxiourious but welcoming. The bedding plush and comfortable, bathroom roomy and just lovely
The hotel bar was cozy and comfortable with pleasant and highly efficient staff. We didn't get the opportunity of dining at the hotel restaurant during our short stay, but the menu seemed very appetising indeed. In short my husband and I highly recommend the Sofitel St James, and wish to thank all the staff involved for making our stay amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We try and never miss any anniversary or birthday. It is too important a step.

I thank you for highly recommending Sofitel London St James as we genuinely love to look after all of our guests.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were here only two nights at the end of a three-week trip to Europe and wanted a place within walking distance of the theatre, the National Gallery, etc. We also wanted it to be quiet and of good quality. Sofitel St. James met all our qualifications. It is a lovely old building which has classy elegance everywhere you look. We chose a larger room since London rooms tend to be so small and were more than pleased with the accommodations. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows and the duvet. We slept great both nights. The bathroom also had a separate shower and tub which is our preference. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Of course all this comes at a price, but it was worth it for us at the end of a long trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LoneStarHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our assets. We are at a stone's throw from London's main attractions.

I thank you for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff as we really love to indulge all of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel, St James in London for one night. When entering the foyer one becomes aware of the fact that this is a 5 star hotel - the flower arrangements were so special as if every one was made for each guest! The friendly staff at the door and at the counters welcomed us and made us feel at home. The hotel is very centrally located close to Travalgar Square, Piccadilly and Coventry Garden. The rooms are spacious and most comfortable. The best beds we've ever slept in and the best pillows for a good night's rest - hotel pillows can sometimes cause a headache, some you have to fold again and again to get the necessary neck support, or you have to add some cushions from the chair, but these were perfect!! The food was excellent and tasty - we enjoyed dinner and breakfast and had delicious tomato soup for lunch! Together with our visit to Chelsea Flower Show, this was indeed a superb stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am really glad to hear that the whole team has pampered you as we do it with all of our guests. We cannot help it.

I thank you for mentioning the "excellent" food served in our restaurant 'The Balcon'. We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location, location, location, as they say... 5 min walk from Piccadilly and Bond St., West End, Trafalgar and St. James' Park, yet in a quiet and stately location, the Sofitel excels at everything that a high-end city hotel, in one of the world's major metropolises, should be.

The decor is a tasteful mix of early 20th century and modern, the suites are spacious (by London standards), the staff is sophisticated and professional, the beds are comfy and the rooms - quiet, free Wi-Fi is immediately available.

What more could one desire?

My only dislike was the sliding bathroom door in our suite, which did not do enough to keep the bathroom separate from the rest of the room. I could live with this, given the excellence of the package.

Great choice for high-end shopping, clubbing, theatres, walking and sightseeing, dining, and just visiting London for a city break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneNightTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Our utmost reward is to hear pleased guests saying that Sofitel London St James "excels at everything". Thank you so much for highly praising our standards of service.

We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and I am glad to read that you have felt so.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided we'd have a weekend in London so did a lastminute.com search for a 5 Star hotel. We took a gamble on the offers they have where the hotel is guaranteed 5 Star but you don't know which one it is. The gamble paid off.

The hotel is located between Pall Mall and Piccadilly Circus. The reception we had was wonderful; after signing in the lady gave us a tour and an overview of the facilities, including bar, spa and everything else! She was absolutely charming and genuinely pleased to see us, as was everyone else. The room was great; well supplied with a comfortable bed and fantastic bathroom. Not the greatest view but we weren't planning on gazing out of the window. We chose to be in the view instead.

We'd booked to see a movie in Leicester Square which was a five minute walk, as was Regent Street and the wonderful shopping therein. We can highly recommend the hotel's Charcuterie; a cold meat selection which was so good we did it again the following day with a friend from town, and ordered extras! The cocktail options were great; I'm normally a beer kinda guy but "when in Rome."

We spent evenings in the bar which is staffed by wonderfully enthusiastic professionals who are happy to discuss and advise on your particular brand of poison! Mine was (unusually for me) a gin and tonic, but with half a dozen Gins to choose from and at least two types of tonic, I obviously needed some advice and then calculate all the possible combinations... and drink them. Oh my head, and oh my wallet; yes the bar ain't cheap but it's a 5 star London hotel so don't expect happy hour prices.

We were so thrilled with the hotel, the welcome, the service and the quality of the experience we didn't want to leave so to assist the hangover on Sunday morning, we hit the spa and had the full MOT. Again, it isn't cheap but the whole experience and the service made me forget the numbers and just go with the flow. To have not would have seemed like we were missing out and not making the most of the weekend.

If you like indulgence and feeling like VIPs, this is the place to be!! We will definitely stay here again and I hope to see the same staff again. I'm willing to bet they will remember us (because their system will tell them we've stayed before and I think they're the sort of place that use that to embellish the welcome), and we will definitely remember all of them. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
What a great, detailed feedback! Thank you for so much praise covering many of our departments in the hotel!

You have pointed out the exact state of mind in which we are while serving our guests: we do it with a "wonderful enthusiasm". Your feedback is extremely encouraging and we will keep on providing such high standards.

I also thank you for highly recommending the Charcuterie in our restaurant 'The Balcon'. Charcuterie is indeed one of our guilty pleasures in France as is cheese.

The St James Bar team thanks you for highly praising their knowledge and great spirit.

I am truly glad to read also about the fantastically relaxing experience you have had at the So-SPA.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Family Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing